RSS

Brazilian Ad Attack

27 Jun

Mena Suvari in American Beauty

Above is the classic image of Mena Suvari from the movie American Beauty. This and other famous photographs are the ‘inspiration’ behind a new ad campaign for Fit Light, a Brazilian brand of yogurt, as portrayed below:

Ad One

Personally, I don’t find the photos by themselves to be as outrageous as some others on the net are making them out to be. This is probably because I don’t find so-called “big” women to be automatically unsexy or an affront to my eyes. While overweight is never a healthy position to find yourself in, some women are just naturally big boned just like some men are. And the desire to look like fishsticks on legs is hardly universal. Don’t get me wrong – girls are still growing up with eating disorders but it’s hardly a tragedy to be well endowed in this age of Beyonce.

Marilyn Monroe

Neither does the use of female sexuality (or partial nudity for that matter) bother me – especially when it’s done as beautifully as these ads are and when the campaign makes a direct connection between the product (in this case yogurt) and being sexy.

Ad Two

I don’t even find the idea that eating yogurt will make you thin and therefore sexy all that shocking. I guess I should but these ad guys in Brazil were hardly the first to come up with the concept. I distinctly remember this American ad for a brand I can’t remember offhand (I don’t eat yogurt) which was all about a woman who wanted to get into a bikini in the summer and went on a yogurt diet, which was ultimately a resounding success. I don’t think it raised so much as a ripple in the blogosphere.

Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct

No, the problem here is the tagline. To wit: Forget about it. Men’s preference will never change. Fit Light Yogurt.

Oh-No-They-Didn’t! Except, of course, they totally did. So that’s one hand in the reverse sexism pie, the other fathoms deep in the insecurity dish. Nice.

Ad Three

Strangely though, most of the noise seems to be coming from the American side. Brazilians, as seen by the comments here, seem to be largely taken by surprise. I guess that’s only fitting given the amount of time devoted to gaining a positive body image in America.

The buzz, negative or positive, is something dear to any ad agency’s itty bitty little heart. Now if only they could make it move a bit more south and into the country where those ads will actually run.

[Source: the excellent AdBlog]

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2007 in Entertainment, Life

 

11 responses to “Brazilian Ad Attack

  1. amitscorpio

    June 27, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    don’t know much about coincidences, just last night i had an hour long discussion about frozen yogurt diet!!

    Well the ad campaign seems pretty nice compared to american standards, which i would say lowest in the ad world!!

     
  2. DesiGirl

    June 27, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    the only thing i find offensive is that first pic of Mena Suvari looking like a stick insect. I can count her ribs easily. I prefer the ‘big’ woman to her, for sure! (and I am not coming out of the closet or anywhere else by that remark!!)

     
  3. Bina

    June 27, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Youre not alone, desigirl. If I were a guy I’d rather sleep with woman #2 in the American Beauty pics.

     
  4. Kokonad

    June 27, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    Hi Amrita! That ad shown on American TV you referring to is “YoPlait”. I remember it because the original score is a very nice song by Bobby Vinton – Yellow polka dot bikini. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ul_ZSOOUENI)

    And thanks for that Anorexia-awareness-ad-reference. πŸ™‚

    @AmitScorpio – I know whom you had that conversation with. πŸ˜›

     
  5. Amrita

    June 28, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Amit – Isnt frozen yogurt, like, dessert? πŸ˜€ So what was your conclusion?

    DG & Bina – I third you guys. Actually the other two models are dressed in the wrong clothes (skinny clothes?) and the marilyn lookalike has the worst wig on. I bet they dont look much better in real life. And the choice of Marilyn Monroe is v. interesting in of itself because the big plastic surgeon buzz is that she’d never be a successful beauty in this day and age coz she’s not symmetrical enough and has too many curves. Shocker, huh?

    Koke – Yoplait! thats the one. Blech. thanks for the link, it’s just as limp as I remember it πŸ˜€

     
  6. DesiGirl

    June 28, 2007 at 2:59 am

    YOPLAIT? it is available here and the ad features rather harmless children.

    blech? oh the itchworn incident eh? got ya!

     
  7. Amrita

    June 28, 2007 at 10:01 am

    what do you mean – RATHER harmless? πŸ˜€
    yeah, nothing personal against yoplait. but yogurt falls into the same category so i won’t touch it unless I cant help it. And i somehow always CAN.
    Btw, correction in my earlier reply to you and Bina – it’s not that I DONT think they look much better in real life but that I DO think they look much better. Bad, bad Amrita

     
  8. DG

    June 28, 2007 at 11:30 am

    s’alright, Ams! We love ya anyway!! πŸ˜‰

    Rather harmless is the only way I can decently describe children! Having one of my own, I think my days of thinking them to be innocent, babes in the wood, as it were, are long gone!

     
  9. High Priestess

    September 7, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Yeah, in Brazil I don’t think they’ve ever had the radical feminist movements that those in USA have been blessed with, so they probably wouldn’t find anything sexist about the ad.

    I’d like to see an ad about women’s preferences for big lingams never changing and see how the men respond to that!

    ha ha ha

     
  10. High Priestess

    September 7, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    And by the way, Marilyn Monroe was a healthy size 12, probably the same size as the curvy woman covered in roses in the second picture.

    Ironic.

     
  11. Amrita

    September 8, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    HP – LOLz, they’ll probably die of shock!