RSS

8 Random Facts

26 Jun

Yesterday The Piker tagged me – it’s called Eight Random Facts You Really Don’t Care to Know But Listen Anyway Beeyotch – no, it’s called “Eight Random Facts” and it’s pretty cute… especially when it’s up on someone else’s blog. Bonus points when it’s someone you actually like to read. So here’re the rules:

1. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
2. People who are tagged, write a blog post about their own 8 random things, and post these rules.
3. At the end of your post you need to tag 8 people and include their names. Don’t forget to leave them a comment and tell them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.
4. If you fail to do this within eight hours, you will not reach Third Series or attain your most precious goals for at least two more lifetimes.

My sick headache yesterday pretty much guaranteed that that last rule would come bite me in the ass but I’ll do the tag anyhoo coz I’m lovely like that (shut up – I can hear you thinking unkind thoughts). So here goes:

1. I read a lot. How much is a lot? On average I read about 5 new books a week plus assorted magazines, comics and various web-related content. And yes, my eyesight is really poor. Anybody done Lasik? I’m thinking of having it done.

2. You know how kids watch certain movies over and over and over again? My childhood obsession was The Sound of Music. To this day nobody in my family can bear to watch it. Except me. I’d still watch it any day.

3. I take an inordinately loooooong time in the shower. It’s not like I do anything out of the ordinary in there (heh!) but man, I got to speed things up some.

4. I never bought clothes for myself until I turned 18 and went to college.

5. I talk in my sleep. Sometimes I’ll even answer questions… as long as you don’t mind answers in gibberish.

6. My mom and I share a nickname – in different languages.

7. I HATE curd. This is because when I was a toddler something called an itchworm (I believe its name says it all) crawled onto my ayah, which was pretty unfortunate. Even worse though, she was holding me and I think pretty soon I was bawling my head off – the only cure for the itch was to apparently dunk me in kilos of curd. I don’t know how much of this is an actual memory but I can still smell my mom and her sisters rubbing the yucky stuff all over me. Blech. These days I’ll tolerate it to be placed on the table and even use it in my cooking but I still hate looking at it, much less smelling it. And I’m not too fond of worms either. 😑

8. Apart from Russell Peters, Eddie Izzard is my favorite comedian:

Okay, now comes the fun part where I choose 8 victims tag-ees. I choose DG, Dee, Kishmish, Ana, Jawahara, The Itinerant Indian, Amit and Tanay. Have fun guys! πŸ˜€

Tags Answered:

Ana gives a false alarm on Boney M

Tanay explains the excellent photos on his blog

Amit is a window shopper

Jawahara watches the Lifetime network

Kishore has a terrible memory

 
17 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2007 in Personal, Video

 

17 responses to “8 Random Facts

  1. amitscorpio

    June 26, 2007 at 11:01 am

    saw your post before your comment πŸ˜›
    will write soon about it πŸ™‚

     
  2. Amrita

    June 26, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    well, high five! your next two lifetimes are obviously all taken care of πŸ˜€

     
  3. The Piker

    June 26, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Now that was quick.

    I spend long hours in the shower too. And I have not only answered questions in sleep, I have, on an occasion, asked a question to my wide-awake cousin to which he actually replied! (And he was aware that I was talking in my sleep) πŸ™‚

     
  4. Kishore

    June 26, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    I have been bi-tagged (for want of a sensible word).. both u and DG have tagged me.. curses on u both…
    ya, coming up..

     
  5. Tanay

    June 27, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Done with the post, much before the promise time πŸ™‚ Guess what, you are tagged too.

    This is definitely not a ‘bi-tag’ as per Kishore’s Law of Random Thoughts Tagging. This is RC’s 3rd law of tagging. For every tag there is an equal and opposite tag. hehehe πŸ™‚

     
  6. Jawahara

    June 27, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Ok….I am done. Phew! This was a hard one for some reason. But kind of fun.

     
  7. Amrita

    June 27, 2007 at 11:50 am

    Hey Pike – your cousin sounds like my best friend πŸ™‚ she’ll always talk to me even when she knows i’m sleeping.

    Tanay – nooooooooooooooooooooooo! πŸ˜€ Oh well. Okay πŸ™‚

    J – great! And i know what you mean πŸ™‚

     
  8. gagan

    June 27, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Eddie Izzard has got to be the smartest guy out there, and sooo funny!! The Sound of Music is worhipped by my parents watched it so many times that I’m always afraid I mite start humming “Do ray mee” at the wrong time and lose all my street cred. πŸ™‚

     
  9. Kishore

    June 28, 2007 at 7:15 am

    Need I say more?

     
  10. Amrita

    June 28, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Kishore: Hee hee hee πŸ˜€

    Gagan – Hahaha, I’d love to see someone just break into do re mi in the middle of the street. Although, yes, that wouldn’t do your street cred any favors πŸ˜€

     
  11. Tanay

    June 28, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    Yes, Amrita the pics that you see on my blog are mine, most of the cases. Incase those pics are not mine I make sure to mention the source.

    For instance : The pics and paintings that you see on my 8 random facts post are mine. ( Guess what is the pic on and any blind guesses πŸ™‚ ) . Try the last pic in this blogpost

    http://remainconnected.blogspot.com/search?q=Nandi+Hills

    and one here

    http://remainconnected.blogspot.com/search?q=shadow+of+man

    If you check my Father’s Day post, the pics in there are not mine and I made sure to mention the source of those.

    There are lots more taken in India, Europe, few here and there, will share those as and when something strikes in context to post on my blog. Have some few collections like life and expressions as you see in a metro rail, took those while in Paris.

     
  12. Amrita

    June 29, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    that’s really cool, Tanay. πŸ™‚

     
  13. Tanay

    July 2, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Ams, read this interesting article and it talks about another magic number ‘7’. Now this is exploited for commercial reasons…Why is ‘7’ lucky, there are no sound theories backing it, but still it is followed, the date is coming soon 07-07-07 πŸ™‚

    http://economist.com/world/na/displaystory.cfm?story_id=9413725

    So does this 8 random facts thingie has any such theory for the number ‘8’ ?

     
  14. Amrita

    July 2, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Damn that strawberry hardway sounds great! I don’t know about the 8 things, Tanay πŸ™‚ Maybe you should ask the Piker coz he’s the one who passed it on

     
  15. Jimut

    September 17, 2007 at 7:56 am

    I’m over 2 months late but still…
    I’m nt an active blogger/writer myself but then criticism comes easy to anyone πŸ™‚
    5 out of 10 for your efforts. Probably people who know you well would give you even less πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I would still like to gift you….some advice, that is…on LASIK.

    http://www.silchar.com/cgi-bin/adda/MahaAdda.pl?board=help-advice&action=display&num=1129699657&start=8

    Posted this 2 years ago…but still holds true…

    Hope it helps.

     
 
