RSS

Daily Archives: June 29, 2007

Chris Benoit, Mitt Romney, Isaiah Washington

From TMZ

This is not a blog that is World Wrestling Entertainment friendly. For that matter, this is not a blog that is WWE unfriendly. This is more a blog that is WWE indifferent. Not for me the oohing and aahing over the wrestlers and their huge, bulked up bodies. I thought The Rock was funny in The Scorpion King (although I couldn’t help but wish he’d come up with some other catchphrase coz I had a friend who’d use it in season and out season and that shit is majorly annoying) and that’s about the only time I’ve ever bothered to think of the WWE.

Which explains why I had never heard the name Chris Benoit until earlier this week.

However, this blog definitely cherishes warm feelings for little children. Not enough to have them, at least not yet, but enough to feel a bit depressed when it sees pics like the one above.

At every turn this story becomes more disturbing, both as facts are revealed and in the manner in which Benoit is being portrayed. Some news accounts of this murder/suicide include the claim that Benoit was a devoted family man, ignoring the fact that his now-dead wife had filed for divorce on the grounds that Benoit engaged in “cruel treatment,” and made the claims that 240-pound Benoit was violent and had destroyed furniture during his rages. There are indications that Benoit’s seven-year-old son had needle marks from human growth hormone injections. Benoit was involved in the Internet-based steroid and human growth hormone scandal being investigated from Albany, New York and was best buddies with Eddie Guerrero, who died from steroid-induced heart failure in 2005. Anabolic steroids have been found in the Benoit house as a result of the post-murder/suicide investigation. Benoit’s wife’s wrists and feet had been bound and there were signs of struggle. How much worse can it get?

Read More

Well, for starters, little Daniel was suffering from a form of autism, something that had apparently lately become a bone of contention between Chris and his wife Nancy. And the doctor who prescribed (legal) steroids for Benoit has “a history of shady practices” according to TMZ.

From Pappillons

Another person whom I found disturbing this week was Republican Presidential candidate Mitt Romney. Now while this blog isn’t all that inclined the Republican way, it does like pets. Especially doggies like the beautiful puppies featured above. Here’s the story of Seamus, the Romney family Irish setter:

Before beginning the drive, Mitt Romney put Seamus, the family’s hulking Irish setter, in a dog carrier and attached it to the station wagon’s roof rack. He’d built a windshield for the carrier, to make the ride more comfortable for the dog.

[Soon a] brown liquid was dripping down the back window, payback from an Irish setter who’d been riding on the roof in the wind for hours.

…Romney coolly pulled off the highway and into a service station. There, he borrowed a hose, washed down Seamus and the car, then hopped back onto the highway. It was a tiny preview of a trait he would grow famous for in business: emotion-free crisis management.

Emotion-free crisis management? Really? And that’s not all. When called on his treatment of the family pet, Romney told reporters that he thought it was all a giant PETA conspiracy: Seamus had in fact enjoyed being hauled down a highway on a roof carrier because he loved “fresh air”.

Well, in that case, since Romney’s kids are all grown up and too big to fit into a dog carrier, how about he strap one of his grandkids into one of those (with a windshield to provide comfort) and then take a twelve hour drive down a highway? When the kid craps itself, he can hose it down and continue. I mean, don’t the Romney kids like fresh air? And it’s not like that’s dangerous or anything. Is it?

For the record, here’s what PETA had to say:

Thinking of the wind, the weather, the speed, the vulnerability, the isolation on the roof, it is commonsense that any dog who’s under extreme stress might show that stress by losing control of his bowels: that alone should have been sufficient indication that the dog was, basically, being tortured.

Gee, thanks, Romney. Now you’re making me agree with PETA. Awesome. Anyway, this seems to have sparked a lot of attention – just a different kind from the one the authors of the original article were expecting. Welcome to campaigning in the 21st century folks.

From Komotv

And then, of course, there is Isaiah Washington. Remember how I wrote that he had been fired from Grey’s Anatomy and I couldn’t help but feel bad about that because he was such a fine actor and I loved his character and yadda yadda? Yeah, I got over that.

I was over it the moment he started telling people how TR Knight was the guy who should have been fired. Why? Well, because he didn’t say it to TR’s face and he thinks TR used the incident to gain publicity. Yeah, Isaiah. TR outed himself to the public and put his career with a smash hit TV show in jeopardy just to get some publicity. Because the 20+ million viewers who watched the show were obviously not enough.

And I’m sure Isaiah wouldn’t have the least problem working with someone who called him ‘nigger’ as long as they did it when he wasn’t in the room. Sure, I believe that. Uh-huh.

But wait, that was last week. Isaiah’s on a roll and has more to say this week. Much more:

“Patrick and I had a philosophical disagreement that got out of hand and that I regret a great deal,” Washington says. “I said a lot of negative things that were never reported, but there was one word that caught everyone’s attention, particularly someone who wasn’t even in the room with us. It was a fight between two men that shouldn’t have happened. But someone heard the booming voice of a black man and got really scared and that was the beginning of the end for me.

“If a black man can’t get forgiveness in this country, when so many other people like Robert Downey Jr. and the governor of California get second and third chances … I think that says a lot about race and this country where we stand.

“Growing up in the South, I wasn’t exposed to as many different lifestyles and personalities as I could have been. And that’s always a problem, because the more you’re exposed, clearly the more you know and understand,” Washington says. “My mother had several cross-dressing friends who she sometimes referred to with names I’d never use, but she didn’t know any better. There was no hate, just lack of awareness.”

Okay, here’s the thing, Isaiah. You’re not living in the South anymore. You’re living in L.A. and have been for many years. And you knew what the deal was with the term you used.

I come from India and I didn’t even know black people much less gay people growing up. I have idiot friends who think it’s cool to refer to each other as “nigga” and frequently use the N-word in connection to black people. Those same friends use the F word to refer to gay people. They don’t feel any particular hate either. They’re not organizing lynch mobs. But they use it all the same.

Guess what? I don’t feel inclined to join them. Not even when I’m angry. I once used the term “fairy” as a joke and while nobody said anything to me about it, I’m still eaten up with guilt over it. You know why? Coz it was wrong of me to say it.

And you know what else? I don’t think it ever entered my head to blame someone else for what I said. I could have and with far more cause than you now that I think about it, but here’s the thing: I said it. And I knew that it was wrong when I did. It’s that simple.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2007 in Celebrity, Entertainment, News, Politics