RSS

Mixtape of Horrors

07 Jun

Have you seen this video for the “Shittiest Mixtape Boombox Blast”, featuring Aziz Ansari? I believe the guy at 1.13 represents my feelings to a T. :mrgreen:

Now you know there needs to be an Indi-pop version. So I can get my revenge on the blood-curdling howls tracks that rendered my childhood hideous, if nothing else. Here’re my top contenders. Feel free to add your own!

1) Sawan mein lag gayi aag – Long before Rakhi Sawant cast him as the Dr. No to Bollywood’s Item Girls, I knew Mika Singh was all sorts of wrong. Forget him, I wouldn’t want to bump into his “music” on lonely road some night.

2) You are my chicken fry – It’s Bappi Lahiri crooning love notes to his dinner. And what an extensive menu it is. I couldn’t find the original video but it probably can’t match up to this mix anyway.

3) Yaad piya ki aane lagi – Falguni Pathak. Queen of Disco Dandiya. Remember when that was a ‘thing’? The most amazingly butch singer of the most amazingly girly songs. Conundrum who threatened to bust my eardrum.

4) Dekho baarish ho rahi hai (It’s Raining, It’s Raining, It’s Raining) – Try and get this song out of your head. Go on. I dare you. Now try to scrub the image of sad Anu “It’s Paining, It’s Paining, It’s Paining” Malik from your memory. Muahahah! Welcome to my inner world of pain.

5) Chuimui si tum lagti ho – THIS STUPID SONG! With these stupid people in it! They had posters of it! They were fashion icons! Whatever. Teenagers are dumb. And you know who you are!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2010 in Entertainment, Music, Personal, Video

 

Tags: , , , ,

18 responses to “Mixtape of Horrors

  1. bollyviewer

    June 7, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Oh the memories… the memories… And did you just call my fondest memory of a romantic video a “stupid song” for “dumb teenagers”?! :X NAHIIIIIN!!!! I still forgive Preeti Jhangiani a lot just ‘coz of Chui mui si tum.

     
    • Amrita

      June 7, 2010 at 3:50 pm

      Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

      You were THAT GIRL. aka my best friend. Sob! I will be followed by its fans to my grave. At least tell me you didn’t buy the poster. :mrgreen:

       
      • bollyviewer

        June 7, 2010 at 4:44 pm

        Rest easy – I’ve never bought a poster in my life (not even of Shashi!). 🙂 You do remember what came out of Bollywood in the 80s and early 90s, dont you? This is like Vittorio De Sica in comparison. And considering how I’ve always been plagued by Kajol fans as my best friends, I think you and I are destined to be BFF! 😉

         
  2. Gradwolf

    June 7, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Heh, how did you forget this:

     
  3. le embrouille blogueur

    June 7, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    What about …. Aaja meri gadi mein baith jaa…. Hawa hawa,oh hawa khushboo….Tama tama loge !! Had to include one Baappi Da ugliness in there. So many more…the list is endless. Enjoyed the video. Right on Aziz !!

     
  4. Meta Pix!

    June 8, 2010 at 1:31 am

    Freakin’ fish fry, I knew this was coming the moment you said something about Vivek Oberoi being main course to Bipasha. 😀

    Aw my choklit-cutlet Will and da bro doing la dance as Homer Simpson slobbers all over sarson ka saag? Sweet! Twin “horrors” Mika Singh and Anu Malik making like they are It It It? Try me! (Ever since I set eyes on *that* snapshot from MNIK — don’t tell me you know nothing of it: guitar-wielding SRK, “albatross” around neck, “Ryme” of the Ancient “Mar”iner writ all over it, ring a bell? — guitar even in a monkey’s hands makes mush out of me, missy.) 😛

    And what are Kolly people like Kadhal Desam Abbas and Mayuri Sudha Chandran doing in Bolly meesik video?

    “Remember when that was a ‘thing’?” Oh how to forget Path AK…

    P.S: BTW side B, song 1 of a Billboard cassette titled “The Music Room” that’s stuck in my car since God knows when is Conga (Miami Sound Machine) that’s blaring from the Ansari Boom box. (My preference though, is side A, song 4, La Isla Bonita… Madonna!!)

     
  5. sachita

    June 8, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    for a moment there, i thought you are going to miss it is raining, raining .. ha .. this has been my only true mela me lost sister act with you.

    but seriously, yaad piya ki aane lagi? i can unders. chuyimuyi si in the list somewhat
    surely you havent heard of aaja meri gaadi mein from Baba Sehgal or was that when we were kids?

    You havent just watched enough super hit muqabala.

     
  6. sachita

    June 8, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    oh, also none of these posters – had only an SRK poster which my dad asked us to take off after a day, but i remember the small teddy from the chuimui video being a hit.

     
  7. Arch

    June 8, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Oh I remember that teddy! To think that I was crazy enough to get one for all my friends tsk tsk!

     
  8. Amrita

    June 8, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    BV – it’s clearly why the internet was invented! 😀

    Adithya – Aiyyo! :mrgreen: If this keeps up, we really will get a full 10 for the mixtape. Now all we need is someone willing to film himself blasting them on a boombox. Volunteers?

    leb – baba sehgal!! FIRST INDIAN RAPPER! Ahahahha!! Oh, the memories.

    MPix – omg, La Isla Bonita!! your spanish lullaby!! oh lord. my BFF Pops used to play it every morning when we shared an apt in college because it reminded her of her childhood or something.
    And I canNOT believe you never saw Chuimui si! It’s what turned Abbas red hot for that quick minute when he was in pretty much every movie made in India.

    @ Ramsu – I felt bad for Altaf Raja after KJo made fun of him in KKHH. 😦 It’s one thing when we randoms on the net do it, it’s entirely another when it shows up on screen like that, poor thing. I’m such a freak, yes?
    And I like Bappity Bippity Boo alright, esp when I’m in the mood for camp, but my brother made my life miserable crooning this stupid song to me when I was a kid. Still feels like nails on a chalkboard.

    @ Sachita – HAHAHAHAHHA!! Superhit Muqabla! There’s a phrase I never thought I’d hear again. Oh, how it takes me back.

    @ Arch – THAT STUPID TEDDY 😀 Did you also get the white salwars stitched? I had friends who did that.

     
    • Meta Pix

      June 9, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      “omg, La Isla Bonita!! your spanish lullaby!! oh lord. my BFF Pops used to play it every morning when we shared an apt in college because it reminded her of her childhood or something” — That’s two of us then, coz I too am reminded of my child Hood or something (forgot his real name; all I know is they call him prince of thieves).

       
  9. Rahul

    June 9, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    I want to share with you the following song. This was my favorite in my school and college days.Somehow I did not get around to seeing the video – and maybe I am a better man for it.Perhaps the director decided that two clowns jiggling their man boobs in their man bras were the censor boards drug to keep their mind from the controversial lyrics about drug use?

     
  10. Amrita

    June 11, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    @ MP – scandal!

    @ Rahul – Omg! :mrgreen: I didn’t even know there was a video for that and now I’m laughing very hard at some people I used to know.

     
    • MP

      June 12, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      “scandal”? Oh you mean short for “Santa Clara’s ANDAL”? Pray tell how you “divined” that. 😀

      And, as the virtual equivalent of your BFF, I’m obligated to share this counterpoint to Rahul’s “two clowns jiggling man boobs in man bras”. It’s the song that follows La Isla Bonita, by the way, on that 8-track tape I was telling you about.

      Only I know the perils of not diving quickly enough for the stop button when I’m chauffeuring the kids coz La Isla is a favorite, damn! Goes without saying that when it’s just me driving, BT is blasted on full volume. It’s got some of the quirkiest rhythms going. I loves! 😛

      P.S: Too bad I’m unable to thrill your stalker since the video on the song has been swapped out (more power to the imagination, I guess) with “Italo” dressed in the Indian Tricolor, don’t ask!!

       
  11. sangeetha

    June 20, 2010 at 6:54 am

    i can never forget altaf raja’s “tum to tehre pardesiiii…”..all that whining and pining! and this particular “ahem” best friend of mine who used to subject my sensitive ears to her whining of the song and when i complained that i couldnt get the damn thing outta my head, happily proclaimed “see! it grows on you!”

    anyone ever heard ravi behl’s “ladkiyaan…achhi achhi cootchie cootchie meethi meethi…..ladkiyaan”?? all the girls screamed bloody murder.

    oh hey i had the teddy from “chuimui si” too, clinging on to my bookshelf! my best frend was so awed by the song and video she collected all the posters that were out..and made me buy some as well!

    about anu malik and the horrible “ïts raining…its raining….”, (gasp!slap to the forehead!) its all coming back to me now!

     
  12. Amrita

    June 21, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    What do you mean, you HAD the teddy clinging to your bookshelf. The last I remember you STILL had it. Omg, Ravi Behl! Talk about a blast from the past. :mrgreen: As for Altaf Raja all I remember is A. greeting me in the bloody morning with that song on the bus. #@$^#^!!!!

     
  13. carla

    June 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    This post made me laugh so hard I almost peed myself. I had never heard any of these songs before. “You are my chicken fry” might be my new favorite song ever.

     
 
