RSS

Changeabout! (Update)

27 Apr

That’s right, I’m changing the blog theme again. Still figuring out the finer details like how to make video show up on the home page and post full length posts instead of making you click through. Tell me if you hate it.

I’m sorry for all of you who hate change and I’ll try to make it as painless as possible but I’ve decided I don’t like this one at all. I have itchy eyes! I can’t help it.

Maybe it’s some new kind of menopause? It’s all about the uterus around here.

Go read Aparna‘s new webmag while I fiddle around. It’s awesome and about time. Here’s an excerpt from my post on “Bollywood’s Working Women“:

In a country where “homely” is the ultimate womanly virtue, it’s only to be expected that its most popular cinema would prefer its heroines be, in a most lady-like manner, unemployed. Over the years, Bollywood movies have slowly built up to the position that work is something women do when they have no other option (grinding poverty is a favorite cause) unless they’re “man-hating feminists”. This might serve to explain why prostitution is such a common profession in the movies, emphasizing the ‘degrading’ nature of the working experience.

Update: I haven’t had a dark theme in two years even though I love them so, in case I drove everyone blind trying to read the font in one of my usual verbose posts. Please let me know if this is hard on the eyes and I’ll switch back to white. The other thing is that video doesn’t show up on the main page. Sigh. I might just go to something more simple and efficient.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2010 in Entertainment, Movies, Personal, Video

 

15 responses to “Changeabout! (Update)

  1. Never Mind

    April 27, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    How old is this video? She repeatedly mentions that she is 28. So she was 8-9 yrs old when Dil hai ki manta nahin?

    Wait, or did she say she is 38 and I misheard.

     
    • Amrita

      April 27, 2010 at 4:21 pm

      This is from the late 90s 🙂 Its that old Vir Sanghvi talk show

       
  2. Arti

    April 27, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Oh .. nice theme! I like! Though, the quote font size scared me a little bit.

     
  3. Men! O Pause...

    April 27, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    What Arti says. Though, what theme? All I see is lots and lots of White space.

    And thanks for that “Ladies Special” website reco – nice write-up by you, too. (Oh hey, what’s with the “reel” sister pointing to the “real” one… so surreal, LOL.)

    In other news, thot the “Bambi-lover” in you might bat her eyelids over this bit of ball news, go Milwaukee! 😛

    Back to my bowl of pasta – dinner time!

     
  4. Gradwolf

    April 27, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Pretty good, lots of white space, which you like I guess!

     
  5. DewdropDream

    April 28, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Somehow I preferred the squiggly Constant Vigilance thing you had going earlier. Balck bakcgorund’s hard on my old eyes, have mercy!

     
  6. Bikram Agarwal

    April 29, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Honestly, this theme sucks. Your last theme was so good that I tried exporting one of my Blogspot blogs to wordpress, just to have that theme. But, then I came to know wordpress doesn’t allow anything to be embedded on the post. So, had to drop the idea.

    That brigs me to the big question… How did you manage to embed the youtube video here?

     
  7. Amrita

    April 29, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Arti – hee, you and me both when I first saw it. I really liked this other theme but it turned all the links, italics, bolded and quotes into capitals. This is better, I guess.

    MoP – the glare will keep you awake long enough to read what I’ve written :mrgreen: And jeebus, but what was that thing and will it think I’m dinner if it sees me?

    Adithya – I’d love a darker theme but yes, I do like the white space! 😀

    3D – 😦 I like the function of Vigilance and its first cousin the Digg 3 Column, and 3 column themes in general, but I feel like I’ve gone through all of them and they feel stale. I need to be awake when I come on here so I can continue posting and find it enjoyable. I just wish this one wasn’t so fiddly behind the scenes.
    I changed the color back to white!

    Bikram – awww, why you so mean? LOLz, kidding! Yeah, the other one was much cleaner but it felt kind of industrial? I don’t know. I didnt like the feel of it. And this one is a bit too fiddly in many ways so I guess I’m going to change it soon but I don’t like any of the others right now. Sigh. Decisions!
    And of course, you can embed! Go to wordpress.com and check out their FAQ section on Media. All I did for this post was [ youtube = U R L ] without spaces. Which also works here in the comments btw, as long as you don’t type anything after the code.
    The only thing you can’t do on WP.com is run ads.

     
    • MoP

      April 29, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Ah *The Glare*! It’s scorching my irises as we speak. 😛

      And speaking of *that thing* — in light of Sanghvi’s Notting Hill reference in the viedo up there — my jaw just dropped when I caught the movie (yes, FOR THE FIRST TIME) last night (only saw the first 30 mins though, should finish tonight) and came upon Scott’s hotel-room confession to Thacker that among her cartoon-character assumed names, is “Mrs. Bambi”! And that was a cute Red Bus that Hugh Grant hops on, to get to the Ritz… it had “Oxford Circus” as the destination, did you notice? (Hey, did you do the Jumbles in The Merc this week?)

      More on The Movie, post viewing (but I have a sinking feeling I’ll be stuck watching it over and over…).

       
      • MoP

        April 30, 2010 at 12:44 am

        P.S: Not to have the last word on the theme or anything but What. A. Header (WAH!). The world, divided into two by The Thin Red Line? How hot! Lets hit it, Cymbal-ism *is* the name of the game in Subtextopia! 😛

         
    • bikramagarwal

      April 30, 2010 at 12:21 am

      Hey, I checked the WordPress support/video section [http://en.support.wordpress.com/videos/] and they want me to use VodProd to embed my code. []Non youTube and other listed service]. Well, I gave it a try but the end result was disappointing. The player appeared on the blog but it could very well have been a GIF image. The playlist is missing. Long story short, It Didn’t Work . Check these two posts to see what I mean –
      vicky@work and geniusPlay.

       
  8. ramesh

    April 30, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    this theme is not good .. no no no

     
  9. Amrita

    May 2, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    MoP – oh lord, Notting Hill is one of my least fave romcoms. 😦 Julia checked out something like five minutes into that movie and Grant just phoned it in.
    And that map’s an Ortelian missy. Of course it’s awesome. 🙂

    Bikram – oh i see. Well if the site is not on the list then yes, you do need to use vodpod and it might not be exactly as advertised. I dont remember offhand but I think you can adjust the size of the thing but you need to create an account? I usually find all I need on the partner sites so I don’t have that issue.
    You did check this page out, right?

    Ramesh – 😦 I’ll change it as soon as something better comes up 😀

     
    • MoP

      May 2, 2010 at 4:28 pm

      Yeah, wouldn’t really disagree with you in that Julia did have a blanched look throughout, and Hugh wasn’t exactly colorful either. But what kept me on my toes all the time were some great lines… and the props! (For instance, Chagall’s La Mariée… kept me wondering was the goat playing violin (like he said) or was the violin playing goat (like she said), while (psycho?)analysts elsewhere were simultaneously plugging Mairee, from Euphoria…)

       
    • Bikram Agarwal

      May 3, 2010 at 1:39 am

      Yea, I had been to that page. Didn’t help. Guess I’m sticking to Blogger for the time being. Thanks.

       
 
