RSS

It’s Hard Out There

29 Mar

That's right, bitches! S-R-I-D-E-V-I... (and slob)

… for an auntie. You know it. I mean, it’s always hard out there for a chick but as the menopause hits and the muffin top becomes an everyday reality rather than a sign of overindulgence, it just gets harder. Indian women, my mother and various other female relatives tell me, have it easier than their western counterparts because their clothes lend themselves to a spot of emergency artful arrangement when the occasion and the belly calls for it.

Couldn’t prove it by the crowd at the Filmfare Awards, though.

If life can be nerve wracking for us ordinary folk, tinsel town must a special sort of hell. Either you’re the frump who married one of the beautiful people or you’re one of the beautiful people who took a punch to the face from Old Man Time while you weren’t looking. Perhaps you are still one of the beautiful people in which case you’re surrounded by glimpses into your future.

Sign me up! NOT.

On Filmfare night, the younger crowd mixed it up by switching between glam and skank while the more mature ladies were mostly a disastrous mix of over-reaching ambition and what the HENGH? There were outfits that half-starved supermodels in their prime couldn’t have pulled off, and outfits that made you wonder if their stylists hated them.

For the full glory, click to enlarge:

[via Sulekha]

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Newsmakers

 

6 responses to “It’s Hard Out There

  1. Empowerment Engineer

    March 29, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    You may be on your way to give HHC some competition 🙂

     
  2. the mad momma

    March 30, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    Ams, Ams, Ams… you’re the best.

     
  3. sachita

    March 30, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Shaking things up a bit too much for my fragile not so change friendly heart. I will try tide along with the new format.

     
  4. Amrita

    March 31, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    EE & tMM- hardly, but I’ll take that as a compliment 😀

    Sachita – I got bored. 😦 I actually wanted to use this theme but the footer situation is not to my liking and I’m wary of using light fonts on dark backgrounds because of my usual 500, 000 word posts. I dont want you all to go blind after all! Still looking for a dark theme though so fair warning! 😀

     
  5. Beth

    March 31, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    In “the husband shirt” picture, please let us not to be overlooking that said husband IS WEARING A T-SHIRT. With a suit. To a major event. Smacks to him too.

    And that pink babydoll thing…as they say on Go Fug Yourself, “Oh honey no.”

     
  6. Kanan

    April 1, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Haila.. so much entertainment. I really enjoyed these. The HENGH lady has a cross on her dress. YIKES!
    Only Sridevi is even a look-worthy. Who lets these other folks even get in?

     
 
