RSS

7 Days of the The 70s – Day Seven

28 Feb

Welcome to the concluding episode of The 70s Blog Mela in BollyLand! For the past seven days, your favorite Bollybloggers turned their back on The Golden Made- in-Bengal Age of Hindi Cinema and took time off from cribbing about modern cinema to focus on the era that taught us the true meaning of paisa vasool. Click on the link above or click here to catch up with all the fantastic posts you might have missed.

I want to thank BethLovesBollywood for all the work she’s put in and for always thinking up fun stuff to do. Hooray for our Bethy! Everybody should have a friend like her!

Thanks also go out to VLoveMovies for the cool badge (henceforth a handy link to all the posts, to be found in the widget area) and all of you, bloggers and readers alike, who participated. I hope it was as much fun for you as it was for me.

Right, so on the last day, I thought I’d try my hand at a little awards love. Later this week I will bravely leave the internet behind for a bit of actual human companionship, which means I will not be here for one of my favorite annual rites: The Oscars. 😦 So I’m going to make up for it by celebrating my Alternate Awards.

As befits a lazy person, I found my list of movies off Wikipedia and then went to the Filmfare website to look for a list of nominees & winners for a spot of contrast. Which is when I found out things like – did you know Filmfare used to have only three nominees every year until they suddenly changed it to five in the 70s? Yes, you possibly did because you’re a better film buff than I. Of course, it could be that whoever they hired to update their databases got really tired and decided to shorten the list. Somebody knowledgeable, please advise.

Another thing I found out was that IMDB, Wikipedia and Filmfare all exist on parallel universes because none of them can agree when a movie was released. Or perhaps Filmfare nominates movies midyear? So confusing! Anyway, this is to let you know that if you see Filmfare has nominated a movie made in 1970 for an award in 1972, do not be surprised or think Amrita has been hitting the vodka bottle. This is how Indian Awards Time works.

Also since I haven’t actually seen all the movies that were released during these years (I only pretend!), and I don’t have overworked editorial assistants to lend a helping hand, I’m sure you’ve all got other choices. Do tell.

Amrita’s Amazingly Alliterative Alternate Awards

1970

Filmfare nominees: Do Raaste, Khilona, Pehchan

Filmfare winner: Khilona

Why: Sanjeev Kumar as a mentally disturbed man and Mumtaz as the prostitute with a heart of gold who cures him? It must have been catnip for the Filmfare cats.

Amrita’s nominees: Kati Patang, Khilona, Sachha Jhhutha

Amrita’s winner: Kati Patang

Why: Fine, so my choice doesn’t make you weep buckets and all poor Rajesh Khanna can offer you is his Alcoholic Lover persona as compared to Sanjeev Kumar frothing at the mouth and gnawing on the furniture. But I much prefer its story of redemption and second chances. And its music. Happiness is not overrated, people.

1971

Filmfare nominees: Anand, Mera Naam Joker, Naya Zamana

Filmfare winner: Anand

Why: It’s a heartwarming tale about a man with a terminal illness who teaches the people around him, especially his morose doctor, a thing or two about living life to its fullest.

Amrita’s nominees: Anand, Guddi, Mere Apne

Amrita’s winner: Mere Apne

Why: In many ways the anti-Anand, nearly forty years after it was made, Gulzar’s directorial debut still packs a powerful punch.

1972

Filmfare nominees: Anubhav, Be-Imaan, Pakeezah

Filmfare winner: Be-Imaan

Why: Um, they were huge Manoj Kumar fans? I have no idea.

Amrita’s nominees: Anubhav, Piya ka Ghar, Seeta aur Geeta

Amrita’s winner: Anubhav

Why: This was an amazing year for Hindi cinema. I’m not surprised that they upped the list of nominees to five hereafter. You can see the gap widening between the parallel movement and Bollywood by simply looking at the list of releases. I thought about giving it to Seeta aur Geeta for its enduring effect on Hindi cinema but Anubhav won – because I love it so.

1973

Filmfare nominees: Anurag, Aaj Ki Taaza Khabar, Bobby, Koshish, Zanjeer

Filmfare winner: Anurag

Why: They must have been smoking the good stuff.

Amrita’s nominees: Koshish, Zanjeer, Abhimaan, Blackmail, Saudagar

Amrita’s winner: Abhimaan

Why: Because it’s a story that’s gotten increasingly relevant.

1974

Filmfare nominees: Ankur, Garam Hawa, Kora Kagaz, Roti Kapada Aur Makaan, Rajnigandha

Filmfare winner: Rajnigandha

Why: It stands out till date as an exploration of a young woman’s mind.

Amrita’s nominees: Ankur, Garam Hawa, Kora Kagaz, Rajnigandha, 36 Ghante

Amrita’s winner: Garam Hawa

Why: To me, it’s not even a contest.

1975

Filmfare nominees: Aandhi, Amanush, Deewar, Sanyasi, Sholay

Filmfare winner: Deewar

Why: Sholay may have edged it out for the masala crown but Deewar is one of those movies that attempts to straddle that line of a masala movie with social relevance and gets away with it.

Amrita’s nominees: Aandhi, Rafoo Chakkar, Deewar, Sholay, Chupke Chupke

Amrita’s winner: Chupke Chupke

Why: It’s pure pleasure.

1976

Filmfare nominees: Chhotisi Baat, Chitchor, Kabhie Kabhie, Mausam, Tapasya

Filmfare winner: Mausam

Why: Fine performances by Sanjeev Kumar and Sharmila Tagore hold this movie together and keep it from turning into something skeezy.

Amrita’s nominees: Chhotisi Baat, Chitchor, Ballika Badhu, Mausam, Nishaant

Amrita’s winner: Chhotisi Baat

Why: Because I forgot all about it in my earlier list of romantic movies :mrgreen:

1977

Filmfare nominees: Amar Akbar Anthony, Bhumika, Gharaonda, Manthan, Swami

Filmfare winner: Bhumika

Why: An amazing performance by Smita Patil and a talented cast.

Amrita’s nominees: Amar Akbar Anthony, Bhumika, Gharaonda, Manthan, Swami

Amrita’s winner: Bhumika

Why: If I’d been alive in 1977, Filmfare and I would have been BFFs! We’re so on page with each other!

1978

Filmfare nominees: Ankhiyon Ke Jharakhon Se, Main Tulsi Tere Aangan Ki, Muqaddar Ka Sikander, Shatranj Ke Khilari, Trishul

Filmfare winner: Main Tulsi Tere Aangan Ki

Why: o_O!!! Granted this year was slim pickings – I couldn’t even find a proper five for my list – but still!

Amrita’s nominees: Ankhiyon Ke Jharakhon Se, Don, Shatranj Ke Khilari, Trishul

Amrita’s winner: Shatranj Ke Khilari

Why: The best Hindi movie about impotence that you’ll ever see.

1979

Filmfare nominees: Amardeep, Junoon, Kala Patthar, Noorie, Sargam

Filmfare winner: Junoon

Why: It’s the second best Hindi movie about impotence that you’ll ever see!

Amrita’s nominees: Golmaal, Junoon, Kala Patthar, Baaton Baaton Mein, Griha Pravesh

Amrita’s winner: Golmaal

Why: To end the decade and 7 Days of the 70s on a happy note!

PS – first person to mention assonance gets a kick in the pants. 😛

 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2010 in Entertainment, Movies, Video

 

16 responses to “7 Days of the The 70s – Day Seven

  1. karrvakarela

    February 28, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Chotisi baat beat out Mausam? Ye tau sarasar anyaai hai, m’lord!

    The 70s were a great decade for Bollywood. Strong writing, stellar actors, socially relevant movies. Hrishikesh Mukherjee and Gulzar were the dream team of Hindi cinema.

     
  2. Beth

    February 28, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Well, here’s another “What 70s film should I watch next?” list to clip out and keep with me always. YESSSS!

     
  3. Amey

    February 28, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I actually have seen all the nominees (alt, not actual) from ’75? :O I guess that would be first and last year like that for me, Filmfare or Oscars or any other awards.

    BTW, Golmaal and Chupke Chupke didn’t even get nominated? Did they even see those movies?

     
  4. Gradwolf

    February 28, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Haha yes I wanted to mention Chotisi Baat in that post but forgot. That’s definitely got one of the highest repeat value. Probably second only to Chupke Chupke. Also in your romance post, I thought Hum Kisise Kum Nahin deserved a honorable mention(Remembered after catching Yeh Ladka Hai Allah on TV yesterday)

     
  5. Rahul

    February 28, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Agree with almost all of your choices. Mere Apne was a great movie.I am particularly fond of Achanak(1973) too.
    I wonder who would you pick as the director of the decade. I nominate Basu Chatterji.

     
  6. Sanket

    March 1, 2010 at 3:30 am

    Let me third the ‘Chotisi Baat’ recommendation. There are some movies that you can see today and they seem just as fresh & relevant as the day they were made and that movie is certainly on that list.

    And kudos to making me feel not so alone in my opinion that ‘Garam Hawa’ is one of the best films in Indian cinema, ever. Very few people I know have even heard of it and a labor of love for my mom to try and find it on DVD for her led to my eventual watching of it. The first movie to have a true look at Partition was financed by the Indian government and when they saw the final cut they tried to ban it fearing it would cause riots. Turned out to win the National Award that year as well as your Filmfare Award as well 😉

     
  7. Ava

    March 1, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Yeh.. such lovely nominations. I am so in agreement with you about Garam Hawa.

    ‘Sanjeev Kumar frothing at the mouth and gnawing on the furniture’ hahaha rofl, thud!

     
  8. Rahul

    March 1, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    P.S. My Other nominees would be Gulzar, Shyam Benegal and Hrishikesh Mukherji.

     
  9. Jawahara

    March 1, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Hey, Filmfare should put you on their jury. I totally agree with your choices. Also, Khilona didn’t just have Sanjeev Kumar gnawing on furniture…it had a rape victim help cure her rapist. It gave me a serious case of the icks.

     
  10. bollyviewer

    March 1, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Anurag and Aaj Ki Taaza Khabar were not only nominated, one of them WON?!!!! You and I should have been born decades earlier, so we could be grown ups in 73 and tell the Filmfare Jury a thing or two about, you know, award-winning movies…

    And YAY! for Garam Hawa love – could an actor have a better swan song? I am glad Filmfare was intelligent enough to nominate it at least, even if they chickened out at the award-point.

     
  11. karrvakarela

    March 1, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Says something for audience and jury standards that Garam Hawa was nominated in the regular Best Film Category and not in some esoteric Critics Award selection

     
  12. ramesh

    March 2, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    wow !! there are young in the world who have watched so much of the past stuff?? where do you get to see all of this!! .. i have never even heard of half of the stuff

     
  13. ramesh

    March 2, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    @karrav… filmfare is more or less irrelevant of course, it recognizes the biggest commercial successes of the year, niche films end up not being nominated at all .. and look at this year .. debut awards for director man, director lady and then special awards have been on for years .. why if one of us lobbied hard enough we would get some equally esoteric award for best extra in 3rd row of the dance troupe in yada ne yada ko pyaar yada yada..

     
  14. Amrita

    March 2, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    KK – But it’s so happy! 😀
    I think they started the Jury awards in the 90s right? When there were legit movies like Satya that were a commercial and critical success but they still wanted to give the award to Dil to Pagal Hai or whatever.

    Beth – my listicle job is done! 😀

    Amey – shocking isn’t it? Who made those choices, I wonder.
    And yes, 75 is probably the most famous year by films.

    Adithya – I will now tell you something that will make you look cross eyed at me: I didnt much care for Nasir Hussain’s later efforts. I know – Yaadon ki Baarat, etc. They’re strictly ok. 😦

    Rahul – to round your excellent list off at five, I’d add Manmohan Desai because he made THE masala movies of the masala decade. And I’d choose Hrishikesh Mukherjee because I love every single one of his movies. Every. Single. One. Even the ones that look like he made them with the budget of his children’s pocket money. (In the 70s, that is. Nobody could possibly love Jhhoot Bole Kauwva Kaate). My second choice would be Shyam Benegal for his truly unique voice.

    Sanket – I’ve only ever seen it on DD 😀 I wonder now if they censored it? Hmm, I think I’ll go find a DVD stat.

    Ava – 😀

    J – holy crap, you’re totally right! I forgot that cheery little detail. UGH!

    BV – RIGHT? Anurag? What the hell was that? I haven’t seen Aaj Ki Taaza Khabar or if I have I dont remember the name, so I left it off my list. So I didnt miss anything then?
    Garam Hawa is like one of those once in a lifetime things when everything just comes together.

    Ramesh – I am secretly an old person! :mrgreen: No, I just had a cablewallah who also had a video library when i was growing up. You should definitely watch my recommendations, lolz!

     
  15. Katyayni

    March 11, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I agree with you Amrita!
    Every Single one of Hrishikesh Mukherjee’s!
    And btw, Shatranj Ke Khiladi was one movie eons ahead in thought, camera angle and casting!
    Amjad Khan as the effeminate Wajid Ali Shah! Lovely!

     
  16. Radhika

    March 17, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Slim pickings in 78 you said. Got me thinking of Ghar – I have forgotten most of it now but remember it was a chilling movie about the aftermath of rape – I remember sitting there with my jaw dropped that the heroine actually got gang-raped – in most bollywood movies she gets rescued by the hero mins after she says “bachaaao” – and if that doesn’t work, she commits suicide. Instead this movie shows quite realistically how the marriage gets impacted. And, what lovely music.

     
 
