RSS

Leave Bacon Alone!

09 Feb

I know I’m one of those people who go around saying that bacon makes everything taste better – and it’s true! Never does a pig achieve more greatness than as a slice of bacon. It’s possible to dismiss Babe as sentimental hogwash, make faces at crackling, quote scripture and Animal Farm, make digs about cleanliness, and be horrified at its butchery. But no man can scoff at bacon because bacon transcends mere pigginess.

However the time has come to call an end to the madness. It’s one thing to serve bacon in everything from dessert to protein shakes and have Top Chef after Padma Lakshmi go crazy over it, but when it starts to become an essential ingredient of 90% of all pics posted at TiWYF and similar establishments…

The fat lady has sung and she says it’s over. I don’t want it in my cherry pie, dipped in chocolate or candied in maple syrup. Stop.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2010 in Personal

 

8 responses to “Leave Bacon Alone!

  1. dustedoff

    February 10, 2010 at 12:54 am

    Hmmm. I adore bacon too, but this is a bit much. Really going the whole hog when it comes to loving bacon…?

     
  2. Gradwolf

    February 10, 2010 at 4:02 am

    Hasn’t John Abraham, Kareena, err Pamela Anderson taught you nothing? Cha!

     
  3. M

    February 10, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I’ve left it alone – I’ve left it alone! Never went near it, in fact….:-D

    M (g,d and r as fast as posisble)

     
  4. memsaab

    February 10, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Bacon salt=yum!

    Bacon breath mints=not so much.

    (both gifts from my boss at Christmas)

     
  5. St. Hog

    February 10, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Psst, it’s me — the ‘ghost’ of pigs past, sent to second you on this sentiment. Seriously, those TiWYF pics are terribly ewww! I too vote to save the hog from the chocolate bog, Babe from becoming bebinca, etc.

    And hey, what’s with the sudden love for the Salman leading ladies (reel and real)? First, it was Takia with the “everpresent” tits; and now, it’s… aiiieeee PL — the person who (a long long time ago?) clean-bowled the literary Salman… šŸ˜›

     
  6. anonymusketeer

    February 11, 2010 at 4:37 am

    i hear candied bacon (involving black pepper and honey) is a traditional American dish, though i’m not sure of exact provenance. Speaking as a vegetarian i can’t comment on the bacon itself, but i’ve had potato marinated in a very similar sauce and then dried out, and it was quite delicious. even accounting for the vast (i am assumig) taste difference in potato and bacon, i’d bet on candied bacon tasting pretty good, especially if its as fundamentally tasty as everyone keeps saying.

    maybe bacon is just crazy flexible?

     
  7. Amrita

    February 11, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Dustedoff – why must they make it look so unappetizing is my complaint!

    Adithya – yes, they taught me that they’ll take my meat out of my cold, dead hands buddy!

    M – vegetarians please form line to the right. Thanks! šŸ˜›

    Memsaab – bacon breath mints? WTF? I mean, yum (ish?) for the person eating them, not so yum for the person breathed upon surely!

    Hog – an arthritic hand that’s killing me as I type is the reason why. šŸ˜¦ I is an old lady.

    AM – I’ve never heard of it as a traditional American dish although, yes there is candied bacon. But I thought it was one of those newfangled thingies. And I guess it must be flexible or else people are just going crazy.

     
  8. memsaab

    February 12, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Actually milk chocolate with bacon bits in it is delicious…

     
 
