RSS

My Mother’s Generation is Awesome

25 Jan

Because they will tell it like it is.

Post-screening Sundance Q&As are frequently gushy affairs, sometimes to the point of awkwardness… But last night’s The Killer Inside Me conversation veered off-script in a big way. The first question came from a woman in her 60s, who demanded to know how the film made it into the festival at all. She then proceeded to berate Sundance for the decision, her tirade going on for about 20 glorious seconds, during which it elicited some applause and far more jeers from the crowd. She then stormed out of the Eccles Theater. Director Michael Winterbottom, meanwhile, stood nonplussed at the dais. “Any … other questions?” the moderator asked.

The matter of the movie aside (it’s based on a Jim Thompson novel – I mean Stephen freaking King thinks he was over the top and he is not wrong!), it seems to me that women of my generation are shockingly easy to shut up. How many times have I or women I know chosen to just sit in passive silence, all the while seething on the inside with all these things we’d love to say, just in case verbalizing our true feelings would make us “look bad”.

We don’t want to be that crazy lady who yells at people, we don’t want to sound bitchy, what if someone makes a funny about hormones and periods, what if everybody laughs, it’s not nice to hurt people’s feelings, oh God people are going to judge me, etc.

And then there’s my mom’s generation – less educated, less privileged, less traveled, less almost everything. Except for balls. Piss them off and they will take. you. down. Maybe it comes out of fighting for everything that women like me take for granted coz it got served to me on a platter. If it’s age related, on the other hand, I can only hope it’s contagious.

Meanwhile, I want video of the Winterbottom takedown! Do not fail me, internet!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2010 in Entertainment, Life, Movies, Personal

 

6 responses to “My Mother’s Generation is Awesome

  1. Sharon

    January 26, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Doesn’t that sound like the sort of thing that might happen in an indie movie about a film festival and the quirky goings-on there?

    But what you say is so true… the number of times we – or rather I – think, let it go, it’s no big deal, talking about it will only magnify the situation, whereas women of our mothers’ generation just go at it with a sledgehammer.

     
  2. pitu

    January 26, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Hmm I am in a black mood today (blame Roger Ebert’s discussions on education and teachers on his blog) so this comment won’t be fluffy or funny. I’m pretty aggressive and although I bite my tongue sometimes, the key word is ‘sometimes’. Usually, I give as good as I get.

    But even I am no match for my mom. She is 5’3″, blonde/brunette, has green eyes, the most delicate doll-like features and wears french chiffon saris exclusively. But wow.. whenever some jackass mental schoolteacher bullied me in school, the woman would come thundering into PTA meetings and raise hell. She never, ever allowed either me or her younger siblings or her nieces/nephews to cower. For that tigress-with-cubs attitude if nothing else, I admire her generation. And I am proud of my fuck-you attitude. After all, I inherited it from her. There’s nothing like an Indian mom. Nothing!!

     
  3. memsaab

    January 26, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Sweetie it is totally age-related, as in once you get past 40 you really don’t give a rat’s a** what people think of you. And you are so fed up by then that you won’t put up with much.

    It’s a beautiful thing, and one of the great things about aging 🙂

     
  4. Amrita

    January 28, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Sharon – I hope it’s contagious. 🙂

    Pitu – Aww, hugsies! Ebert’s blog is both the cause and remedy for great emotional stress.

    Memsaab – hooray! I look forward to it!

     
  5. sachita

    January 29, 2010 at 3:14 am

    Dudette, dont you also know someone will one day get up and throw rocks at pather panchali/ some maniratnam movie probably even kannathil muthamittal – this one is a double edged sword to desire and the wrong end seems to have a higher probability!

     
  6. Jawahara Saidullah

    January 29, 2010 at 4:19 am

    It definitely is age. The appearance of lines and wrinkles and white hair is inversely proportional to caring about what random people think and totally proportional to not taking any bs from anyone. That’s the *only* benefit of being of a *ahem* certain age that I’ve discovered.

     
 
