RSS

Things I Did in the New Year

06 Jan

Dozed.

Read Obama’s Blackberry – bathroom reading for those who enjoy Wonkette.

Ate.

Finally saw The Blind Side. Was as stereotypical as I thought it would be. Still cried like a baby.

Michael Oher: “Never had one before.”

Leigh Anne Tuohy: “Your own room?”

Michael Oher: “A bed.”

Sniffle. Where’s my hanky at?

Slept.

Caught the debut episode of Mahi Way – new YRF series is Punjabi Ugly Betty plus Sex and the City minus the sex. I should have hated it from the get go but it’s shockingly enjoyable. Best line, apart from the hilarious breakfast-from-hell scene: “Sometimes my mother looks at me and says she wishes she’d practiced family planning.” Bwahaha! I am the target audience of this show. Must blog later.

Felt tired after chewing so much. Took a nap.

Thought about compiling a short listicle about Hindi film songs that did something different with their videos over the past year.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=deepika+padukone&iid=4466854″ src=”b/a/b/a/PicImg_2009_Pantaloons_Femina_bdf5.jpg?adImageId=8822649&imageId=4466854″ width=”500″ height=”333″ /]

The un-embeddable Chor Bazaari

Stared at ocean and daydreamed about being on a yacht by myself. Toy boys optional.

Ate.

Snoozed.

Read email from old, er, acquaintance that made me check calendar – nope, not 1999 after all.

Organized photos. Thought about uploading them. Decided to wait until brainwaves can scan photos automatically via the internet. Or I can get my brother to do it.

Siesta time!

Made bread pudding. Ate it all. Yum.

Gazed at distended belly. Wondered at lack of tummy hurt. Was bored, so fell asleep.

Signed on for 70s week (coming to you this February, courtesy all your favorite Bollywood bloggers! Sign up if you haven’t already. Hooray!).

(I just realized I never got around to doing a Dev D review. Hmmm. That whole movie deserves to be up here. )

Was exhausted just thinking about it, so… you know… a few zzz’s never hurt.

Decided to check in with you lot.

Hi! How’s it been?

Okay, off to bed. See you tomorrow.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in Personal, Video

 

15 responses to “Things I Did in the New Year

  1. pitu

    January 6, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    YAYYYYYYY You’re back! I was just going to leave a comment on your Goodbye 2009 post saying “AMS Where are youuuuuuu?” Yay!

     
  2. fromherewegosublime

    January 6, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Thats a lot of napping and eating there Amrita. I did the same over the christmas break.

    I am a bit surprised that you didnt do a best of 2009 movies and music lists like other blogs. Id say Dev D was probably the best soundtrack of 2009.

    The soundtrack for Ishqiya has already released its spot for 2010.

    – Piyush

     
  3. fromherewegosublime

    January 6, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    The soundtrack for Ishqiya has already RESERVED its spot for 2010*.

     
  4. A to Zzz?

    January 6, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Wakey wakey! Burrow out, wombat. We’ve been waiting for you. Otoh, Mahi Way = Ugly Betty + Sex and the City – Sex, eh? Hey, you’re actually baaack! Welcome!!! 😀

     
  5. sachita

    January 6, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Appy new year and welcome back.

    This one read like Amrita Rajan’s diary which is nice, let us continue with peeks on the rest of the pages as well.

    Ps: nahi, nahi – no more of these ‘mahi way’ types please!

     
  6. Gradwolf

    January 6, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Happy New Year ji! What? No 3 Idiots and bad mouthing Chetan Bhagat for his writing and press conference holding skills? Kya yaar!

     
  7. Gradwolf

    January 6, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Oh and I love Baaware! Such an awesome song, and Shankar Mahadevan proves why he is still the best we’ve got!

     
  8. Banno

    January 6, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    And there I thought I was the one sleeping, eating, waking up to watch TV and some old b/w films, until all of it was just one crazy scramble in my head.

    Happy new year 🙂

     
  9. DewdropDream

    January 7, 2010 at 6:36 am

    Welcome back!!! Missed reading your posts alright.

    The eating much and snoozing much was how I spent my new year too btw 😀

     
  10. M

    January 7, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Happy New Year – sounds like the best kind of vacation to me! Now where’s some bread pudding for me (or at least the recipe!) 😀

    M

     
  11. Amrita

    January 7, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Pitu – smooches!

    Piyush – everybody else was doing it, so I thought why bother? 😀 They’ll have covered everything already, I could just comment on theirs if I felt like adding something. So lazy, na!
    I’ve only heard one song from Ishqiya and it’s already blown my mind. Hooray!

    AtoZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ – *stretch* is it daylight over the arctic yet?

    Sachita – No no, its actually good, I tell you! I shall convince you of it in my review! Happy new year to you too!

    Adithya – I thought about something but then I was like, Meh. I’m thinking of an omnibus review post in which I just cram all this stuff in. I came back from holiday and laughed and laughed at that video of VVC getting all upset. So many of the old stories I’ve heard about him make sense now. Or maybe I’ll eke it out. Who knows! Happy new year!

    Banno & 3D – happy new year! Eating and sleeping after watching movies and reading the odd book sure made it happy for me! 😀

    M – ooh, I havent posted it here yet have I? another one of my easy peasy recipes. Will put it up. Happy new year to you too!

     
    • pitu

      January 7, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      Reg VVC, I loved how Aamir confiscated his mike and wouldn’t give it back. And VVC kept reaching for it and mumbling. Ajit and I were in splits. :mrgreen:

       
      • sachita

        January 7, 2010 at 3:25 pm

        link please, and here i thot, i had read everything that was ever written on the topic.

         
        • pitu

          January 7, 2010 at 5:58 pm

          At 00.39, Aamir takes away VVC’s mike and thereafter refuses to give it back 😀

           
  12. Beth

    January 8, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Amrita, WHAT did 2009 teach us about boy toys? Don’t you remember? If they are not Abhay Deol, do not bother!

     
 
