RSS

Nine Southern Stars!

21 Dec

As mentioned earlier, I’ve been hoarding the fabulosity my Secret Filmi Santa has been sending my way, but this was simply too good for me pass up. Observe what took place on the 9th day of Christmas!

1…A 1-2-3-4! (Break dance! Break dance! Just fyi.)

2… Fab Musicians! (Yes, that’s two violins at once bishes!)

3… Perplexed Men (My Santa has good taste – Shobhana ftw!)

4… It’s almost the Wiggles (But really it’s “Styley”)

5… Minutes at the oasis (that get over too soon!)

6…The minimum number of costume changes required (conservative estimate)

7… Circles of Hell. This is on a continuous loop in one of them (Disco Shanti as Satan’s moll. But of course!)

8… Crotch thrusts per second (so homoerotic!)

9… Rupees. The total special effects budget for this song. (Bwahahaha! How much did I hate this stupid thing when it came out?)

And there you have it! Somebody’s childhood in nine videos off Youtube. :mrgreen:

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2009 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Movies, Music, Personal, Video

 

12 responses to “Nine Southern Stars!

  1. Never Mind

    December 21, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    You totally made my day with these! Hope you have a fabulous holiday season!!

     
  2. Amey

    December 21, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Oh my god! I am still stuck on that “b b b break dance”

     
  3. Sharon

    December 21, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Manichitrathazhu! About the only movie I can stand Suresh Gopi in.

    And I now have the Kondaveeti Raja song stuck in my head *headdesk* Doesn’t it sound like the type of song that would get sampled by the Black-Eyed Peas?

     
  4. pitu

    December 21, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    WOWOWOWOW! This is simply fab! I really enjoyed that ‘Nee Illai Naan Illai’ thingy, who are those dancers? Also, that Prabhudeva ‘Mastana’ song brings back memories :mrgreen:

     
  5. Gradwolf

    December 21, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    OMG the blasphemy of placing Punnagai Mannan along with Mastana!

     
    • complicateur

      December 22, 2009 at 10:06 am

      Not so much when you consider they were both composed by the same person.

       
      • Gradwolf

        December 22, 2009 at 1:29 pm

        lol true, but the picturization!

         
  6. Beth

    December 22, 2009 at 11:24 am

    If I didn’t already know who your Santa is, these clips would have told me. Mwahahaha! 🙂 I cannot WAIT to see what else Santa has given you! Nothing but brilliance, I’m sure.

     
  7. sachita

    December 22, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    ok, what is this secret santa thingy? i have played it in real life but dont understand this online thingy – like Gradwolf asked – this whole mixing up of some random masala dance stuff with Punnagai mannan and Manichitratazhu( a movie i like) is confusing me.

     
  8. St.Ring Theory!

    December 24, 2009 at 4:17 am

    Such a circus act! Loved it. Thank you, Amrita’s Secret Santa. You the King of vicarious gifting! 😀

    #1 – I nearly collapsed from an uncontrollable laugh-attack watching it while reading the riotously funny subtitles … and omg, what have Telugu movie folks done to my favorite Radha? (I know she did have a patch of gyrating-her-guts-out dance moves in Tamil too, during the late 80s (I think) but Nothing. Like. This.) Having only watched a handful of Telugu movies (old comedies by NTR, Nageshwara Rao; classics like Shankarabaranam, Sagara Sangamam and more recent (relatively speaking) stuff like Gitanjali), I’m now kicking myself for two decades of missed laughs!

    #2 – (Hot on the heels of your “crying reals tears over the terrible things — e.g. bomb blast — that befall your imaginary family” confession, eh?!) Can’t believe this thing is still so awesome. Such classy (quintessentially Kamal) choreography, esply with the violins.

    #3 – I thought whatever Shobana lacked in acting (she’s great in this movie btw, obviously — award and all that! — but I’ve seen some bad ones) she more than made up for in her dancing. She’s grace personified (and hey, maybe she reserves all her acting skills for Mallu movies — of which I wouldn’t know much at all other than hearsay, this being one of the handful I’ve watched).

    #4 – Aahaa, Suprabhatam meets Styley is so my thing! Plus Lawrence master is God. I clearly should catch up on these Telugu moove-eeeeiiis!

    #5 – Chiru as Transylvanian prince AND Ali Baba AND Ramases II? Too much!

    #6 – oooh… Vijay-just-as-I-like-him! I’m nuts about his high-energy songs that prominently feature The Train (steam or otherwise) – there’s quite a few of ’em around. (Also love him and Asin playing that air veena @ 3:53. An aside — I wonder how they managed to capture the mirror image of the train number 778 when they switch filming angles at 4:08… and why.)

    #7 – As a special dedication to your twin max and his refreshingly original take on Avatar, I hereby declare this video Tollywood’s invaluable contribution to the Wall-E script! (And wasn’t that trapeze act positively howlarious, what with vantage views of disco Shanti’s big bottom and all? A clear case of Cameraman Gone Wild!)

    #8 – You! YOU! I know exactly why you had this be #8. 😛 (Also, Lawrence master + Vijay = Drool!)

    #9 – Aah, I’ve always really liked this song. Listening to it after ages now makes me feel as if it’s a peppier version of the ‘old Goan gold’ songs by Remo Fernandes, like this and (you’re sure to love) this.

     
  9. Amrita

    December 24, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    NM – Happy Holidays to you too!

    Amey – :mrgreen: Don’t say I never did anything for you.

    Sharon – AHAHAHAHA!!! That mix is one I would like to see.
    Wasn’t Suresh Gopi in that Othello adaptation as well? I liked that movie.

    Pitu – god there really was a time in the 90s when everybody knew Prabhu Deva, right? As for who those people are, St.ring Theory’s got the dope.

    Gradwolf & Complicateur – I’m just glad for every little bit I get!

    Beth – this is not fair! I was promised a reveal!! I’m going on a hunger strike!

    Sachita – hmmm, somebody’s not been visiting the blog as frequently as I’d like! 😛 We’ve been running a secret filmi santa online, sending each other virtual gifts for christmas, and my fabulous secret santa has been sending me stuff on the 12 days of christmas. I put up the omnibus tomorrow before I head off on break so you can see it then. You should play next year! I vote we make it an annual tradition.

    St.ring Theory – my personal fave is the Chiru one. There’s something about him in that toga!

     
 
