RSS

Sharmila Tagore’s Happy Feet

10 Nov

I adore Sharmila Tagore. There are a very few actors whose movies I’ll automatically sit through no matter what and she’s one of them. I’d love to pretend I have a secret, intellectually snobbish reason for my love (well, my deah, she was a Ray heroine, you know. It was simply terrible the things the poor deah was forced to do in those vulgah Hindi movies), but the truth is she’s always been my girl crush.

I’ll watch her in Bengali, Hindi, whatever language you like, with her hair towering over her head like a modern sculpture and my little heart goes pitter pat with love.

Long have I struggled, but denial can only work so far. When clips of Sharmila dancing can put you in a better mood, you know the time has come to go gently into that night. Today’s choice:

“My name is Suzy,” lisps the song and OMG, how gosh darned cute is that?! Turquoise harem pants! Yellow hiphuggers! Rejects from the world’s most effeminate marching band! Golden tinsel grass skirts! And the best figure in the business. Dayum.

Probably one of my favorite songs ever, this is definitive proof that “dancing” is not a word that ought to have been allowed anywhere near Sharmila Tagore. What is that thing she’s doing with her hips? It’s like the choreographer just threw up his hands and showed her the “hero” steps and asked her to put in a few extra jhatko-matkos and called it a day. And yet! so charming!

NAHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEN!!! Could the name of the song be any more perfect? “Dhoka” is right.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2009 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Movies, Music, Video

 

16 responses to “Sharmila Tagore’s Happy Feet

  1. pitu

    November 10, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Oh, I lurve the woman too. She’s delectable. Perfect combo of gorgeous + acting talent + classy + good mix of timepass and art cinema. Shares a lack of dancing skills with a certain Miss Bhaduri and Miss Azmi. None of these 3 should EVER have been in a dance. How Miss Bhaduri could screw up a simple 1-2 step in ‘Pallu Latke’ is a question for the ages. Another candidate who comes to mind is Nana Patekar. My brain has some dead scar tissue from watching him shake a hip :p

    You know, I would recommend you check out her interview by Vir Sanghvi (Star Talk) on youtube. She reduces him to a mass of quivering, blushing jelly with her flirting 😉 And also check out her interview with Arnab Goswami (Frankly Speaking) on rajshri.com He is a boor and an oaf who thinks being rude is trailblazing and she’s the only interviewee who played his game without getting angry/defensive/offended.

    GO SHARMILA!! 😀

     
    • memsaab

      November 10, 2009 at 7:54 pm

      I’ve seen that VS interview!!! I have a mad crush on Vir Sanghvi myself. Would love to reduce him to quivering jelly…ahem.

      I’m trying to love Sharmila, but she has never been one of my faves. I think she’s just too elegant and cool for me. I would be a mass of nerves when faced with her, unlike Asha & Co. who I think I’d just want to hang out with, and we would laugh and laugh.

       
      • pitu

        November 10, 2009 at 8:04 pm

        Oh I totally get what you mean. I wouldn’t drop in on her unannounced for some chai and gossip, ya know. For that, it’d be Madhuri ALL THE WAY!!

        As for Vir Sanghvi, he thinks he’s so suave (and ok, he is somewhat sexy, I’ll admit) but he turns beetroot red when some gorgeous woman turns on the sex appeal. See Moon Moon Sen’s interview with him. She’s so blatant with him, I was riveted. I admit I was disappointed he didn’t keel over due to an apoplectic fit 😦

         
        • memsaab

          November 11, 2009 at 12:50 pm

          Oh I saw that Moon Moon Sen interview too! He was even worse in that one than he was with La Tagore. His Rico Suave exterior is SO paper-thin! That’s why I lurve him.

           
  2. sachita

    November 10, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    ha..ha! my mum introduced her but mostly in her sari clad avathars(praise the lord), we both love her. I am going to retain those memories and not let anything tarnish those, I havent let her offsprings do that to me.

    Pitu-ji: u must be very posh, Madhuri and all:)

     
  3. bollyviewer

    November 11, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Hey! Those dimples appeal to my intellect (the part that is concerned with aesthetics) – so I love her purely for intellectual reasons. And you aint seen Sharmila dancing till you’ve seen Main hoon Jodhpur ki Jugni (from Paap Aur Punya) – Shashi’s disgusted expression says it all! Having just finished watching Meena Kumari “dance” (I do love her, but a dancer she’s NOT), I’d say Sharmila’s dancing has charm. Or maybe I am just too far gone in Sharmila-love to acknowledge bad dancing!

    Pitu, did you see the SRK episode on Frankly Speaking? Thats one person Arnab wont be asking for frank opinions from, again!

     
    • pitu

      November 11, 2009 at 1:58 pm

      Ya I did. I was scared thr was gonna be a fistfight. Teehee. GO SRK! Sock him one 😉

       
  4. Rahul

    November 11, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Have you tried Aparna Sen? She is the real deal. Watch her old bong movies.
    Even Tiger Pataudi agrees with me. In an interview he said that she was her first love, entirely unrequited of course.

     
  5. pitu

    November 11, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    ROFL at comment abt her offspring. Soha ain’t doing it for you, eh? 😉 About tea with Madhuri: I wish!! *sigh*. Never, ever met her. But she comes across as such a lovely, warm, down to earth person 🙂

     
  6. Ramsu

    November 11, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    I had heard Vaada Karo a number of times before but never seen the video — roller skates? Excuse me while I pick my jaw up from the floor.

    Now all I can think of is Meryl Streep and Pierce Brosnan doing Dancing Queen in that costume. Makes it very difficult to get back to work, I tell you.

    ~ramsu

     
    • Ramsu

      November 11, 2009 at 11:51 pm

      Don’t ask me why that visual popped into mind — it’s one of those things where Mamma Mia, Dick, Shashi and Sharmila fell into the same melting pot and exchanged DNA.

       
  7. Amrita

    November 13, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Pitu – Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamn you! I spent way too many hours looking up all those interviews. Why doesn’t Vir Sanghvi have a show any more instead of Farah Khan and her silly nautanki? Also Arnab Goswami is an idiot. The one and only time I ever saw an interview of his, he was interviewing Mads and hadn’t even done his homework and kept asking her stupid questions about the movies she’d done. It’s called IMDB you dweeb, print it out and keep it in front of you. It’s one thing when he’s yelling at people and being an ass – it’s another when he’s just plain giving a vibe that he can’t even be bothered to look up his subject on the freakin web.

    Memsaab – I don’t want to hang out with Sharmila all that much. I’d just like to pet her a little and gaze upon her. :mrgreen: Oh and VS has/had this show where he explores Indian cuisine – I dont know if they’ve YT’d it yet but if they have, check it out. I really enjoyed it.

    Sachita – snap! my mom is the one who put me on to her too! My dad on the other hand calls her Mickey Mouse and thinks she’s uber annoying.

    BV – hahahaha, I’m going to pull the dimple defense next time someone paints me into a corner. I need to go watch the SRK epi.

    Rahul – I love Aparna Sen like a crazy person but Sharmila satisfies my craving for kitsch 😀 It’s like my cinematic bowl of mac and cheese.

    Ramsu – CAN IT BE? You are a virgin to the fabulosity that is Aa Gale Lag Jaa? The earliest instance of concern rape by Manmohan Desai? Where Shashi Kapoor fights off evil doers on roller skates? Where Shatrughan Sinha walks around with different shades of white paint on his face and pretends he has a shot at Sharmila freakin’ Tagore? Get thee to a DVD STAT!

     
    • pitu

      November 13, 2009 at 5:59 pm

      so… did you see the SRK epi yet? 😀 I can recommend more, you know 😀

       
    • Srinivas

      November 14, 2009 at 6:06 am

      concern rape??? badan ki garmi dena…LOL!!! The things our moviewallahs come up with..

      Have not seen this one though 🙂

       
  8. dimps

    November 16, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    hi ppl ..
    u sure seem ‘senior’ bloggers 😉 .. am just a novice to this world and have started a few blogs.. since u r discussing sharmila tagore here, would like to share my blog abt her: http://themusey.blogspot.com/2009/11/sharmila-tagore.html
    🙂
    well, whether she dances or not, she sure is elegant n gracious !
    would love to know ur comments n suggestions ..

    dimps

     
  9. Amrita

    November 16, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Pitu – I laughed until I became annoyed. And what the hell did he mean, “you won’t give me gaalis”? If he’d read Anupama Chopra’s book he’d have known that when you push the right button, the Delhi boy comes charging out. 😀 Give me more recommendations! Youtube awaits.

    Srinivas – You MUST! It’s totally insane.

    Dimps – lol @ “senior bloggers”. Always interested in more Sharmila love!

     
 
