RSS

Loose Talk

02 Oct

It’s been roughly 20 years since I last saw anything starring Moin Akhtar, and frankly I don’t particularly remember him – I was very young – although I do remember watching the televised Pakistani plays in which he starred: Buddha Ghar Pe Hai and Bakra Quiston Pe. If you grew up in Delhi during a certain era, you know what I’m talking about.

Now, thanks to Great Bong, I’ve found him again and swear to God, I haven’t stopped laughing yet.

In Loose Talk, a fake interview show, Anwar Maqsood plays the straight man, a hapless journalist routinely maddened, enraged (pretty much every show) and exasperated when he isn’t being outright threatened by his oddball guests, all of them played by Akhtar.

It is the kind of witty satire, lampooning (what I assume are) popular stereotypes in Pakistan, that’s light miles away from painful Indian “comedy” shows with their constant soundtrack of canned laughter, Navjot Singh Sidhu’s rictus of a smile and Archana Puran Singh’s botoxed grimaces. Jaaved Jaffery’s music show Flashback perhaps comes closest, which would explain his occasional appearances on the Loose Talk.

Farah Khan’s Om Shanti Om has taught us that there’ll probably be morchas in the street every single day if some brave Indian soul tried to take a pointer from Akhtar and Maqsood, but I can’t help but wish they’d try. And when I say that, I don’t mean rip off Loose Talk as Shekhar Suman is currently doing in his latest unfunny avatar.

Or, you know, they could just air the show as is in India. It sure beats the pants off watching a bunch of morons maul poor little babies (whose parents ought to be shot) about.

PS – don’t they write about TV shows in Pakistan or do they simply not care? I depend on the internet to support all my addictions, you know. It messes with my head when Shekhar Suman’s dumb show has a couple of million search results and Moin Akhtar is lucky to have a wiki page. Or is there a secret place on the internet where all the cool kids hang out and write about them? There’s a niche waiting for some canny blogger.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2009 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Television, Video

 

11 responses to “Loose Talk

  1. bollyviewer

    October 2, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Ams, you are EVIL! Isnt it bad enough that I am addicted to Hindi films, now I must go and hunt for these DVDs too?!!! And I’m not even going to mention all the time I have spent on youtube watching Loose Talk videos, today.

    There’s a niche waiting for some canny blogger.” – how ’bout you trying it out? Please start with Dhoop Kinare (it was all on youtube, last time checked)…

     
    • pitu

      October 3, 2009 at 12:20 pm

      Ooh Dhoop Kinarey is on youtube? ZOYA FTW!

       
  2. Gradwolf

    October 2, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Lol, Max send this link to me. Absolutely awesome stuff. “Nahin jeetega..that is our target”. ROFL!

     
  3. Gradwolf

    October 2, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    sent*

     
  4. Naveeda

    October 3, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    A lot of Pakistani TV dramas are on YouTube, which in turn have been lifted from Pakistani.tv (I don’t think I’ve got that web address right)

    There are some Pakistani blogs who write about shows, or revisit old ones like “Fifty Fifty” which was just awesome. I am bad at making note of what they are. I write about the ones I remember when I get a chance, but Amrita, your point of view is always great as it is, and plus how many do I see who write about these things, outside of Pakistanis. Not very many!

    Haseena Moin, who wrote “Dhoop Kinarey” is one of my favorite “drama” writers. I hope you all get to see more of her stuff – which is also on YouTube.

    I really miss Moin Akhtar. This was awesome!

     
  5. dustedoff

    October 5, 2009 at 7:58 am

    This is absolutely delightful! I remember – with great fondness – shows like Bakra Kishton Par and Buddha Ghar Pe Hai. And Loose Talk is definitely going to be added to my (increasingly longer) list of stuff I must check out on youtube.

     
  6. Amrita

    October 5, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Bv (& Pitu) – Muahahaha! Dhoop Kinarey it is.

    Adithya – that moment when the camera cuts to Akhtar for the first time is priceless. 😀

    Ana – there you are! Why don’t you write something? I can’t believe there aren’t more people out there writing obsessively about it. Esp when you have good stuff to write about! I mean, I write about Rakhi Sawant for crying out loud!

    Dustedoff – you can spend days on that thing. I know I have.

     
    • dustedoff

      October 5, 2009 at 11:19 pm

      You bet. I’ve just been seeing the one where he’s interviewing the Lollywood star. Hilarious! 😀

       
  7. mummyjaan

    October 6, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Ohmigod, this is *too* good. ROFL!!!

    Thanks, Amrita.

     
  8. Naveeda

    October 6, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Amrita:

    I wish there were more writing about it too. I don’t know why I haven’t. I know I wrote about Haseena Moin’s “Uncle Urfi” (which incidentally for some bizarre reason got removed from my Chowk blog, but it’s still in my duniya one).

    I guess I haven’t had the chance to see a lot of Pakistani stuff since I left, but man, YouTube is bringing it all back for me!

     
  9. Amrita

    October 7, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    DustedOff – that’s a particular fave!

    Mummyjaan – always happy to create more YT zombies!

    Ana – YT the hell out of it! I’m waiting for some good desi TV and there’s precious little happening across the border so you should know what’s good.

     
 
