RSS

Ladies and Gentlemen!

11 Aug

There is a great deal of talk about crossover and Slumdog Millionaire and mainstreaming and Anil Kapoor and blah de blah blah blah… but I didn’t buy it.

I didn’t buy it when Aishwarya Rai was giving David Letterman bitchface for asking her politely if she lived at home with her parents or actually had a place of her own. I didn’t buy it when AR Rahman stood on the Oscar stage and said, “Mere pass maa hai“. I didn’t buy it when So You Think You Can Dance got on the Vindaloo Express. I didn’t buy it when Anil Kapoor taught Martha Stewart to make dal before he headed off to teach Jack Bauer a thing or two about torturing the terrorism out of dastardly evildoers. I didn’t buy it when Chris Kattan found meaning as a Bollywood Hero and Times Square erupted in bolly-dance (video above).

[Hmmm, I just read that list over – and it’s actually pretty impressive when you look at it all together like that. Huh.)

But today! Today is a great day for India, ladies and gentlemen. Because today is the day that one of our own joined the ranks of Michael K.’s exclusive list of elegant and refined flowers (distinguished panel includes Shauna Sands! and Jodie Marsh!). Behold:

mallika

India. It’s here.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2009 in Celebrity, Entertainment

 

11 responses to “Ladies and Gentlemen!

  1. Kokonad

    August 11, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Oh Ms. Sherawat.
    There you go. The Marylin Monroe of India. *sigh*
    Can someone please tell her she is embarrassing India?

    **
    Oh, I did a post on flash mob dances a few days back. Linked you here. 🙂

     
  2. Kokonad

    August 11, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Oh and I ADORE the girl in the yellow dress. She’s really cute!

     
  3. sachita

    August 12, 2009 at 2:39 am

    Hula… now celebrate this arrival with a snake dance.

    Ridiculousness is her USP, how can she let go of it. sticking to her strength, thats all. Why expect different just because they have moved woods just so you can call them hypocrites?

    ps: the dance at time square was good, sigh, cant do bollywood dance, my indianness is in question now.

     
  4. sitaji

    August 12, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Thanks for the alert.

    On a related note, have you seen this?

    http://pitusultan.blogspot.com/2009/07/twit-tweets.html

    Enjoy!

     
  5. Mamma Mia! Me a Mamma?!?

    August 12, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Oh no she DIDN’T!!! Like Cannes wasn’t embarrassing enough?

     
  6. pitu

    August 13, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    *sigh*. I hope RGV is happy now :p

     
  7. Gradwolf

    August 14, 2009 at 5:25 am

    This post didn’t show up in my reader. And now I know why!

     
  8. ramesh

    August 16, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    hahaha what a funny dress

     
  9. Padmaja

    August 31, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I never could understand that dress really…I mean I know dressess are not supposed to be understood but still, you look at something and you want to give an expression. If I see someone wearing that dress, I don’t know what to do… it’s that kind of mind-fuck dress you know what I mean..

     
  10. Padmaja

    August 31, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Err.. in my previous comment why is my name not linked to my blog? 😦

     
    • Amrita

      September 1, 2009 at 2:47 pm

      Padmaja, do you have a WP blog? Sometimes when you’re signed in then WP doesn’t link you back. Leave me a link 🙂 [links go into moderation so don’t freak out if your comment doesnt appear at all]

       
 
