RSS

“You! Stop!”

18 Jul

This was going to be an entirely different post until I came across the absolutely awesome video above. I saw Jurmaana (starring Rakhee, Amitabh Bachchan and Vinod Mehra) a long time ago, but for some reason (senility?) I don’t remember the very beginning of it. And that’s entirely my loss. Because that is clearly the best part.

“You! Stop!” you say; but I say, “It’s! True!”

It starts, the way so many of these began in the 70s, with some guy in blackface and perm banging away at a drum that looks suspiciously like a jazzed-up mridangam. After energetically bouncing around to an aerobics routine set to what sounds like the beginning of Mehbooba Mehbooba (I guess R.D. Burman really liked that tune) for a minute or so, he and his powder-blue suit come to a halt so he can strike a pose and say: “Hey everybody! Come on! Let’s play a musical game! Will you?”

This gets some woman in Standard Issue Floozy Wear so excited she actually has to say, “You! Stop!”

Cut to: man in a suit, freezing on command.

It’s Amitabh Bachchan! In a silver half-mask! The only one, by the way, wearing one in this bar (?) where the musical game suddenly morphs into a beauty pageant. Although, it just might be a very creepy round of Pimp Out the Bar Maid the way they play it. You can’t really tell, what with the Ring-A-Ring-O’-Roses and the spotlights. Anyway, it all ends with one lucky girl being handed a cardboard tiara with what looks like a pizza cutter glued on top. It’s so amazing that AB has to peel off his mask to better appreciate it.

“You! Stop!”

No! I loves it!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2009 in Movies, Video

 

12 responses to ““You! Stop!”

  1. Bambizzoozled

    July 18, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    What makes you say that guy is in blackface?

     
  2. pitu

    July 18, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    The best part is the very traditional sounding ‘Shri Lokenath Chitramandir’ juxtaposing with boobies falling out lady 🙂 Also, I agree with commentor above: I don’t think it’s dark foundation.

     
  3. Amey

    July 18, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Now I know where Ajooba’s mask came from 😀

    And I am now waiting to use “You! Stop!” in real life.

     
    • pitu

      July 18, 2009 at 7:28 pm

      Will you also be shimmying when you say so? *runs*

       
      • Amey

        July 19, 2009 at 6:45 pm

        You! Stop! 😉

        Well, I will put on my best shimmy if I have backup dancers in their best floral maxis, and silver crowns. Any takers?

         
  4. pri

    July 19, 2009 at 2:00 am

    omg i love you tube. and that has got to be blackface. nobody is naturally clayish.

     
  5. memsaab

    July 19, 2009 at 9:41 am

    The sheer number of “fashion don’ts” in this is amazing. The maxi dresses! The flared pants! I loves it too, and I also don’t remember it! How could we not remember THIS?

    And I think the guy has extra black applied to his face too, although he is naturally dark. It’s that spectacularly greenish-tinged makeup though 😀

     
  6. Spiro Gyra

    July 19, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I knew it! It’s not for nothing that Atul Kulkarni’s mooch reunited me with my soul-mate, way back when. So I re-watch Sholay after ages this weekend and, shortly thereafter, come over here only to have you going all Mehbooba Mehbooba!!! (Isn’t it the very picture of awesomeness — Helen in that gorgeous glittering green strand of an outfit, gyrating to Jalal-Agha-making-love-to-lyre-crossed-with-bass-guitar?)

     
  7. Naren

    July 19, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    That is a spectacularly bad song! RD Burman makes Bappi Lahiri sound like Bach there.

     
  8. Broom

    July 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    This was directed by Hrishikesh Mukherjee!

    Sigh! How I miss those bad Bollywood films from the past. They just don’t make them this bad anymore. Now they’re just boring bad.

     
  9. Amrita

    July 20, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Bambizoozled & Pitu – nobody’s skin looks dark green naturally, surely?

    Pitu – Not to mention the directed by Hrishikesh Mukherjee bit. 😀

    Amey – lemme just see where I left my pizza cutter!

    Pri – sometimes I wonder what did we all do without it?

    Memsaab – the maxi dresses are what I especially love! For some reason, Hrishikesh Mukherjee had a real thing about them. It was what all the fly chicks used to wear in his movies. You could tell the Good Girl from the Bad Seed by checking her closet.

    SG – reading its descritopn, esp the words “Jalal Agha”, tell you why that song should absolutely not have worked. And yet it did! In spades!

    Naren – There was definitely a time period there when he was phoning it in for the paycheck. And yet, this is the same movie that has Saawan Ke Jhule Pade (Tum Chale Aao).

    Broom – I know! Its actually a pretty Mills and Boon movie.

     
  10. Orange Jammies

    July 21, 2009 at 4:14 am

    Your posts are the ONLY thing I like about Bollywood. Maa kasam.

     
 
