RSS

Running Two Days Behind

22 Jun

… my whole life for the past week. Still playing catch up.

And when I did get online, what did I see? That video of Neda Agha Sultan, an Iranian girl my age, shot through the heart and bleeding to death on the street as horrified onlookers try to help. Logically speaking, I understand that this hardly an unprecedented event – people like Neda, whether innocent bystanders or active participants, are dying every day for their cause around the world. But as Indians found out during the Taj siege last year, there’s a difference between knowing that something bad is going on and seeing it happen. It’s the longest 40 seconds of my life. (Much more graphic video here.) And as fucked up as it sounds, I’m thankful I only got to experience it second hand.

It is with pleasure, therefore, that I bring you these videos of the PS22 Chorus singing Just Dance and Don’t Stop Believing. It’s definitely an incongrous juxtaposition and you might disagree, but it did me good to remember that this also exists. They’re so awesome, they even made me like Lady Gaga for a quick minute.

[via CDAN]

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2009 in Music, News, Newsmakers, Personal, Politics, Video

 

7 responses to “Running Two Days Behind

  1. le embrouille blogueur

    June 22, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    It does exist Amrita … I am new to your blog and have been reading your posts all weekend … and I am floored ….it is like a new window to a whole new world which I never knew existed …regards.

     
  2. Mamma Mia! Me a Mamma?!?

    June 22, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Hope. Without it, we are truly lost.

    Hope…

     
  3. Gradwolf

    June 23, 2009 at 12:57 am

    And they forbade the people from holding any form of ceremony for Neda Soltan. It reminds me of the quote from LOTR when Sam says,”There is still some good in this world, Mr. Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for.” Now I am not really sure.

     
  4. Amrita

    June 23, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    l.e. blogueur – welcome! and thank you!

    Mamma – thats what I was thinking too 🙂

    Adithya – the funny thing is that authoritarian regimes always end up at a point where they genuinely believe if they tell someone not to think about something, then they won’t. Shit simply doesn’t work that way! As they’re finding out right now, I see.

     
  5. Never Mind

    June 23, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    And then they charge bullet fee. Yes, there is “hope”

     
  6. Prasanth

    June 25, 2009 at 6:32 am

    the catching up part! so true…the amount of information is crazy and keeps calling out.
    While I really don’t want to go ga-ga and start calling the situation a twitter revolution and all, it’s good we have these sources..and people brave enough to use them
    Prasanth

     
  7. Amrita

    June 26, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    NM – that was almost unbelieavable, wasn’t it?! What kind of sick monster came up with that idea?

    Prasanth – now the clerics are calling for executions… it’s just going to escalate, I’m afraid.

     
 
