RSS

One Woman Fantasy

31 May

bridget

Now that summer’s here and everything good is either on hiatus or counting down to its premiere, I decided to catch up on Legend of the Seeker, a fantasy series based on Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth series. I’m not a huge Goodkind fan and I wasn’t able to really get into the books, but I thought I might as well give it a shot.

And perhaps because I didn’t pay the books much attention, I thought the show was good fun. I think it skews a bit lower demographically than the books but I didn’t feel penalized for not being an adolescent. Much.

liv

However, leaving that aside, as soon as I saw the opening chase sequence, I began to feel that I’d seen Bridget Regan (who plays Kahlan the Confessor) somewhere before. At first I thought it must be the whole introductory beautiful-woman-in-white-on-a-horse-escaping-pursuing-soldiers thing that gave me a strong Lord of the Rings flashback (especially as the series is filmed in New Zealand) or perhaps I’d seen her on some other show. But in the middle of episode 3, I finally got it.

kirsten

It wasn’t so much that she looked like Liv Tyler, it’s that she looked like almost every heroine in a sci-fi / fantasy movie that’s come out in the recent past.

Even Kate Beckinsale, who started out the Underworld series with a really short do that fell in short bangs across her face as befits a werewolf-hunting vampire, ended up looking like this:

kate

Of course, Angelina Jolie is a big time movie star. She doesn’t have to follow the groupthink’s dictat. Therefore, in Wanted, she left out the ringlets and swept it off her face. So there!

angelina

No wonder Archie chose Veronica.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2009 in Entertainment, Movies, Television

 

13 responses to “One Woman Fantasy

  1. ramesh

    May 31, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    haah

     
  2. Amey

    May 31, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Yup. They “empowered” Kahlan with ninja skills in this age of feminism. And the series just goes diverging away from the novel from there on. As for the white flowing robes and long hair, those are supposed to be the regalia (and right) of the Mother Confessor, but I guess they didn’t want to explain that to TV audience.

    But if you are comparing Kahlan to all the other fantasy heroines, I haven’t seen Arwen wearing this:

    As for me, I did find the series interesting once I got over the fact that I have read the book. The abovem. video didn’t hurt the cause either 😉

    P.S. The series will be back for second season. I guess they are going to tear the “Stone of tears” apart in that one. (tear-tears… I am good :D)

    P.P.S. So is Chuck apparently. NBC is forgiven, for now.

     
  3. Gagan

    May 31, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    May just be fashion. Wonder how much current movies influence producers and directors. Last year it seemed that every action thriller had to have a Russian ingenue in it.

    Why did Archie have to choose!.. Yeah Ronnie is more interesting but it was one of those quantum reality things… as long as he didn’t choose they both exist in the perfect state of potential. C’mon it’s a comic book, not a lot to ask to suspend reality indefinitely 😀

     
  4. Sum Her Up

    May 31, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Hey thanks. Never heard of the book nor the TV series but now can’t wait to catch up.

    You may have a point there about the “bravo brunette” heroine faces in these things. I was watching the good ol’ summer horror flick on TV yesterday (I Know What You Did Last Summer – the sequel) and was going nuts trying to recall the heroine’s name…boom, about three quarters of the way thru, it came to me — Jennifer Love Hewitt. Haven’t there been enough of her look-alikes in, say, the Wes Craven franchises? (Courteney Cox, Rose McGowan…)

     
  5. Kokonad

    May 31, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I wasn’t paying attention to anything you wrote. I was going ga-ga over all the pics. *Drool*
    (Also, I might be the only guy in the entire world who actually liked the (direction of the) movie – Twilight). Are nested parentheses allowed in English?

     
  6. Gradwolf

    May 31, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    And then there was this not so good looking Seinna Guillory playing Arya in Eragon. Not that something else was good in the movie.

     
  7. maxdavinci

    May 31, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Jolie made the shooting flies wings and curving bullets totally believable. Heck if she said that Samuel.L.Jackson was Krishna reborn in Kalyuga I’d believe it as well!

     
  8. Chevalier

    June 1, 2009 at 10:18 am

    TWO Twilight references in the same day?

    http://xkcd.com/591/

    Ha! Amrita reads the mind-reader’s mind 🙂

     
  9. Amrita

    June 1, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Amey – but evil women dress different! Hasn’t Nagin taught you anything? Was Yogita Bali shaking her boobies in Vinod Mehra’s face (excuse me a minute while I go throw up) when she was herself? No. That only happened when she was actually the evil snake woman. See?
    Re: Mother Confessor, I don’t think she’s mentioned that to him yet. In the books I think she tells him about it in the second book… so next season?
    Chuck has 13 epis. Which is better than none. It’s going to suck if Jay Leno is a success.

    Gagan – I call it a fakeout! It’s a six part story so I bet things are going to change. And did you know they all have blogs now? Why do they do that?

    SumHU – the books aren’t bad, it just sounds derivative to me because I got to the Wheel of Time series first. But if it grabs you, then it’s great.
    God! Was there ever a more annoying trio of women?

    Koke – I’m sorry but you can’t cover up the fact that you’re a besotted tweenie by pretending to drool over the ladeez. Your secret is out!

    Adithya – I hate to admit it but I’ve actually been following the Eragon series. The first one was the only somewhat decent one and Paolini’s writing seems to be getting worse as he gets older, but still… the movie? Sucked like a vacuum from Hell.

    Max – I really, really love her in action roles. I was fully prepared to hate Lara Croft but she sucked me in. And she did the same in Wanted.

    Chevalier – AHAHAHAHAHAHA! *draws deep breath* AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHA!!! Oh lord.

     
  10. Amey

    June 1, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Hey, I just wanted an excuse to put up that vid 😉 But I agree, vamps (or heroines pretending to be vamps) always need a makeover.

    Re:Mother Confessor, she tells Richard probably halfway through the first book, if not before that, when she talks about being the last living Confessor, and about her long hair and white dress. And in the series, she is chosen to that title by “other confessors”. One more deviation.

     
  11. Gagan

    June 1, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    blogs.. they have blogs…fucking blogs….ronnie and bets with blogs…why didn’t u tell me before….hahahah…nah its too much 🙂

     
  12. Fortress Guy

    August 4, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Ha. We did not notice the similarity of look amongst many of these female leads.

    Seeker was interesting, at times exciting but not always fun.

    Here is my take on it with a little humor and lots o’ pics if you are interested.

    http://fortresstakes.wordpress.com/2009/08/03/legend-of-the-seeker-2008-2009-season-1-22-episodes/

     
  13. SHU

    October 8, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    “No wonder Archie chose Veronica” — Or did he? It seems he’s at some sort of a fork in the road, or so the story goes, and goes and goes… 😀

     
 
