RSS

Monopoly Panoply

21 Apr

monopoly1

I wouldn’t have pegged Monopoly as a product that needed to advertise, but what do I know? If lawyers and banks need to remind people they’re around and waiting to take their money, then perhaps a boardgame whose whole premise rests on their work ought to pipe up now and then.

And of course, they always tend to be pretty fantastic. There’s usually an in-joke in there somewhere. These two, for instance, are part of the German “own it all” campaign that pretty much nails the difference between life as it is lived on Baltic Avenue vs. Boardwalk.

monopoly21

The Spanish meanwhile have a rather enigmatic version of their own.

monopoly3

Although I personally prefer the darker, more cynical Chilean version of that “a real game” sentiment.

monopoly4

More at Ads of the World

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2009 in Life

 

6 responses to “Monopoly Panoply

  1. Kokonad

    April 22, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Good advertising really thrills me! I cannot even imagine how much time, effort and creativity goes into making an ad – whether it is for print or TV. I personally think TV must be harder! 10 seconds to deliver a message they will remember – wow. I make 20 minute presentations to keep my audience awake and interested in my research – and that nearly kills me (Hallelujah for caffeine!).
    I actually love the website (adsoftheworld)! Remember that awareness advertisement on anorexia I had on my blog a couple of years ago? Got it here vonly. šŸ™‚

     
  2. Gradwolf

    April 22, 2009 at 5:00 am

    Wow, brilliant ideas! Never knew Monopoly had an ad campaign!

     
  3. Kokonad

    April 23, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, HAPPY HAPPY birthday to you! šŸ™‚

     
  4. Amrita

    April 23, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Koke – awwwwwwww šŸ˜³ Thank you!
    re: the site, yup, one of my favorites too. I know i could never do the whole boil down to bare essentials and make it catchy while you’re at it thing that the ad people do and I’m always in awe of their ability to do it. And of course I remember the ano ad.

    Adithya – I’ve never actually seen this ad run anywhere except for the Economist I think. So it’s a really weird demographic that it’s serving. I wonder what their stats are, I think it’d be equally fascinating.

     
  5. inomoni

    May 4, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Guru Gyan is like a mini skirt long enough to cover the topic and short enough to keep your interest in the topic..

    Ziddu & Inzoo

     
    • amit

      May 13, 2009 at 2:14 am

      Hey Inomoni, you’re quite cool…whose Ziddu Inzoo?

       
 
