RSS

Save Me! (NSFW)

16 Apr

fabia

Dear Simon Cowell,

Stop making me want to watch Britain’s Got Talent! I gave you years on American Idol, I won’t make the same mistake twice no matter how many Youtube sensations come out of your show. I’m on to you!

XOXO.

***

Now that I’ve told him off, have you seen this video of Fabia Cerra? I’m always in awe of burlesque performers like Dita von Teese because I can only guess at the kind of self-confidence required to strip off and dance in front of crowds of people, but at least they look like what I imagine they should look like. The young Cerra in her home video, for example, fits the model to a T.

But to take that act on national TV with her present day body? Any woman you care to ask will tell you how she obsesses over various body parts – stretch marks on her inner arm that are invisible to everybody else but which appear the size of highway lanes when she looks at them; tiny moles on her neck that seem to grow out of her body like alien growths when she takes a look in the mirror first thing in the morning; hardly noticeable pimples that loom the size of mountains when she cautiously probes them with a gentle fingertip. We won’t expose our arms because they’re not shaped like Michelle Obama’s, our legs because they don’t match Marilyn Monroe’s, we’ll wear shapeless tops because our bustline doesn’t compare to Scarlett Johansson’s…

This may perhaps be the moment when I should froth at the mouth about the decay of modern society and public indecency or something, but frankly what Fabia Cerra did is one of the bravest things I’ve ever seen a woman do.

The only thing that really bothers me is that this is the second time in a row I’ve been in accord with the judges on a particular reality show. Apocalypse now, indeed.

[via DListed]

PS – I remembered the NSFW tag! Finally. Although frankly, anybody who peeps over your shoulder at work is going to need a few moments to adjust their eyes so they can understand what’s going on.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2009 in Entertainment, Newsmakers, Television

 

9 responses to “Save Me! (NSFW)

  1. Atul Roach

    April 16, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I left a comment long time back
    https://indiequill.wordpress.com/2008/03/22/becoming-a-writer/

    This is another article that prompts me to appreciate the content quality you put in…cheers!

     
  2. maxdavinci

    April 16, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    call me shallow, but I dont see how strutting in your inners anad flashing your jugs counts as talent.

    Heck the queen ought to see this!

     
  3. sraboneyghose

    April 16, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    She may be brave but she is definitely GROTESQUE!!! I feel like throwing up!!! But I’m sure men liked her act even though showing one’s huge jugs is not a talent…

     
  4. wordjunkie

    April 17, 2009 at 3:54 am

    The powers of a good brassiere have never been clearer..

    But definitely gutsy. Amazing split too, few people half her age or weight could do that.

     
  5. deej

    April 17, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    i toldja ams there were some rum ones.

    mebbe i’ll do a liveblog this saturday?

     
  6. Kokonad

    April 17, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    It makes me wonder if I should add your blog to a list of “show image on request” websites! 😛
    First that cat woman whose look has been deeply ingrained in my head. Then that hi-def close-ups… the list is long.
    And now to the woman on that show – “Everything runneth over!”
    I love the fact that your related posts show “Woman on woman crime” and “Tougher for women in country music” 😀

     
  7. Amrita

    April 17, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Atul – lolz, as long as none of it frightens you away! 😀

    Max & Bones – um, yeah, now that I’ve seen it again, she’s a little low on the talent part of it. She isn’t a very good burlesque performer, I guess. But still! I’m amazed she showed her lady bits! And refrained from showing her OTHER ladybits. We’d all have plenty to be skeeved about if she’d gone the full monty.

    Wordjunkie – It was the second thing I noticed about her performance (the first being, er, obvious). I don’t think I can do that and I’m pretty flexible.

    DG – please do! It’ll satisfy my urges without my actually having to give in too!

    Koke – hahahahhaa! But come on, by the time you figured out what was going on, hadn’t you had enough time to get used to the pic? The reason I leave out the NSFW tags all the time is because people are flashing so many horrible things these days, I never know what to tag. Glad I got it right this time, anyway.

     
  8. Kokonad

    April 17, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Yes, everytime I open the post, I QUICKLY SCROLL DOWN to the text part and get that image out of view! Damn 22″ widescreen monitor… 😛

     
  9. desigirl

    April 18, 2009 at 9:46 am

    she got thru, ppls – SHE FLIPPING GOT THRU. GOT 3 YES’ES. ok i’ll calm down now.

     
 
