RSS

Saturday Reading

07 Mar

File this under “Things that make me happy”: Gulaal in theatres March 13.

Chevalier on the controversy surrounding Mira Nair’s latest project:

Nair’s short film portrays a Muslim woman living in New York who decides to leave her husband and young son because she is in love with a married man. “In April 2008, the UNDP came to us and demanded that we pull Mira Nair’s film or they would withdraw their logo from the project. They said it risked insulting Islam,” French producer Marc Oberon said after a press screening in Rome.”We decided we could not take it out, so they pulled out.”

UNDP spokesman Adam Rogers told Reuters the agency had felt Nair’s work “would get caught up in controversy.””We were afraid it would bring the wrong kind of attention to the cause of promoting gender equality,” Rogers said by phone from Geneva. He said the European Union had also backed out of the project.

Because ignoring an entire section of the population is clearly the right way to go!

South Indian Neo-Nazi “fantasies”: um, I don’t know what to say.

How CNBC learned not to cancel on The Daily Show… especially when they employ a bunch of morons.

elabhatt

Ela Bhatt and SEWA:

WITH 500,000 members in western Gujarat State alone, the SEWA empire also includes two profit-making firms that stitch and embroider women’s clothing. More than 100,000 women are enrolled in the organization’s health and life insurance plans. Its bank has 350,000 depositors and, like most microfinance organizations, a repayment rate as high as 97 percent. Loans range from around $100 to $1,100, with a steep interest rate of 15 percent. “We don’t have a liquidity problem,” its manager, Jayshree Vyas, pointed out merrily. “Women save.”

The weed that brought down the house of Bear Stearns: now we know the most horrible allegation you can bring against a Wall St. banker – “pothead”. How dare you, sir?

Terri has some immortal love words: “Is it in yet?” A boner killer for the ages if I ever heard one.

This story has no purpose really and I don’t know why you should even read it, except it’s possibly the best post ever written on Wonkette and I’ve been giggling about it ever since I read it earlier this week so I thought I’d share. Also.

File this under “Things that make me happy #2”: Kaminey in theatres June 5. Goddamn IPL making me wait for my happy. This is why I no likey da kirkit, people.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2009 in Entertainment, Life, Newsmakers, Politics, Video

 

8 responses to “Saturday Reading

  1. Adithya

    March 8, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Oh Gulaal and Kaminey look so good, don’t they?

    LOL @ South Indian Neo Nazis. I don’t know what to say either!

     
  2. pri

    March 8, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    what a fun song!

     
  3. ramesh

    March 9, 2009 at 8:46 am

    south indian nazis!! that is priceless

     
  4. Chevalier

    March 10, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Thanks for highlighting the link! I’m impressed with all the other producers and directors of ‘8’, the movie, that they stood up to the UNDP pulling out and made the film anyway.

    Wish we could soon do one of these many-stories-in-one-movie things for Delhi too (Paris je t’aime, and Mumbai already got a ‘Life in a Metro’; New York’s getting ‘New York I Love You’)….

    And of all the flicks on the planet….why, why’re you waiting for *Kaminey*???!!! Is there something we should know about the movie? Tell, tell, does Piggy Chops finally act? Does Shahid Kapoor stop dancing and cut his hair? Does the movie finally solve the mystery of why dumped filmi boyfriends grow their hair and try their best to look bizarre and FUGLY?

    https://indiequill.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/when-saathiya-parted-with-company/
    http://www.bollywoodmantra.com/news/salman-didn-t-look-at-shahrukh/4008/

    Do tell…

     
  5. pitu

    March 10, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Thif Fummer! hahahaha Awefome! 😀

     
  6. Amrita

    March 10, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Adithya – This is turning out to be a very good year movie wise!

    Pri – I like ’em both. I havent yet heard the Kaminey soundtrack obvs, but Gulaal was very interesting.

    Ramesh – can’t make it up! 😀

    Chevalier – What I find so infuriating about that situation with Mira Nair that self censorship for fear of offending a very specific male population is taking away the voice of millions of females who have very little to do with that male population. Way to go. … I’m a little wary of these little omnibuses actually, I think Paris Je T’aime was the only one I really loved. The rest were all so-so.
    And Kaminey! Because it’s Vishal Bhardwaj! And it’ll be good even with the fugly!

    Pitu – I’ve been giggling about it at odd moments.

     
  7. Adithya

    March 10, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    The year looks awesome. Gulaal, Kaminey, 8X10 Tasveer, Ravan/Ashokavanam and more.

    I thought you’ll do a Delhi 6 review. Did you like it? I don’t know why people hate it with a vehemence equivalent to a Jimmy or Jhoom Barabar Jhoom.

     
  8. Amrita

    March 11, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Adithya – yup, all movies I want to watch!!! I was planning on one and also a Dev D review but I got all caught up on other stuff and didn’t want to just bang one out for the sake of it, y’know? I have a hook now, however, and there should be one Dev D / Delhi 6 post coming up, not a review but a look at the role characterization plays in the two.

     
 
