RSS

Who Wants to be a Molester?

29 Jan

witchblade_devi_cover_by_nebezial

It’s open season! Apply now!

Two parties named after Ram and Hanuman squabbling over who gets to take ‘credit’ for molesting women. Talk about motherfuckers. Even Ravan kept his hands to himself.

Today I walked a little taller, straightened my spine and looked everyone in the eye. Sometimes I forget to do that. Sometimes I don’t feel like doing that. But today I was reminded that I am not a citizen of a country where I can afford to either forget or set aside my self-worth.

I am a female citizen of India. My equality is circumstantial.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2009 in Life, News, Personal, Politics

 

14 responses to “Who Wants to be a Molester?

  1. shweta

    January 29, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I was really amazed when I hear that this had happened in Bangalore of all place- and now they r arguing about who gets to take “credit’ for it- gr8. its despicable.

     
  2. sachita

    January 29, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I feel its time to show them an eye for an eye. Attack them coz we dont agree with such people so we should attack them as well. Every one of us should go out with a pepper spray and learn how to hurt at the right places. Next time when I visit India, I will visit the pub in mangalore. Just to show them!

     
  3. anindianabroad

    January 29, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Circumstantial indeed. Also inconvenient.

     
  4. pitu

    January 29, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Pathetic. I love how they’re all ‘vying’ for credit.

     
  5. M

    January 29, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    It was in Mangalore, not Bangalore, but horrible no matter where it was.

    All I know is that the thought of living in India for a few years, so the kids will experience living with family nearby, something we’ve talked about for years, now scares me thoroughly….

    M

     
  6. ana

    January 29, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Oh yeah I read about this, and there was a discussion about it amongst desis and get this, a guy said he deplored the violence but then went on to talk about how morals have declined in India. Kinda negates the deploring part dontcha think?

     
  7. Mamma Mia! Me a Mamma?!?

    January 30, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Please visit and sign, if you haven’t already.

    http://mammamiameamamma.blogspot.com/2009/01/giant-leapbackwards.html

    Thanks!

     
  8. bollyviewer

    January 30, 2009 at 3:26 am

    There is clearly much to be gained from molestation – wonder if it is public approval for reproving “immoral” girls, or merely an assured place in swarg with apsaras and gods (in that order). The Talibanization of India has begun…

     
  9. Hades

    January 30, 2009 at 3:31 am

    Why do men want women out of pubs? Having only men in pubs is a good thing? And yet, even homsexuality is against ‘Indian culture’.

    It’s all very confusing.

     
  10. A Cynic in Wonderland

    January 30, 2009 at 3:48 am

    ..what is annoying me even more, is that these assholes can go around showing their mardangi on defenseless harmless women at pubs. where the eff are they when they SHOULD be fighting?

     
  11. Adi

    January 30, 2009 at 5:14 am

    The other day..when i read the paper..the first 10 news items i read were all disturbing and depressing.And the interview of Ram Sena’s chief was one of the lot. The guy did it because he thot it was the right thing to do. I feel anyone and everyone should be allowed to kick these people( and similar thinking parties) in the crotch, because that is wat WE think is right.
    U read the comments abt Major Unnikrishnan’s father, Sanjay Dutt’s thinking, Shivs and Rams..and think are these people really the leaders of the country??
    On a diff perspective, is this issue being so much talked about because the media and people think its high time to rise against it or the people identify themselves with the victims here.( Same argument holds against mumbai attack). Because nobody really talked abt the Nun’s rape case or the Assam blats which greeted us in the new year…

     
  12. Amey

    January 30, 2009 at 10:21 am

    The art in this post is scary…

     
  13. Anonymous

    January 30, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    The Talibanization of India has begun

    yes, and it is RSSisation too. people who didnt leave gandhiji, what can you expect?

     
  14. Amrita

    February 2, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    What’s really bothering me is that people are trying to dismiss this as a media generated blitz over a “small” incident. If this is a small incident, what’s a big incident? mass rape on the streets of mangalore?

    Sachita – Catch me in the right mood and I’ll fucking molotov cocktail their asses. Esp in a pub.

    Ana – and you know what, the person who said it, probably didn’t even catch the irony in what he said.

    Adi – seriously! Just punch them in the face and oops! spontaneous reaction! Not my fault. My fist just saw your face and wanted to punch it! He’s now talking about bombing places in the country, taking a leaf out of the Shiv Sena’s playbook, and this is what passes for politics! The LeT should just conserve its energy because these idiots will do all its work for them.

    M – And then they talk about brain drain and national pride and blah blah blah. I’ve never felt like India was a third world country except when I see people like these.

     
 
