RSS

Farhan Akhtar Ripped Me Off

28 Jan

Okay, so he totally didn’t.

A while back, after watching some Akshay Kumar movie, I suggested that he ought to make Indian television happy by basically adapting his style of moviemaking into an SNL-type skit show. Thereupon Akshay did the following: signed on for reality shows, made Chandini Chowk to China (with Warner Bros footing the bill) and wore plaid pants to the premiere – to spite me, I say! Those pants are proof.

But lookie! What do we have here? It’s Oye It’s Friday! The little show with a bit of everything you and your friends always wanted to produce in high school for the public access channel but never did because it was so much more important to, like, paint your nails and talk about boys/girls and stuff.

Farhan Akhtar in the meantime, got his friends together and actually made it. With celebrities and dancing girls and a big neon board that spells out F-A-R-H-A-N… not outside the building but right next to the couch where he conducts his interviews (more Chelsea Handler than Dave Letterman) because we’re like that only.

It is adorable!

Yes, that’s a silly title and yes, it has that horrible laugh track that’s mandatory on Indian TV which lets you know “Laugh HERE” (et tu Farhan?), and yes, the skits aren’t all that funny really, and omiGOD yes, they have those super annoying backup dancers for I don’t even know what reason, but I could no more hate on this show than I could sneer at my brother and his band friends back in school.

I am a marshmallow. You can all rob me of my lunch money in a little bit.

For one thing, Farhan oozes dorkiness and sincerity in equal parts. He mumbles and stumbles his way through the show, delivering his lame one-liners and puns with the same glee with which little children offer to tell you a knock-knock joke. How can you hate a four year old that thinks “Orange you glad I’m not a banana” is the height of comedy? You could, of course… if you’re the proud owner of a gingerbread house. Similarly, Farhan and his show.

You get the same sense of “awww” when you watch the actors in the skits. Most of them have been hacking a living for years now by displaying mounting amounts of love, anger, shock, rage, evil, shock, jealousy, shock, repentance, rinse and repeat, shock, in the one hundred and one daily soaps of Ekta Kapoor. But once upon a time they were, you know, actors and they pretty much ooze relief as they take part in these little pieces.

Then there are the interviews: they’re slightly awkward as you would expect from watching Farhan in action, but unlike other Bollywood insiders who’ve tried their hand at it, he’s laid-back enough to subtly invite his guests to relax and join in on the fun and has no problem using his intimacy off-stage with several of his guests without descending into stilted obsequiousness a la Karan Johar or forced jocularity a la Shekhar Suman (remember that horrible period when he was the late night king? I read all about it. I couldn’t bear to watch), much less the saccharine earnestness of a Simi Garewal.

So let’s see: Farhan can direct, act, sing and host a variety show while being all dorky and charming. Now if he could just put on a pair of roller skates and get a girl pregnant with his super!sperm! while she’s unconscious and possibly dying, kidnap the kid, raise it, cure its polio and beat up a bunch of bad guys without once taking them off – I will bestow upon him the ultimate honor of Aaj Ka Shashi.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2009 in Entertainment, Review, Television, Video

 

17 responses to “Farhan Akhtar Ripped Me Off

  1. Amey

    January 28, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I swear I used to have the exact same pair of pajamas as Akshay Kumar is wearing, in exact same colour.

    P.S. On behalf of most (if not all) boys out there: we NEVER painted our nails in high school, in fact never after we got past the diapers 😀

     
  2. the post-punk cinema club

    January 28, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Awwwww!

    I have to see this.

    Wouldn’t it be FABULOUSLY postmodern if Farhan actually DID remake Aa Gale Lag Jaa? I would die.

     
  3. prasun

    January 28, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I hear Shahrukh khan is getting a weekend tv show

     
  4. bollyviewer

    January 28, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Amrita you are EVIL. First you remind us of the one patthar that is best forgotten, then you bring in OiF. I hadnt caught it yet and now I have spent the last few hours on youtube watching it! If my boss ever gets wind of this I will be unemployed ASAP. 😦 And hey, as far as I am concerned Farhan can be Aaj ka Shashi even without the skates as long as he presents at least one of his brides with her ex’s book of poetry.

     
  5. pitu

    January 28, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    EWWW! I caught this show some time ago and it’s lame lame lame. How can you be so kind? I can do better comedy than him lol. In fact I was just telling a friend today how utterly sucky this show is :-p

     
  6. Mudra

    January 28, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    You forgot to mention he’s cute. Not conventionally, maybe, but like you said, his dorkiness is bloody endearing. 😀

     
  7. individuel

    January 29, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Shekhar Suman was late night Leno, not King.

     
  8. Amrita

    January 29, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Amey – haan, haan, tumne kaha aur maine maan liya! 😛 Re: plaid pants, but did you wear it to glitzy parties in phoren? TELL ME!

    PPCC – I tried to see if there was a subtitled version but nothin’. Maybe someone will translate? Coz they’re all making conscious efforts to talk in Hindi I think. Man, if they ever made that movie, I’d so watch it and take all my friends and family too.

    Prasun – why doesn’t he just move into my house? Or hand each and every Indian a cloned baby of himself? That way he can cut out the middle man and be in front of all our eyes the way he wants to, 24/7.

    BV – hhee hee hee hee! Now you’re the reading public I want! Isn’t it addictive? And it’s seriously getting better as it goes, there’s a definite curve of improvement imo.

    Pitu – I bet you didn’t see the SRK wala episode, otherwise you’d NEVER say that 😀

    Mudra – I KNOW! what a cutie!

    Ideasmith – “a scathing review”? NAHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEN! Yeh jhoot hai! Yeh paap maine nahin kiya!
    erm…. 😳

    Individuel – even worse. 😦

     
  9. pitu

    January 29, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    There’s an SRK episode?? Ooooooooooooo *runs off to watch her dahling*

     
  10. DewdropDream

    January 29, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Amrita shame on you, conning Pitu like that! 😀

    Okay so I looked it up because you gushed about it and it’s everything you said… Farhan Akhtar IS adorable!!! Lekin yaar… I simply couldn’t shake the feeling that something was missing somewhere… and I can’t figure out what. Just that it felt incomplete. Make any sense to you?

     
  11. Mamma Mia! Me a Mamma?!?

    January 30, 2009 at 1:31 am

    You forgot to mention ne more thing…that he is just absolutely chocolate milkshake with sprinkle on top delicious!

     
  12. sachita

    January 30, 2009 at 7:13 am

    oh, the show is lame. you are exhibing stock holm syndrome. sometimes guest like priyanka, shahrukh made it less lame. i have seen all the episodes, 🙂 i am a full blooded dd-ian so will watch any show as long as it is in youtube rather a full blooded indian who will watch any show coz it has celebrities in it even though they have appeared on tv shows like 1000 times.

    I have watched rock on too, Farhan doesnt do much to me, but i honestly think he will make a good towel candidate.

    Ps: you writing is too good. I always love it dont know why this piece made me say it again.

     
  13. Amey

    January 30, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Should I have? Do I get Deepika then? 😉

     
  14. Amrita

    February 2, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Pitu – there are TWO episodes! Khaas tumhare liye!

    DDD – nahin, nahin, I would never do that to Pitu! well, okay, I didn;t do that to her today 😀 The missing ingredient is, er, polish. He sucks at being a talk show host! Heheheh. But he’s so adorable yaar!

    Mamma – oh no! Now I’ll keep thinking of his milkshake when I see him 😳

    Sachita – hahahah! Admit it! You like bad TV! Just like me! You have to see Luck by Chance. I’ll have a review up tomorrow or something. And thanks 🙂

    Amey – well, that’s why they invented Hope!

     
  15. Amey

    February 2, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    that’s why they invented Hope

    At TSM? Do we get to see her in the ad? 😀

     
  16. Sofia

    December 10, 2009 at 6:11 am

    He (Farhan Akhtar) can make me pregnant with his super sperm, i would love it.

     
 
