RSS

Buy, Do Not Steal

16 Jan

dev-d

Put on your headphones and prepare to be happy! If Dev D, Anurag Kashyap’s modern take on Devdas – that classic tale of the quintessential overprivileged manchild, his idiot lover and the masochistic courtesan – winds up even half as subversive as its soundtrack, I’m going to be ecstatic come February 6.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll notice that I haven’t reviewed an album for quite some time. This is not because I’ve gone off Hindi film music – quite the contrary, I’ve been listening to more of it than can possibly be good for me.

But how many times could I point and giggle at each new album coming out of Bollywood without it getting to me? After all, mere seene mein bhi dil hai! And it is made of marshmallow.

And now, behold! Thus is kindness rewarded! Here, after a long time, comes a soundtrack courtesy Amit Trivedi (Aamir) that makes me hope that you’ll actually plonk down hard cash in these financially tough times for the pleasure of listening to 18 (that’s right: eighteen!) marvelous tracks. I’d tell you how awesome it all is but everytime I sit down to write about this album I’m reminded that writing about music is indeed like dancing about architecture.

However, the P-PCC feels no such compunction, so this is your lucky day!

PS – this seems an appropriate post wherein to ask: why do Indian liquor stores advertise themselves as Brandy Shops? Or is it an uniquely South Indian terminology? Is there something particularly alcoholic about brandy or do they just call any ol’ moonshine brandy? Does it have something to do with the colonial era – did they think ‘brandy’ was white for ‘thing you drink at night that gets you really drunk’? Man, the colonial era must have been teeming with lushes.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2009 in Entertainment, Movies, Music

 

13 responses to “Buy, Do Not Steal

  1. Never Mind

    January 16, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I loved Aamir music but did not hear Dev D yet. Will do right away.

    ASAIK, liquor shops in the Gult land were always called “wine shops”.

     
  2. prasun

    January 16, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Loved the Chakkar Ghumiyo song from Aamir and I’m listening to Dev D songs right now.

    Link to Anuragh Kashyap where he talks about the dev-d music http://passionforcinema.com/devd-emosional-atyachar/

     
  3. the post-punk cinema club

    January 16, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Guh, I LOVE that poster too! The aesthetics for Dev.D are already CLASS-A! Hipster and gorgeous.

    Must see it nooooooow.

    Thanks for the plug!

     
  4. shweta

    January 16, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    I am stealing that pic- totally. Looks like I have a drink in common w/ abhay- Smirnoff on the rocks!

     
  5. Mamma Mia! Me a Mamma?!?

    January 17, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Wow, that’s quite the accolade! On my must-listen list right now!

     
  6. apu

    January 17, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Amrita! Liquor shops in the south are called “wine shops” – I dont know where you got that brandy bit from – perhaps its a mallu thing? Also the wine shop is usually pronounced as “woin” or “oin” shop!

     
  7. Ramsu

    January 17, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Amrita’s right, in a sense. In Tamil, the term used most often is braandhi kadai (literally “brandy shop”) or saaraya kadai (liquor shop? arrack shop? not entirely sure).

    But the English term used in most shops is “Wine shop”, or just the suffix “Wines”. I’m not even sure if you can actually get wine in these shops.

    Re the album, I’ve just heard a piece or two on TV and it’s gotten my curiosity piqued, I’ll admit. Patna’s Presleys singing about Emosanal Atyaachaar is definitely quite a trip!

    My experience with Anurag Kashyap hasn’t been wonderful (I was utterly bewildered by No Smoking), but who knows, maybe his brand of wierdness is what you need to transform the tale of this boozy wimp into something approximating watchable. Plus, of course, it stars Abhay Deol, who’s turning out to be the only one among the younger Deols I can stand. Let’s hope this one works.

    ~ramsu

     
  8. pitusultan

    January 17, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    My fave is Emotional Atyachar. My cousin in India made it her caller tone and stupid ass Sprint won’t let me do so here,so for now I continue to have the JAWS theme on my cell. But yeah, awesome music and the film looks very promising. Abhay Deol ki to nikal padi šŸ™‚

     
  9. Vishal

    January 17, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Dev D album is absolutely fantastic. Amit Trivedi surely has a “sound” of his own. Me too, eagerly awaiting the release of Dev D. I’ve become a fan of Abhay Deol – I think no other contemporary actor has a better “script sense” than him.

    By the way, listen to Delhi-6 album if you haven’t. One of the BEST albums in a long long time. (Here’s my review: http://vishal12.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/delhi-6-music-review/)

    Vishal

     
  10. Hades

    January 19, 2009 at 3:39 am

    I’m totally with you on that. The songs are brilliant. And the videos rock too. Emosinal Athyachaar has one of the best vids coming out of bollywodd in a long time.

    And I love the Nazar Tarse too, where they’ve used a SnoriCam (I think) to show that Dev is high (I presume).

    Oooh! I can’t wait for the movie.

     
  11. Amrita

    January 19, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    NM / Apu / Ramsu – the “braandhi kadai” thing is what I was talking about! I remember because this was how I found out how few letters Tamil has in its alphabet – coz I thought it was a spelling mistake when my cousin pointed out it was written ‘praandhi kadai”. And yes, ‘saaraya’ would be arrack. Toddy shop in Kerala! And, um, LOL @ “oin” shop.

    Prasun – I love these blogs he’s writing. I wish somebody would introduce him to punctuation marks though. šŸ™‚

    P-PCC / Shweta – ay loves it already!

    Mamma – also listen to Delhi 6. It’s totally yummy.

    Pitu – Abhay Deol ki to nikal padi … in my pants. Oops, did I say that out loud? šŸ˜³

    Vishal – I am OBSESSED with Dil Gira dafatan. And the rest of the album too.

    Hades – I love both of those but I think my favorite track is Pardesi so far. And I love that Danny Boyle gave them tech advice. It feels like the old days of the 50s and 60s when people were getting together in the cause of cinema instead of it being so insular as it has been for the past 30 years if you know what I mean.

     
  12. Aroon

    January 21, 2009 at 2:29 am

    The soundtrack is simply kickass.. u should read some articles on passionforcinema.com about the songs n all.. i met up wid a producer recently who knew amit trivedi.. apparently this guy is one gujju boy kinds.. hehehe … i was like how the hell does he have that kinda music sense and that kinda voice (Nayan Tarse).. But yea totally hooked on to the songs..

     
  13. Amrita

    January 21, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    He’s ,making up for The Himesh of course. And hey, don’t sell out Gujju boys, check out that link to the right for Aspi’s Drift.

     
 
