RSS

Ich Bin Ein Puppet

20 Dec

Puppets! I never really noticed their versatility until today when I saw this amazing remake of Twilight.

Otherwise known as the most annoying movie ever made, these talented and charismatic puppets who have all the chemistry and personality the greasy-haired sullen-faced human leads lack, immediately made Twilight interesting and fun to watch. Displaying a phenomenal sense of pacing and editing, they were even able to shoot the entire movie to its proper length (3 minutes) – special effects included! And I find I can even forgive Bella for her timidity and general uselessness when she is made out of cloth.

In fact, watching Twilight the Puppet Saga made me think of all the other great puppets of our time and the different ways in which they’ve enriched our lives:

is a Broadway star!

The Stylish Mrs. Tom Cruise Puppet: is a Broadway star!

cured me of dolls forever. (Mommy!)

Evil Chucky Puppet: cured me of dolls forever. (Mommy!)

loves Dick Cheney in Bunny suit

POTUS Puppet: loves Dick Cheney in Bunny suit

is beloved of children

Friendly Educational Frog Puppet: is beloved of millions

is a total PILF!

Russian Puppet: is a total PILF! (Until Obama is sworn in, anyway)

are fancier than everybody else.

Ye Olde English Puppets: are fancier than everybody else.

is so smart, he can even survive Congress

Gentle Academic Puppet: is so smart, he can even survive Congress politics

And let us not forget, the Romantic Bollywood Puppets:

We are all puppets now.

Update: Memsaab reminds me that I left out The Most Awesome Julie Andrews Puppets. How shocking!

And Doc Bollywood nominates the Satyajit Ray-remixed Rajshri puppets:

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2008 in Entertainment, Life, Video

 

9 responses to “Ich Bin Ein Puppet

  1. the post-punk cinema club

    December 20, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Ahaha, YES to this post and YES YES to the Twilight puppet movie. Much better than the original!

     
  2. memsaab

    December 20, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    My favorite puppets are the “Sound of Music” goatherd and his sweetheart puppets 🙂

     
  3. ravi nair

    December 22, 2008 at 10:47 am

    The best puppet we have is Manmohan Singh. Just plain uninspiring. Now I also consider everyone who supports the Congress Party as puppets-why? Cause in a country of over a billion people, they have to lick a white woman’s behind and cannot find one qualified Indian, who can be a leader.

    The way she manipulates India and Indians to me is the best puppet show in the whole world.

     
  4. Amey

    December 22, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    But who pulls the strings of the puppeteer?

     
  5. Amrita

    December 22, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    P-PCC – isn’t it great? Pattinson and Stewart could learn a few things from them!

    Memsaab – omigod! How could I forget. This post must be updated!

    Ravi – well at least she’s good at something, which is more than can be said of most of her party. Or her late husband for that matter.

    Amey – why, who do you have in mind? 😉

     
  6. Doc Bollywood

    December 22, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I love puppets. I love Bollywood. I love Jaya Badhuri. I love Lata. I love the sound of dhols.

    And that’s why I love love LOVE this song 🙂

    (The lighting is a little dim but Jaya is the bride in this video)

     
  7. Nida

    December 28, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Aww, thanks for including the Sound of Music Puppets! They’re my fave too…

     
  8. Amrita

    December 29, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Doc Bollywood – omigod, I’d totally forgotten that song! Updating post!

    Nida – isn’t it wonderful how it holds up after all this while? Magic puppets!

     
  9. pitusultan

    December 30, 2008 at 11:56 am

    LOL Awesome!

     
 
