RSS

I’m in the Tank

04 Nov

one

In case you were wondering.

Today is perhaps the best moment of the entire, interminable U.S. election cycle – we don’t know who has won yet, but we know for sure that some things will come to an end tonight and we hope that better things lie in store for us. Tomorrow and all it has to bring can wait. A few things I found myself thinking about today:

Hillary Clinton – from eating crow over cookies to being featured in McCain robocalls. Talk about a bizarro world. I guess nobody cares about her chocolate chip cookies anymore. Who’s laughing now? But also, would Obama have done as well in the national campaign if he hadn’t had her for an opponent? There was more than a little truth to his joke at the Al Smith dinner about McCain running against a cross-dressing NYC mayor for his nomination.

three

My cousin, an American and a Republican-leaning swing voter, looking at his kids a few years ago and telling me how he wanted them to feel a bond with India because they’d always be outsiders in the country of their birth. And now they might well grow up watching a biracial man of Kenyan descent being addressed as Mr. President.

All the people who’ve campaigned (especially for Barack Obama’s tremendous GOTV operation) over the past many months. No matter who wins tonight, these are people who took “democracy” (a word that’s been tossed around like confetti for the past eight years and treated with about as much respect) and made it a part of their personal lives. They’re the reason I’ve enjoyed this campaign so much. Reading their accounts of what they saw on the ground, the people they were talking to, the people they were working with… I’ve enjoyed it all tremendously.

two

“I don’t trust him.” By far the most common refrain amongst those who oppose Obama but can’t really articulate why. And at some point, this Freudian slip seemed to become benign. An acceptable way to say, “He scares me for reasons I don’t wish to examine and wish you wouldn’t either.”

The future of conservatism. I’ve never been in favor of a toothless opposition, even if said opposition frequently sets my teeth on edge.

George W. Bush. Where is he? What happened to him? Can he stay there? Please?

end

All photographs from Callie Shell’s excellent Obama photo essay for Time.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2008 in Life, Personal, Politics

 

9 responses to “I’m in the Tank

  1. Orange Jammies

    November 4, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Oh thank you thank you thank you for the link to this fabulous photo essay! I’m loving it and praying hard the superstar makes it in a few hours.

     
  2. Amey

    November 4, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Driving or manning the gun?

    Sorry, that was a bit of Comedy Central flashback 😉

     
  3. sachita

    November 5, 2008 at 12:17 am

    he he ehe… he won & that’s all counts.

     
  4. Tania

    November 5, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Yay! Amrita, I voted for the first time and I am watching Obama’s speech right now and a bit overwhelmed.
    McCain was very gracious.
    My daughter seemed as thrilled as me when he was leading tonight.And I am proud to say I was a part of the GOTV for Obama.Maybe like the cousin of yours ,I am hoping for hope too for me and my child and hoping her to belong in a country which has treated me well most of the time and not so well a few times.
    Thanks for the post.

     
  5. Amrita

    November 5, 2008 at 2:24 am

    I cannot believe it’s finally OVER. And it ended this well. I feel like I won something. :mrgreen:

     
  6. Prasanth

    November 5, 2008 at 6:07 am

    🙂
    Share most of your sentiments.
    All I hope is that Obama does a decent job in the next 4(8) years. Else we will have a resurgent Palin-Jindal ticket in 2012. The horror , the horror!!!
    How I love being a killjoy! 😛

     
  7. M

    November 5, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Woohoo!! he WON!!

    Despite staying up (past my usual bedtime anyway :)) to see his speech, I am so stoked this morning!
    A great day…

    I must say, this time around, it seems like everyone at all levels got way involved in this election – my kids’ elementary school talked abt the election, about each candidate and their positions all month, and yesterday, held a mock voting session – the kids came home with “I voted” stickers. My kids said they voted for Obama because he was young, not a “thatha” like McCain 🙂

    M

     
  8. memsaab

    November 5, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Am.so.freaking.relieved that Obama has won. At least for four years we won’t be sliding backwards as we have been for the last eight! He has a hard row to hoe, but he can do it.

    And it frightens me *just* a little that he is the same age as I am. How did I ever get old enough to be President??? Not that it’ll happen, of course.

     
  9. complicateur

    November 5, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Did he knock that acceptance speech out of the park or what? My cynicism just slinks away when I hear him speak.

     
 
