RSS

What’s on TV?

28 Oct

Now that Mad Men is done for the season while Burn Notice is on mid-season hiatus and Lost won’t be back till early 2009, what’s everyone watching? I thought about it and I’ve come to the conclusion that I watch way too much TV. Here’s my list:

The Regulars


1. True Blood – Graveyard sex, “fangbanging”, vampires with southern accents, bloodthirsty junkies and more – I am obsessed with this show. I was never really into Buffy and I thought Moonlight and Blood Ties were both all right if unspectacular, but this one? I’m haunting the forums. My review here.

2. Dexter – He’s back! And he’s got more problems than ever! Sheesh, what’s a serial killer with nothing but the best intentions got to do for some peace around here? All America’s favorite psychopath wants is to take out the bad guys, neatly wrapped in plastic, where they can’t do any more harm… and now he’s got a ready-made family threatening to infringe on his personal space while President Santos wants to be his BFF. Things are gonna get good and messy.

3. Life – Why aren’t more people watching this show? Probably because it was wasting away in its Friday night spot. Thank God some genius at NBC finally saw the light and switched it to Wednesdays. Damian Lewis (a.k.a. the only red-headed man I’ve ever found attractive), Sarah Shahi, Adam Arkin and Donal Logue continue to be awesome at multiple things, like solving crime on the streets of L.A. while the layers keep peeling back on the central tragedy in Charlie Crews’ life.

4. Pushing Daisies – It’s not often that you come across a TV show that is literally like nothing else on TV. Sure, people throw that term about but when did it last apply? But I’ll admit I have this thing for quirky (some say cutesy but that’s because they lack a soul) which this show satisfies in both concept and execution. Why people aren’t watching this show, I don’t know. Especially when Kristen Chenoweth is in it. And Lee Pace, Anna Friel and Chi McBride, not to mention the scene-stealing Ellen Greene and Swoosie Kurtz, certainly don’t hurt.

5. House – Fifth year running! Now with House M.D. as a closet… cheerleader? Tee hee. My giant crush on Hugh Laurie shows no signs of abating.

6. Life on Mars – A commitment phobic cop from 2008 wakes up in 1973 and is either having a really detailed dream or is on a trip familiar to fans of (now canceled) The Journeyman. I understand the British original was better but really, Brit TV will have to wait till the summer for me to catch up coz I seem to have some time management issues. I don’t know if this show is going to last for a second season but I’ve decided to stick with it for this season. Jason O’Mara, Gretchen Mol and Harvey Keitel tipped me over. Let’s see.

The Rethinks

1. Bones – The writing on this show has never been its strong point but at least it was fun and the characters had great chemistry. Now everybody’s an asshole and the season premiere was the worst-written thing I’ve ever forced myself to watch. Blech. Of course, now that it’s in the crapper, its ratings are skyrocketing.

2. Grey’s Anatomy – Yeah, no more. I might catch up in re-runs.

3. Chuck – I want to like this show. And I do like it. Just not enough to actually watch it every week. Summer reruns are a definite yes though.

I’m considering replacing the above with Fringe and Breaking Bad.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2008 in Entertainment, Television, Video

 

20 responses to “What’s on TV?

  1. M

    October 28, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Heh – am I allowed to say I haven’t heard of most of these shows?! (Will I be banned from commenting from now on?) I only watch House, and that only occasionally – House himself gets on my nerves somewhat (yes, further blasphemy :))

    I do watch some mindless Indian channels, switching around the ones showing music-videos and the news….though those are probably gone from this month. Sigh. I *really* need a life 🙂

    M

     
  2. Pitu

    October 28, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I watch House ( ❤ Hugh ) and The Wire. In Indian tv, I watch Nach Baliye. Occasionally, I’ll watch old Sopranos reruns because I need my Chrissy Imperioli fix (drool).. and I watch a LOT of Food Network- Ace of Cakes, Alton Brown and Giada de Laurentis – which is hilarious because I am vegan :-p I also LOVE What Not To Wear – Stacy and Clinton rock! and sometimes I’ll catch Project Runway (how cute is Heidi?) It’s a bit boring though becoz I haven’t seen anyone who can rival Christian Siriano in sheer talent.

     
  3. Pitu

    October 28, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Also I LOVE Curb Your Enthusiam but they’re writing the next season 😥

     
  4. memsaab

    October 28, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    My love for Hindi movies leaves me with little time for tv! Pick your poison! but I must confess that I’ve gotten hooked on Gossip Girl. It’s like a good masala film, with villainous teens and glamorous sets and fabulous fashions. Sigh.

     
  5. sachita

    October 28, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I don’t see scrubs, the office, brothers and sisters and samantha who?(latest) in this list. So I guess I live in a parallel television universe.

     
  6. complicateur

    October 28, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Yea, seriously you dont watch “The Office” ?
    I love “True Blood” for obvious reasons i.e. the way it alegorically addresses the current political scenario What?!! I swear thats why I like the show 🙂 . And I LOVE Sarah Shahi, I seriously do. But even she couldn’t keep me interested in “Life”.

     
  7. anindianabroad

    October 28, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Oh True Blood! Tis truly truly addictive,

     
  8. ana

    October 29, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I am going to miss Mad Men, but I’m hoping to catch up with House again, because my desire for the Hugh is insatiable, and I am also very curious to see what Jeff Goldblum will be like on Law and Order: Criminal Intent, especially since the reason I began watching it again, Chris Noth, is gone. *sigh* I know I’m weird, but there is something about Jeff Goldblum. . . 😀

     
  9. Amey

    October 29, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Err, Major Casey likes (ok, “like” is a strong word, maybe “doesn’t hate”) Chuck and you still don’t?

    How can you avoid your weekly date with Sarah and Elliot (and Anna if you wish)? Or maybe for you, Capt. Awesome and John Casey? Or is it Jeff 😉

    My list includes (apart from Bones, Life and Chuck), The Office, Smallville, Numb3rs, NCIS and Stargate Atlantis. How did you miss The Office?

     
  10. M

    October 29, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Oh can I add that I do watch CSI: Las Vegas and law and order, any chance I get? Thankfully law and order seems to be on continuous loop on some channel and is the perfect accompaniment to dishwashing!

    M

     
  11. desiGirl

    October 29, 2008 at 10:58 am

    What? Grey’s Anatomy no more?? Noooooooo!!

    I LOVE House – yeah major Hugh Laurie crush. How about Heroes? Doncha like it? I thot season 2 sucked big time but they seem to have cleaned up their acts season 3-wise. Though I cannot wrap my mind around a good Sylar.

     
  12. Pitu

    October 29, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    M: OMG I totally agree! Watching Chris Noth in the old reruns while doing the dishes is very therapeutic 😀

    Ana: You are weird. Noth > Meloni > Goldblum.

     
  13. ana

    October 29, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Pitu: I celebrate my weirdness. 😀

     
  14. Gagan

    October 29, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    last summer had the full gamut of TV channels…was so happy but it had to end or else I would have never left the appartment ,

    for a time entertainment was it..dexter…life on mars, sugar rush. two pints of lager and a packet of chips, life on mars, durham county was my life.. had to end 😦

    house seen and he’s good for a laugh

    seen a bit of true blood and it looks good.

    bones- only watched the one where she wore a wonder woman costume….and try as I did could not look away… 🙂
    will have to check out the others!!

     
  15. Beth

    October 30, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Oooh someone else who likes Bones (and, yay, Numb3rs)! Apparently I have a soft spot for FBI shows (thanks to David Duchovny, of course). And what, no 30 Rock?!?

     
  16. Amrita

    October 30, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Okay, I’ll get the unpleasant info out of the way first. Are you ready to get your minds blown? One, two, three (deep breath): IDon’tWatchTheOffice.

    Go ahead, stone me in the marketplace. It won’t change a thing! I defy you! I should say I love everyone in The Office. I just don’t wanna see it.

    M – I really need a life Me too. Come let’s find one together. Also, my guilty pleasure is CSI Miami – esp if I have some liquor in my hand. Best. Show. Ever.

    Pitu – The Food Network has nothing to do with what you eat, it’s all about vicarious thrills. I don’t think I’ve ever tried a single FN recipe or tip except Alton Brown’s way of slicing a cake. And Heidi is tres, tres, tres cute!

    Memsaab – I loved the first season but since then all these other shows have kinda pushed it off my radar.

    Sachita – ah, you’re a network gal! I’m all about degenerate sex and violence these days and everyone knows that’s a cable activity!

    Complicateur – I think the second season is a bit less compelling than the first but I love it! I don’t think its destined for cult status but it’s pretty darn good. Unfortunately, I think it strikes a lot of people as blah. Sigh. Woe is me.

    AIA – I know! We should start a support group!

    Ana – hahaha, I’d forgotten Jeff’s taking over CI but I fear I have to go with Pitu’s order of things. Noth > Meloni > Goldblum. Although there was a moment in the 90s when I would have agreed with you.

    Amey – no, no I like Chuck! I just don’t love Chuck. I’ll catch up with it at the end of the season. I was so happy to see Capt Awesome on Mad Men, btw. Same goes for Numb3rs.

    DG – no no, relax! The series is still going on. I’m just off the train. I’ve forgiven that show a lot but I just can’t care any more. Not even with Kevin McKidd on it. 😦 And no, I can’t stand Heroes. It was badly written to begin with but the second season was a mess of epic proportions.

    Gagan – that was the best of the Season 3 episodes! At the end of that truncated season (writer’s strike) they went off the deep end and they’ve yet to regain their balance. And yes, I’d be a slave to my TV too if I gave in to my impulses.

    Beth – THANK you! I was just thinking, how come nobody’s mentioned 30 Rock yet? I’d clean forgotten about it. Which isn’t surprising because apparently nobody watches it on TV.

     
  17. Amey

    October 31, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    No Office? My opinion of your TV choice just dropped a bit.

    BTW, I didn’t mention 30 Rock because it started transmitting just yesterday.

    And what about Smallville? No superheroes for you?

     
  18. Amrita

    October 31, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Amey – 😦 Sniff. I like Smallville but it kinda slipped off my radar along with Supernatural after the first couple of seasons. Seriously, there is such a lot of a good tv around, they really have to bring their A-game if they want to keep the eyes.

     
  19. Aroon R

    November 22, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    havent started true blood yet.. saw dexter and ended up seeing the first 2 seasons in 2 days.. its brilliant and ya my all time fav is house.. hugh laurie rocks.. didnt quite like fringe.. and ya am yet to start wid mad men considering me being in advertising.. Oh ya burn notice and weeds were good too

     
  20. Amrita

    November 24, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Hey babe, what’s going on? You still blogging? Coz I lost your URL 😳 True Blood just had its finale and it is AWESOME!!! Check out Life on Mars as well. You might like it.

     
 
