RSS

Lost in Translation

22 Sep
Fiddle dee dee!

Fiddle dee dee!

This is Evangeline Lilly. She is a beautiful woman – downright gorgeous, in fact – and I like her even if she does date hobbits and annoys me endlessly on Lost.

But that is one fugly dress. If they made Gone With the Wind today, that is the dress Scarlett would make out of her mother’s dining room drapes. Which apparently proves I have no fashion sense. Sigh.

Of course, compared to some of the other attendees at the 2008 Emmy Awards, she was absolutely brilliant:

PS: Just in case you didn’t catch that last reference:

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2008 in Celebrity, News, Newsmakers, Television

 

7 responses to “Lost in Translation

  1. Pitu

    September 22, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Yuck. All that money, zero taste.

    If there is one red carpet gown that is seared into my brain by virtue of being OMG! MUST HAVE IT, SO FRICKIN AWESOME!!!!!! it is Michelle Williams’s yellow Vera Wang at the ’06 Oscars.

     
  2. A Cynic in Wonderland

    September 23, 2008 at 3:49 am

    Ohmigosh. Karishma and that song. The brilliant nineties. Why dont they make clothes like that in movies anymore? Im all nostalgic now.

     
  3. Banno

    September 23, 2008 at 5:52 am

    It would be a hard job looking fashionable and picking up the right dress, if it came to that, isn’t it? What would one choose? Big labels, big money, so just go with it.

     
  4. Amrita

    September 23, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Pitu – oooh, I remember that! I don’t even like yellow all that much but she was looked so gorgeous in that!

    Cynic – hahahaha!!! Glad to oblige!

    Banno – apparently some of them close their eyes and jab a finger in what they hope is the right direction.

     
  5. Kanan

    September 27, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    I seriously think they do it for the entertainment of the audience only. Plus, what do you do with so much money that you don’t know how to spend? Get some ridiculous looking dress. At least that way people still talk about you.

    That Karishma song has so many memories associated with it. My 2.5 yrs old toddler cousin chilling next to me while I watched the song on some desi cable channel one summer pointed to dancing Karishma and made a remark “jo ene chaddi nathi peri” (Gujarati) translated: look she’s not wearing any undies. LOL! you can imagine the look on my uncle-aunt’s and my faces. Priceless!

     
  6. Amrita

    September 28, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I think Phoebe Price at least did it for the attention. And plenty of people seem to have liked EL’s dress so who knows? The rest of them… yeah I have no idea what they were thinking. Nothing good would be my guess.

    LOL@ your cousin!!! I’d forgotten until I found the video that they had to change the lyrics to Baby Baby Baby. What innocents we all were! ūüėÄ

     
  7. elessar09

    January 11, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Is a nice woman, very beautiful… my last post have photos of her.

     
 
