RSS

Drona: Bringing Sexy Back?

01 Sep

Could it be? Was this even possible?

By my reckoning, Abhishek Bachchan was hot for one quick second. He’s always been likeable, as Main Prem ki Deewani Hoon Aur Sab ko Pagal Karne Aayi Hoon or whatever that Sooraj Barjatya directed nightmare was called, proved beyond debate. As the only cast member who walked away with his dignity (mostly) intact, no mean feat when Kareena Kapoor and Hrithik Roshan were going into paroxysms of emotion and almost willing every other actor on set to match them expression for grotesque expression, he had my hands down vote as a movie star. I mean, even the animated bird gave into the combined Kapoor-Roshan onslaught of bad acting but not the Li’l B.

But it’s one thing to be a safe zone in a sea of agony, entirely another to make one’s heart go pitterpat. This he accomplished sometime between Dhoom (the Original), Bluffmaster and Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna Even If I Can’t Remember Why Not. In the first, he was clearly on his way up but the mighty power of John Abraham’s abs would not be defeated, in the second he easily slew Ritesh Deshmukh’s puny charms, but by the third, he was already swerving off the stubbly goodness into plain ol’ unkempt.

And when he tried to clean it up a little, it got even worse, because he then plonked a hairband on his head. I owned one of those things in second grade and let me tell you, not only are those things a one way ticket to headache city, they’re also hideous. The only time I’ve seen them work is when Farhan Akhtar wore them and that’s because every time I see him, my hormones interfere with my eyesight and I’d take him in a skirt and a halter top, sipping a Cosmo with his pinky raised. (Wait! Let me think… um, yeah. I stand by that statement. Woe is me coz you know I just tempted fate.)

Anyway… so, Drona. The Hair, The Grim, The Fantasy, The Priyanka in Ass Kicking Mode. Could this be the return of Hot Abhishek? I likey. And then I read this:

Drona has been described as a Harry Potter meets Indiana Jones movie, but with an original story.

Erm. And saw these:

Uhhhhh. O-kayyyy. Well, Priyanka looks great.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2008 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Movies, Video

 

24 responses to “Drona: Bringing Sexy Back?

  1. rads

    September 1, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    I knowww!!! I saw ads of Drona and thoght “ohmy, does he look smoking or what!?’ and then I vaguely rememberd it could be the Hari Puttar thing. Ama little ticked off, but keeping fingers and toes crossed.
    The B4U ads do justice to him though ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Broom

    September 1, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    he was always sexy to me – till he married aishwarya.

     
  3. Amrita

    September 1, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Rads – hahaha, a little part of me would love to see him as Hari Puttar! There are things about the theatrical trailer that bother me, like the derivative theme music and the faces in the sand thing that’s part Mummy, part 1960s Odyssey production. But I’m cautiously optimistic even if that Kay Kay pic has seriously shaken me up.

    Broom – the fact he’s unavailable or that he chose to marry a known giggler? ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  4. Amey

    September 1, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Monkeycaps and sweater vests are sexy? You live to learn every day ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Now let me go back and look at Priyanka a bit more ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  5. narendra shenoy

    September 2, 2008 at 3:33 am

    You excel yourself!

    The missus and I saw him once in Juhu, Mumbai. I was driving and I nearly drove into the gutter, such was the intensity of the sqeal she emitted. While I have managed to get back to my life, the missus still sits on the window sill evenings, and sings silent melodies. Abhishek is definitely evil.

     
  6. Dewdropdream

    September 2, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Laughing @ Narendra’s comment ๐Ÿ˜€

    Yaar I find myself unable to appreciate celebrity eye-candy… it just seems pointless. A good movie and a good actor go together in my book, but a good actor being hyped because of his looks… just cannot seem to identify with that.

    I liked AB Jr in Antarmahal. Okay am outta here, I see I have nothing of importance to say anyway hehe ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  7. memsaab

    September 2, 2008 at 10:06 am

    He was likable, which kind of made him hot. Note the past tense. I don’t think his wife has done much for him—he’s somehow not likable any more, and maybe that isn’t fair, but life isn’t fair. He giggles and whispers with her. Ugh.

     
  8. memsaab

    September 2, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Forgot to say that this post is hilarious, Amrita. A safe zone in a sea of agony….

    Ha ha ha!

     
  9. pitu

    September 2, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    OMG it’s Shahenshah Junior and The Stripper!

    Hmph, I think I just summed up this movie :-p

    Ok, seriously, Aby hot? I agree with dewdropdream, he was in fact, likable in Antarmahal but that’s just coz the other men in that movie were

    1) Jackie Shroff burping during sex and
    2) voyeur priests

     
  10. Amey

    September 2, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    @Pitu: KK is a stripper? Since when? How do you know that?

     
  11. Kanan

    September 2, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Oh Amrita, I love love love love love Main Prem Ki Deewaani Hoon and everything about it!!! Thanks for talking about it. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Btw, I totally agree with the headache city. I threw away all mine and the ones I have are sitting on the dresser, forever!

    Speaking of the original story dude (a la lil B), I adored him in Regufee and of course in Munnabhai part II (for guest appearance) along with all the ones you mentioned. I haven’t watched Bluffmaster but I thought he was great in Tera Jaadu Chal Gaya too.

    One more month for the release! Looking forward to this one.

     
  12. Sindhu

    September 2, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    A very well-written post! I really like Abhishek Bachchan… he has a certain charm about him that doesn’t come naturally to others. And, of course, he’s very easy on the eyes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I like the way you described his progressions (and regressions) in this post; it made me laugh. I didn’t even know he was coming out with a new movie (well, since when did I try and keep up with Bollywood, which has a pace of its own!)… it looks interesting?

    P.S – I really like your blog. Mind if I link you?

     
  13. pitu

    September 2, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Amey: KK kaun hai? I was referring to Piggychops, who upon closer inspection resembles a dominatrix, rather than a stripper.

     
  14. Dewdropdream

    September 3, 2008 at 5:45 am

    I’d like to know who came up with the ‘piggy chops’ soubriquet… it’s utterly hilarious! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  15. Amey

    September 3, 2008 at 9:33 am

    @Pitu: The only photo with 2 actors I could see is Shehenshah Junior and Kay Kay, so it was natural I jumped to that conclusion ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Priyanka looks more like Lady Alladin to me. Or rather, sister of Prince Dastan (Prince of Persia game) or one of the characters from that game.

    @DDD: I agree. Every time I read that name, I am reminded of (chicken) drumsticks.

     
  16. Pitu

    September 3, 2008 at 9:38 am

    I think either Aby or Ritesh came up with that name during the shooting of Bluffmaster.

    Amey: I didn’t even SEE Kay Kay- all the golden kapde were blinding me. Dude, I so do NOT want to see KayKay strip. EWW!

     
  17. Dewdropdream

    September 3, 2008 at 10:51 am

    What would happen if Priyanka Chopra burst a vein at being called Piggy Chops?

    Piggy Chops would become Piggy Pops.

    hee hee!! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  18. pitu

    September 3, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    EWWW! Hahahahaa

     
  19. Sachita

    September 3, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    “my hormones interfere with my eyesight ” That is my case with Abhi baby. Apparently my best friend after watching the refugee trailor thought quite disgustingly that some loser somewhere is going to find this fellow attractive and the loser turned out to be me..

    But imagine who else is going to make a super hero look vulnerable, gawky and awkward, those qualities only Abhi can be bring it.

     
  20. Amrita

    September 3, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Amey – ewwww, NO! But that gold thingy with the drapes flowing is kinda cool, right? It actually looks better in fuzzy focus because then you can see how goldie it all is. This movie better be camp fun or else it’s gonna make Love Story 2050 look like an artistic tour de force.

    NS – I have heard of Mrs. NS’ devotion to Lil B before! It is teh famouz on the interweb ๐Ÿ˜€

    DDD – Don’t worry, I think AB is a looooooooong way from being hyped for his looks. And if he continues on his present path, it will be never. Doesn’t he know only pretty people are allowed to ugly themselves up? AB is interesting looking but he isn’t gonna get on any lists with Jaya B’s jowls on his face. I used to be a little more hesitant about the objectification of celebrity candy because I figured, hey they’re people too. Now that I’m older and meaner, I’m all bring it on!

    memsaab – lolz!!! not you too! Not that you’re wrong, something about Brand Bachchan, the Family that Works together, Earns together, puts me off.

    Kanan – hahahah, you’re welcome! I actually liked in Kuch na Kaho too, which was a borderline weird movie (in addition to being syrupy) because they both looked so young in it!

    Pitu/ Amey – Dominatrix, definitely! Although she looks good enough to be in the Prince of Persia game. I wonder how she warded off the fug that’s clearly afflicted AB and KK? You and DDD are making me want to see Antarmahal.

    Sindhu – the charm I can agree on! And he seems like a nice guy off screen too. I love the question mark you put after interesting. HAHAHA! And of course! thank you!

    DDD – it’s on the Bluffmaster rap song that Abjr sang. And Piggy stopped “popping” once she found her feet in the industry like all the other actresses ๐Ÿ˜€

    Sachita – awwwww!!! If he cleans it up a little bit and stops wearing a hair band I promise to give you company! I don’t think AB will look at “vulnerable, gawky and awkward” as compliments but I agree and I think yes, they make him more attractive ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  21. Amey

    September 3, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    @DDD: True. Piggy might even start “hopping” with anger ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @Pitu: I want new PoP starring Priyanka now…

    @Amrita: We don’t exactly have a stellar record when it comes to costume-fantasy dramas, but I am keeping my fingers crossed. And as I said, I want PoP game with Piggy Chops now.

     
  22. Beth

    September 4, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I have laughed and laughed at the Drona trailer, and these pictures aren’t helping any. But I’m with Sachita anyway – more please, pitter-pat, ooh and aah, etc. He does no wrong in my book. Fortunately I have never heard the spousal co-giggle of which Memsaab speaks. Urk. That might be enough to put me off.

     
  23. Amrita

    September 8, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Amey – gos, her nick sounds worse and worse the more I hear it ๐Ÿ˜€

    Beth – hee hee! I heard this is a time travel movie so it’s just getting better and better

     
  24. Amey

    September 8, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Yeah, I got carried away a bit with that. Do check out my post.

    I have found out that your posts and comments on them are a rich source of postworthy material.

     
 
