RSS

Bug Chasers

22 Aug

The things you learn everyday. Above is a sample ad (I don’t know if it’s gone out yet) from RAVE i.e. Revolt Against Virus Exchange targeting homosexual men between the ages of 18 and 30, specifically those called “bug chasers“. If you, like me, are hearing the term for the first time it indicates “a gay man who deliberately attempts to contract HIV by having unprotected sex with a man or group of men who are known to have the virus.”

To say this is one of the most disturbing things I’ve heard in my life (and ‘disturbing’ is kind of my end of the pool) is to put it mildly. But what bothers me even more is that this is the first time I’ve ever heard about such a thing.

I suppose it makes sense in one way because I can see how this would play into the hands of the anti-gay lobby but then the very existence of a gay person plays into the hands of those who oppose the LGBT community. You could adopt a starving child off the streets and bring it up to become a Nobel prize winning scientist who finds a way to end famines forever while cleaning up the environment and reducing crime – and there would still be people who think there’s something fundamentally perverted about you being a parent because you choose to sleep with someone of your own gender.

So in a time and age when Daniel “Harry Potter” Radcliffe’s mild case of clumsiness (Dyspraxia: A Motor Skill Development Problem) is making the headlines as a whole new disorder parents should be watching out for, why isn’t bug chasing front page news? (Rolling Stone being the sole exception with a honorable mention for Anderson Cooper as he discusses a documentary called ‘The Gift‘.)

More ads featuring tag lines such as “HIV+ Guys Get All The Attention and Support in Our Community” and “When I Turn Positive, I Can Bareback and Not Have to Worry” below.

click to enlarge

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2008 in Life, Video

 

6 responses to “Bug Chasers

  1. Pitu

    August 22, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Christ! How utterly bizarre. And how is this not more important news than Shiloh wearing *gasp* black?

     
  2. bollyviewer

    August 22, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Is this for real? There are actually people like that!!!! Its beyond *disturbing* – in fact I dont think there is a word in the language describing it! Why dont these “Bug Chasers” just take a gun to their head and put themselves and the world out of their misery?

     
  3. dipali

    August 22, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    This is scary. Yikes.

     
  4. memsaab

    August 23, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    oh this just makes me so sad…how is it that people never learn?

     
  5. Tazeen

    August 25, 2008 at 12:03 am

    shit, I am at a loss after reading this? I dont know what to say

     
  6. Amrita

    August 25, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Well, if it makes any of you feel any better, it requires a whole another level of delusion and psychological stress. But the fact that it exists and hardly anybody wants to talk about it, is what gets me.

     
 
