RSS

Linkity

14 Aug

  • Whatever happened to joan Osborne? There was a three month period (I think) in the 90s when she was all I listened to.

Suck it, haters!

Suck it, haters!

  • Yet again, the courts get something right – when a foreign national is concerned. It’s not that I’m against the courts working properly for the citizens of other countries who might be our guests but it makes a striking contrast when one sessions court awards the death penalty for rape and murder while another asks the victim to marry her rapist. An example followed again and again. And yet another acquits the accused because the victim had first eloped with him. Because, obviously, if you want to marry someone or think you want to marry someone then you have no right to say no.
  • Where’s Ram Gopal Verma’s labcoat?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2008 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Life, Music, News, Personal, Video

 

5 responses to “Linkity

  1. Beth

    August 14, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    I am laughing like a loon at “suck it, haters!”

     
  2. Sachita

    August 14, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Arrey, looks like atleast two of the cases you mentioned seems to be false cases set up by parents/guardians against love marriages.

    I think worst thing about Rape in India is the victim is considered the convict. Her life is doomed. We could make movies about/write about it, these things don’t seem to change.

     
  3. memsaab

    August 15, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Feel the love, Amrita….feel the love 🙂

     
  4. bollyviewer

    August 16, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    And I thought Dharmendra was the only 70s lead who cant shake a leg! Poor Mumtaz has to do all the shimmying by herself! 🙂

     
  5. Amrita

    August 21, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Beth – it was your mention of “dude” that made me think of it 😀

    Sachita – you mean the girl who eloped? I think the thing about rape laws in India is that the judges seem at perfect liberty to interpret the sentencing in any old way they wish.

    Memsaab – naheeeeeeennn! 😀

    Bollyviewer – I’m thankful for small mercies! I don’t think my eyes could have taken it!

     
 
