RSS

Sign of the Times

06 Aug

Have you seen those documentaries where they follow a bunch of Indian call center workers who’re all “Yay! I work for BPO! I make money! I take American job! I very happy! My mother eat food now!” when they’re in the office and then they go outside and they’re like “Dude, this sucks! My boss has garlic breath, my coworkers are idiots and the clients are whiny bitches. I’m saving my money so I can join the Shri Rangaswamy Chinnaswamy Krishnachetty Mudaliar All India College of Outer Pollachi and get that medical degree my mommy always wanted me to take”?

Hmm. Or was it just the one documentary on Discovery or something? Whatever. For a while there I couldn’t get away from them even if I shifted continents. Point being: it was a fascinating look through the call center looking glass and it made the point that while those people are happy to take home their paycheck, their job satisfaction is so low they’re often left wondering why Americans are so mad at these jobs shifting abroad when they suck so much.

How <i>you</i> doin'?

How you doin'?

But reading this post made me wonder if things have now reached the next stage where Indian companies are passive-aggressively trying to get rid of their American clients. I mean, millions of perfectly good English speaking people in India and all this company can offer is Yogesh (<–this guy) who writes the following:

Whose nose knows best? How good are you at smelling the things? Ok wait I don’t want your answer, just play this indoor board game and you are going to prove yourself. It carries various smells including peppermint, burnt rubber, cut grass, and the dreaded doggie doo doo. Aren’t that fun? ‘Big Kids’ too can enjoy and test their smelling power. For the first time, such a cool smell loving site comes up to you to drive you out with more creative indoor games, Entertain & Amuse!

“Drive you out with more creative indoor games” sounds about right, actually. Here’s an earlier post of his:

Are you bored of wearing your daily common used shoes? Than here is the change for you to be more stylish, especially at sea side. Wearing them you can scare anyone making them think about the footprints on the mud. This is going to amuse your children. Best of all, the funny toys site with dynamics imagination regarding the ‘DUCK FOOTPRINT TRAILN’ TRACKS’ has reasonable price to make you buy online. If you are fun loving person than give a look at this site.

Oh well, at least his readers find him cute. (Hey, don’t look at me – that’s what they said.)

 
24 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2008 in Life, Video

 

24 responses to “Sign of the Times

  1. Amey

    August 6, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Naah. Try as you might, “My mother eat food now” doesn’t capture the full essence of “Andhi behen aur budhi maa” 😉

     
  2. Overated Outcast

    August 6, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    … Shri Rangaswamy Chinnaswamy Krishnachetty Mudaliar All India College of Outer Pollachi ….

    You had me LMAO-ing at “Shri” …..

     
  3. pitu

    August 6, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    @amey- and majboor, lachar baap aka A K Hangal

    He reminds me of all those i’m-so-hot-yo-will-u-accept-my-frenship-and-more-on-roseda types *shudders* :-p

     
  4. OrangeJammies

    August 7, 2008 at 4:59 am

    I’m sorry, but…eh??? 😕

     
  5. Dewdropdream

    August 7, 2008 at 5:02 am

    Job satisfaction does seem rather low among the BPO industry employees. But well, it looks like an easy way to earn vast amounts… I think. Umm… what was that bit about Indian companies trying to get rid of their American clients? Didn’t quite get that.
    And allow me to plug something here… in the next few months Indian bookstores shall be stocking a book called ‘BPO-Sutra: Stories from every call centre’, it’s of a slightly chicken-soup for the soul format and is very entertaining and insightful. Watch out for it!

     
  6. memsaab

    August 7, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I’m always trying to get rid of my American clients.

     
  7. Amey

    August 7, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Oops, sorry. I meant “Andhi behen aur widhwa ma”. Anything else will not get you a room whose inhabitants have to take care not to hassle the inhabitants of the nearby shamshan (Got the reference?)

     
  8. Pitu

    August 7, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Andaz Apna Apna? 😀

     
  9. Jawahara

    August 8, 2008 at 6:39 am

    An excellent and very funny post, Amrita. And on the line of “my mother eat now,” my favorite dialog from Namak Halal comes to mind. When Om Prakash (daddu) asks Smita Patil’s character about her household and she looks coyly at him and says, “sirf mein aur mera andhaa bhai.” Lol….I am not sure if that trumps te andhi behen and widhwa ma but I like it because you can almost see poor Smita cringing at the lines. I feel for her.

     
  10. Amrita

    August 8, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Amey – LOL 😀 Andaz Apna Apna as Pitu says! Now I want to see that movie again!

    Pitu – Rose Day! hee hee, I kept thinking V-Day but I was like, no! not that! what was it? Rose Day it is!

    OO – You know what I’m talking about! 😀

    OJ – what, the post or what the guy wrote? They’re both kinda oblique, huh?

    DDD – cool, did you write it?

    Memsaab – well you’ll always have your Indian ones 🙂

    J – HAHAHAH! I forgot about that. But suddenly I can remember the look on her face as she says it. Talk about trying to keep a straight face.

     
  11. Gagan

    August 9, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    lol ( deep throaty cynical laughter) …love it ..have a friend who i would call in various western accents to complain about her accent and attitude…she in turn ranted in really really violent and graphic terms about the us supervisor of her BPO,, he had to go.. and he did .. lol 😀

     
  12. DewdropDream

    August 9, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    errrr nooooo…. but it’s a family association… soooo 😀

     
  13. burn the PPCC too

    August 10, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Saw this on Boing Boing as well.

    The readers are right. Yogesh is a stud.

    (So sue me!)

     
  14. narendra shenoy

    August 11, 2008 at 12:20 am

    Awesome! Both your post and Shri Yogesh. And the Ramagopalaswamy Chippalakatti Institute was brilliant.

     
  15. Amey

    August 11, 2008 at 9:56 am

    You don’t need a reason to see that movie again.

    Given the comments here, as well as on that blog, I have one burning question. Does “how you doin’?” work?

     
  16. Amrita

    August 12, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Gagan – lolz, I hope they were recording!

    DDD – you should review 🙂

    PPCC – nooooooooo!!!!! From Shashi to that?

    NS – When i get rich, I will name my first charity Institute “Ramagopalaswamy Chippalakatti Institute” in your honor. You’re welcome 😀

    Amey – only if you have a burning desire to get your face slapped :mrgreen:

     
  17. Amey

    August 12, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    So, once again given the comments, not unless you are on the other side of the monitor. Got it…

    Oh, and don’t forget the “Sri” part in your institute’s name. The “Sri” completes the name.

     
  18. Gagan

    August 12, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    yeah come to think of it,, the hectoring phone calls from me were on the record but her homicidal messages were all on chat,, gosh it was a set up.. and i fell right into it.. :0

     
  19. Saaki

    August 19, 2008 at 7:25 am

    Hahaha….lolz

    Good to be back to reading ur posts onceagain …

    Hey u folks forgot andha baap,widhwa maa ,berozgaar bhai…. 🙂

    Thinking about ” Sri……” reminds me of another equally competent candidate ” GaganRao BabanRao Dhole Patil Institue of Science and Tech”

    I guess both these names belongs to a diff league altogether. 😀

    I’m sure this guy put his picture up so that after being enthralled by his posts, one is bowled over with “kewl” attitude and wannabe stud look. 😛
    and that if i’m a girl i’d send him lovey dovey comments…

    LOLz

     
  20. Saaki

    August 19, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Amey-

    how u doin…..??? lolz

     
  21. Amey

    August 19, 2008 at 10:35 am

    @Saaki: If it works for Joey (and evidence says it really does), it should, by rights, work for us, right? Why this inequality?

     
  22. Amrita

    August 20, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Amey – “Why isn’t reality as awesome as fiction?” is a question great minds have pondered for years with no result. 😦

    Saaki – lolz, where you been? I bet he’s the Kishen Kanhaiyya of his village.

    Gagan – I now know who to call when I need to do something similar 😛

     
  23. Amey

    August 20, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Well, even if the reality was fiction, I would be Chnadler, and the prospect of occasional Janice for 4 years is not exactly “awesome” 😉

    BTW, what works then?

     
  24. Amrita

    August 21, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Depends on the girl and her age – but good manners and an ability to converse (talk AND listen) never hurt anyone.

     
 
