RSS

Monday is for Freaky Babies

07 Jul

These two poor children were born the other day to two idiots in their 70s who decided they absolutely needed a male heir. Since IVF doesn’t guarantee you a viable fetus on the first try, much less a viable fetus of a specific gender, I’m going to guess that their 70 year old insane mother went through a long and troubled process. In fact, they say it cost them their savings and I don’t doubt it.

Miracles don’t come cheap! Especially when perfected in a medical lab. Please teach your children.

Congratulations to the happy couple – you now have two infants to feed at two hour intervals, nappies to change (or wash since you’re probably too broke to afford disposable diapers after paying for those fertility treatments), and two of everything to buy. When they grow a little older, and you’re in your 80s, you’ll have to help them with their homework, make sure they don’t stay out too late or run around with the wrong crowd, and of course, pay for two of everything. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer couple, I’m sure.

Okay, so apart from the fact that those are the saddest looking little babies I’ve ever had the misfortune to behold (except, of course, for the ones who were born to mothers with addictions, etc) what exactly is my problem with a very personal decision taken by two adults? Nothing, I guess. It’s their money, their life and their body. They can do whatever they want with it.

And truth be told, of all the ignorant, stupid, downright cruel things that people do every day all over the world, I’m sure this wouldn’t even make the top ten. These are two people who grew up believing a certain thing (boys > girls) and when they got a chance to make their dreams come true, they took it and ran with it. From the looks of them they probably don’t get too many chances like that and in all probability won’t again. So good for them.

But it’s really hard to think that way when I see two little babies look like that.

Via DesiGirl

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2008 in Life

 

13 responses to “Monday is for Freaky Babies

  1. narendra shenoy

    July 7, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Ouch! What are the kids going to do when their parents kick the bucket, which should be any day now, going by average life expectancy in India? Ouch, again.

     
  2. Lee

    July 7, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Those parents won’t need to do any of those things. They have daughters to do that for them. Imagine how those women feel, for not being good enough for their parents.

     
  3. desiGirl

    July 7, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    What I don’t get is this: the raison d’etre behind this madness is for the male heir right? Some one to carry the name forward? Someone who’ll inherit their holdings? Well what holdings, now that everything that hasn’t been bolted down has been sold to make sure they are born?! And who’s going to look after the babies once these two kick the bucket? The same daughters deemed unworthy to be recipients of their expansive kaboodle, right? Right!

     
  4. memsaab

    July 7, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    I wonder how many girl fetuses were “rejected” before they got the boys.

    Poor little guys. I hope they grow up in a better world than their parents’…maybe if they are raised by their adult sisters they’ll have a chance.

     
  5. Sudeep

    July 8, 2008 at 5:23 am

    Very sad..
    i sincerely hope there are not many cases like this one in future.

    n literate ppl also want male heirs… lack of education not literacy.

     
  6. harini calamur

    July 8, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    sad. sad
    i wonder what will happen to the girl child ?

     
  7. BVN

    July 9, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Gross! thats what it is

    its sad too…

    but what about those frickin docs…dont they know?

     
  8. Amrita

    July 9, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    NS – I don’t think Mom and Pop have actually thought beyond the words “I want”.

    Lee – I also wonder what lessons their grandkids are taking away from this, you know? “Grandma and Grandpa sold everything they owned so they could have a male child.”

    DG – maybe they think they’re gonna live a long time or something? Lolz, i don’t know. I really don’t think they’ve thought it through or if they have then i think it must be a recent thing given the expression on their faces.

    Memsaab – I bet those girls have really low self esteem, having had to listen to their parents crib about having them. So I wouldnt bet on it šŸ˜¦

    Sudeep – oh, sure, isn’t Andhra Pradesh one of the biggest hubs of sex selection? They’re not doing too badly in the development area are they? Similarly Haryana and Punjab.

    Harini – I think she’s married and has kids of her own. Ew.

    BVN – I’d imagine they’re looking at the cash on the table more than any ethical concern.

     
  9. Amey

    July 9, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Err… is IVF illegal in India? I don’t think doctors can do anything except try and educate people. But if the “clients” want to go ahead, what can they do?

     
  10. Overated Outcast

    July 9, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Last Will & Testament of creepy old couple:

    “We hereby leave all our wealth, which includes 2 kilos of turpentine oil, I Bull rope and three buckets full of cowdung to our male child, whatevertheynametheloser. We also instruct whatevertheynametheloser to pay of all our debts even if that means having to serve as a manual labor in the rich moneylender’s farm from ages 5 to 55. We also instruct whatevertheynametheloser to go from village to village preaching the benefits of pregnancy and fatherhood at 80. We also want to be electronically cremated because having a boring, long funeral is so last year. We wish whatevertheynametheloser all the best and only regret having dying after he was three y.o.

    Have fun.

    Cheers,

    Creepy Old Couple”

     
  11. Pitu

    July 13, 2008 at 1:40 am

    I have never understood the whole ‘I must must must have an offspring from my loins’ thing, whether girl or boy. My close friend decided to have a baby and due to her age, had to undergo IVF. It is not pretty. At all. And I was like, just adopt? But no, I guess that’s not your own flesh and blood and also, what of the amazing, fantabulous, exceptional genes you have to offer the world? :-p Sorry for the sarcasm, I just don’t get it. And perhaps I sound like a shrew but I am sure you can find happiness with a girl baby, an adopted baby or even no baby. It’s all good.

     
  12. Amrita

    July 19, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Amey – no I don’t think so. But sex selection certainly is and I don’t know how they got a male heir without that.

    OO – You’re totally harshing their mellow šŸ˜€

    Pitu – This is so true! Thanks to caste and community considerations, most people I know are seriously inbred anyway, me included, so a little outside blood wouldn’t go amiss. I don’t think you sound shrewish in the least. I feel pretty much the same way. You want a baby and nature doesn’t want to cooperate? Well, go adopt one that would be glad to have you for a parent. In a country like India esp, there’re so many babies who could do with adoption. My cousin went through YEARS of IVF hell (and you’re not kidding on the hellish aspect of it) before she and her husband adopted a kid and now everything is roses. I know what I’m doing if I’m in that position.

     
  13. Pitu

    July 19, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Thank you, it is very refreshing to meet a sensible person after what seems like legions of the ‘let’s schedule sex for 2am when my egg is ready to be scrambled and if that doesn’t work we can get me pokey pokeyed in all these soft places’ kind.

     
 
