RSS

Movie Review: Thoda Pyaar Thoda Magic

28 Jun

Once, a very long time ago, there was a movie called Dushman, which starred Rajesh Khanna as a boorish truck driver who runs over a pedestrian. Said pedestrian was the sole breadwinner of his incredibly poor family, which includes Meena Kumari in a vile temper (understandable because of the whole widowed by drunk driver thing). Khanna goes to court and pisses off the judge who then sentences him to a punishment most unusual: instead of jail time or possibly death, Khanna will have to stand in for the man he killed and take over his responsibilities. “Oh noes!” says Khanna. “I’d rather be with the convicts than take this bullshit.” But the judge isn’t just any old judge – he’s Rehman and he’s badass. So Khanna is packed off to the village. Much melodrama and overacting ensues. My mother liked it very much. You can read about it in spoileriffic detail here.

Many years later, there was another movie. This one was about a frazzled young man called Aamir Khan who abruptly inherits three bratty but inherently lovable children (including cute little Kunal Khemu) and makes a grand mess of it until a bubbly young lady called Juhi Chawla cons her way into his house and teaches him the power of love or something like that. It was called Hum Hain Rahi Pyaar Ke and my cousin and I liked it very much although, I suspect, for slightly different reasons.

And long before all of this, there was this movie called Mary Poppins that won Julie Andrews an Oscar for Best Actress and Dick van Dyke the wrath of Cockneys everywhere for his slanderous accent. It was about this good fairy type person who steamrollers her way into a frayed household and settles things to rights with a lot of delightful special effects (sitting on ceilings! jumping into sidewalk drawings! saving cartoon foxes!) and singing (on London rooftops and to stuffed robins). Everyone loves this movie. I think it’s the law. If you say different the police might come to your house.

Stir all of the above together, press firmly to make it all fit, take it out into the sunlight and then beat the holy motherfucking crap out of it until it weakly cries for mercy. Top with some giant Ameeeeesha (sorry, how many e’s was that supposed to be again?) melons and serve cold. Voila!

You’re welcome.

PS: Other People’s Opinions.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2008 in Entertainment, Movies, Review, Video

 

14 responses to “Movie Review: Thoda Pyaar Thoda Magic

  1. Partho

    June 28, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    What’s queer is that you seemed to be waiting to pounce on this mushy mishmash and trash it soonest. Why, did you ever expect better from Kunal Kohli?

     
  2. narendra shenoy

    June 28, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I have, in my hand, four tickets to the movie Thoda Pyaar etc. Thanks to your timely tipoff, I have managed to negotiate a release and only three will be used.

    I owe you.

     
  3. Sudeep

    June 30, 2008 at 3:29 am

    ha ha.. i liked this post 🙂

     
  4. Amey

    June 30, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Not to be confused with “Thodi Life Thoda Magic” which apparently is just “Mr. Azad” 😉

     
  5. Sagarika

    July 1, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Amrita: That was such a laugh riot! 🙂 Here’s what I had to say to my friend Ramsu on his review of this Kunal Kohli blow up (and all b’cos Kohli didn’t get that blow job he was promised? God only knows what he was mad about.).

     
  6. Ramsu

    July 2, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Lovely, lovely review.

    I was discussing the Tamil version of Dushman with my friend on the way back from TPTM — I wasn’t sure if there was a Hindi version as well. Thanks for the info!

    I am sorely tempted to comment on the use of the word “melons” in the last paragraph, but in the interest of keeping my comment G-rated, I shall desist 😀

    ~r

     
  7. Amrita

    July 2, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Partho – Lolz, I guess I did! At least something coherent. Well, there went my day out. serve me right.

    NS – I live to be of service!

    Sudeep – 🙂

    Amey – man, that guy is going all out to get some publicity for his movie, huh?

    Sagarika – thanks for the link, I’m real glad to have found that site.

    Ramsu – Hey, any little kid who comes to this blog deserves an eyeful! Don’t stop on my behalf! I can’t believe they dressed her like a skank and called it a kiddie movie.

     
  8. Shantanu

    July 4, 2008 at 4:58 am

    Ha ha! “Top with some giant Ameeeeesha melons”…poor Amisha; she wasn’t the problem! It was the other ingredients in this concoction…they just weren’t fresh; they had gone stale. 🙂

     
  9. Amrita

    July 4, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Shantanu – I think this was probably her best perf after Honeymoon Travels. unfortunately, both roles make me want to push her off a ledge. At least her melons are full of acting ability!

     
  10. Pitu

    July 13, 2008 at 1:55 am

    Why did she squeeze her neechu ka melons into those dadi amma chaddis? Must have hurt, no? :-p

     
  11. Amrita

    July 14, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    neechu ke melons? HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! also, EWWWWWWW!! Amisha’s neechu ke melons = Do NOT WANT

     
  12. Pitu

    July 14, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Want or not, here they come. Hahahahahaahaa

     
  13. Amey

    July 15, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    That “here they come” comment has put an image in my head, of Amisha backing up like a truck in reverse. Although she is not as big as that by any measure.

     
 
