RSS

On Gerald Durrell

05 Jun

If you were to place a gecko in front of me, I’d probably scream, jump up on something, and cuss you out until you took the damned slimy thing out of my sight. And as you took it away from me, I’d jump up and down and screech “Kill it! Kill it! Kill it!” with a vim perhaps unseen since the French sent their aristocrats to the guillotine.

Nothing personal against geckos. They’re very cute in that ad. It’s just that I do not like little things with wings, bulging eyes, multiple legs, antennas, slime trails, sticky tongues, the ability to walk on walls, tentacles, etc. Especially the ones that lay eggs and can regenerate body parts. They might be fine and necessary for the food chain but I prefer it when they’re not participating in the food chain right in front of me.

So how ironic is it that the one writer I love above all others, the hero of my childhood and the inspiration of my adulthood, the man who never fails to amaze me or make me laugh, is Gerald Durrell?

All too often, when one grows up, the delights of one’s childhood turn out to be “less”, if you know what I mean. Your childhood house is a lot smaller, the fields are a lot less green, the people who towered over you shrink overnight, the trees don’t really kiss the sky, the flowers don’t smell as good, the fruit isn’t as sweet, the animals are annoying instead of cute, the folks who slipped you contraband candy are now nosy-parkers, airplanes are a source of aggravation… adulthood can be a disappointing experience.

So I was delighted to find that Durrell, like the Asterix comics, only improved on acquaintance.

Rosy is My Relative, the zany tale of a bumbling clerk with grandiose fantasies who inherits a dashing lady elephant with a taste for gin (or any booze, really), can still make me laugh until I run crying for the bathroom holding on to my aching abdomen. No, it doesn’t give me diarrhea (ew) – it makes me tear up with laughter and want to pee. I’m telling you, the thing is extreme.

And I sometimes think I could read the Corfu trilogy (My Family and Other Animals, Birds Beasts and Relatives, and Garden of the Gods) all my life and discover new things to appreciate in every reading.

According to those who knew him best, he didn’t really think of himself as a writer (the acknowledged writer in the family was elder brother Lawrence) and only picked up pen and paper when he either had nothing better to do or needed some cash to further his true love: the establishment of zoos that would see conservation as one of their primary goals. I’m just glad he had occasion to write at all.

Consider this excerpt from My Family and Other Animals where he discusses the musical if unfortunate looking pigeon Quasimodo, acquired from a vagrant (and occasional specimen supplier) he only ever identifies as the Rose Beetle Man:

One sad day we found, on waking Quasimodo, that he had duped us all, for there among the cushions lay a glossy white egg. He never quite recovered from this. He became embittered, sullen, and started to peck irritably if you attempted to pick him up. Then he laid another egg, and his nature changed completely. He, or rather she, became wilder and wilder, treating us as though we were her worst enemies, slinking up to the kitchen door for food as if she feared for her life. Not even the gramophone would tempt her back into the house. The last time I saw her she was sitting in an olive-tree, cooing in the most pretentious and coy manner, while further along the branch a large and very masculine-looking pigeon twisted and cooed in a perfect ecstasy of admiration.

Only to transition smoothly and beautifully to the following just one paragraph down:

The last time I saw the Rose-beetle Man was one evening when I was sitting on a hill-top overlooking the road. He had obviously been to some fiesta and had been plied with much wine, for he swayed to and fro across the road, piping a melancholy tune on his flute. I shouted a greeting, and he waved extravagantly without looking back. As he rounded the corner he was silhouetted for a moment against the pale lavender evening sky. I could see his battered hat with the fluttering feathers, the bulging pockets of his coat, the bamboo cages full of sleepy pigeons on his back, and above his head, circling drowsily round and round, I could see the dim specks that were the rose-beetles. Then he rounded the curve of the road and there was only the pale sky with a new moon floating in it like a silver feather, and the soft twittering of his flute dying away in the dusk.

It’s this mix of eloquent prose, his ability to paint landscapes with words (the hardest thing to do in my estimation) and populate them with personalities both human and animal that bring me back to his writing again and again.

Although it doesn’t hurt that his writing pretty much personifies my sense of humor. There’s this scene in Garden of the Gods, where young Gerry convinces his gun-mad elder brother Leslie to shoot him a few birds to feed to one of his many pets. Leslie decides to shoot enough critters to suffice the pet for a week at least. The brothers solemnly make their way to the terrace of their villa and proceed to pick off the smaller birds one by one until Gerry is satisfied. Except, when they make their way down to collect them, there’s their mother sitting frozen in the middle of the killing field – with the members of the local animal protection society.

Just imagining that scene makes me scream with laughter. (I know what you’re thinking, but it’s a lot funnier to read his version. I promise.)

And that’s another one of the things that makes me love Durrell even more. Unlike a lot of people who go about talking animal rights, not only did Durrell walk the talk, he did it without any kind of sentimentality or preaching. There is no holiness about his beliefs, nothing that suggests he’s a better person than you or I for caring about the animals who share this planet with us; he didn’t wave placards in your face or counsel you to turn vegetarian (quite the contrary in fact).

Books like The Stationary Ark make the case for conservation and better standards for zoos from a rational and compassionate standpoint without ever crossing over into fanatic zeal. He was, in the simplest of terms, cool about it. And yet he cared so much.

“The zoo has been enormously successful,” he told a visiting reporter in the mid-1980’s, “but not successful enough in the sense that it is such slow progress. You have to grope around for money and persuade governments and every year you read more horrible reports of what is being done to the world about us. The world is being destroyed at the speed of an Exocet and we are riding about on a bicycle. I feel despair twenty-four hours a day at the way we are treating  the world and what we are piling up for ourselves. But you have to keep fighting, or what are we on earth for? I believe so much in what I am doing that I cannot let up.”

Above pic from Durrelliana

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2008 in Books, Entertainment, Review, Video

 

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “On Gerald Durrell

  1. M

    June 5, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Amrita,

    You must be the ONLY person I know to have read Durrell! I LOVE his books -started when one of his books was our set-book for English in 8th std. Read through ALL of them and yes, they are absolutely fantastic. His last books, with his second wife, Lee, are somewhat lacking though. My absolute Favourite of his books has to be Three Singles to Adventure, though – I LOLed so much through that book, I still can’t read it in public.

    I read Lawrence Durrell after Gerald, and while I like Lawrence’s books on Corfu and Croatia, his Alexandria quartet left me cold…

    M

     
  2. Pitu

    June 6, 2008 at 1:50 am

    OMG Another Durrell fan! I have read ‘My Family and Other Animals’ like 20 times although I love all his books. I actually went to Corfu just to see the Strawberry villa. I also visited the house where Larry lived. If you send me your email addy, I can send you a pic taken outside Larry’s house (you’re not allowed to go there but I maska maroed the security guy)

    Gerry was an amazing human being 🙂

     
  3. dipali

    June 6, 2008 at 3:21 am

    Oh, Gerald Durrell was just so much fun. Rosy was one of the most completely loony and totally fun books ever.
    And of course his mad family and all the other creatures in all the other books. I really loved his mother and his descriptions of her cooking. GD, you are GREAT!!!!

     
  4. Dewdropdream

    June 6, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Gawd, I haven’t known anyone who read Gerald Durell and your post inspires a whole bunch of them to pop up!! I’ve only read My Family and Other Animals and loved it to bits!! I know what I should take to reading now… was pretty bored of the trash available on the market these days.

    The other such author whom I absolutely adored was James Herriot… his tales are restricted to his veterinary practice but rival Durrell’s in humour!!

     
  5. Pitu

    June 6, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Dewdropdream- I am currently reading All Creatures great and small 🙂

     
  6. Chevalier

    June 6, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    OOh, I LOVE Geral Durrel!! I’m the same, I hate having to interact with animals, would rather read a book than tak a walk in the Great Outdoors, Durrell’s therefore where I derive my vicarious ‘outdoorsyness’ from.

    I remember the part in My Family where they’ve just reached Greece and his sister uses the already-used toilet paper :-)…funniest example of toilet humor Ever.

     
  7. Rada

    June 7, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Amrita,

    Very nice post.

    Sorry to nitpick but, the elephant Rosy was fond of cherry brandy, not gin, as you have mentined!

    🙂

     
  8. Amrita

    June 8, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Woo hoo! Durrell lovers! 🙂

    M – well now you know four other people! I read Prospero’s Cell and I thought it was interesting but Gerry got me when I was young so no contest. I agree @ Three Singles to Adventure: I made the mistake of taking it on a plane once and everybody thought I’d escaped from the looney bin.

    Pitu – you lucky lucky woman! I keep telling people Corfu is where we should go but nobody will come with me. i’m waiting to get married so I can choose it for my honeymoon. Sending an email.

    Dipali – the thing that makes me love his mother the most is that she apparently drank champagne all throughout her pregnancy and GD would tease that his love of the sparkly (and subsequent alcoholism) was on her. Plus her note to him to mention specifically that she was widow coz “one never knows what people might think”. hee hee hee.

    Dewdropdream – I love james Herriot too! But in a different way: he kind of gives me that warm fuzzy feeling I get when reading Anne of Green Gables except he was for real. But GD just makes me scream with laughter.

    Chevalier – I know: I feel like I’m living vicariously through him! And I totally agree the toilet paper gag was delirously funny. I heard Margo wasnt all that thrilled with her portrayal in the books. I wonder why. 😀

    Rada – nitpick away! It’s been a while since i read it but as I remember it, gin was her drink of choice but she got her trunk on cherry brandy at the inn and made off with it. An equal opportunity boozer, that’s Rosy!

     
  9. Dewdropdream

    June 9, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Pitu: Yay!!! I’m itching to read more Herriot and Durrell right now 😀

    Amrita: Anne of Green Gables??!!! You have NO idea how elated I am to hear you read that, because NO one in my immediate circle has ever read that book and just cannot understand how dear it is to me!! I do believe I have found a kindred spirit in you!!

     
  10. Dewdropdream

    June 9, 2008 at 5:40 am

    P.S: I recently wrote in a job application that my personal hero was GD. Because he was adventurous, humorous, wrote well, explored so much and made such good use of his life, contributing so much!! I mean to go and visit the zoo he set up in Jersey sometime real soon 🙂

     
  11. M

    June 9, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Pitu,

    Another AoGG lover here. I’ll admit some of her books almost gave me diabetes, but the first 5 are wonderful.

    M

     
  12. Pitu

    June 10, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    M, It’s not me that is the AoGG lover, it’s Amrita. My best friend is obsessed with it and she even owns the dvd of the series (it was shown on Canuck tv apparently) which she zabardasti made me watch lol. Somehow I just never got into that stuff.. Regarding GD, I grew up in an animal mad family (my father taught me how to bottle-feed and toilet train orphan kittens) so I really understood where GD came from and one of my fondest memories is scouting our immense backyard for mushrooms with my dad’s expensive magnifying glass.

    Amrita, Didn’t get your email,may have landed in my spam. Also, you’ll be shocked how much Corfuites know about GD. Our taxi wallah showed us his house, the library he went to, and several GD spots mentioned in the books. I actually went to the main town square and ordered ginger ale and lime and drank it while watching a cricket match. It’s unbelievable how authentic book was, because Corfu was exactly how he has described.

     
  13. Amrita

    June 11, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Dewdropdream – i’ve read the entire series and I love them all. Although M is right, some of them don’t stand up to subsequent scrutiny but i love them anyway. I’ve also read her other work and they’re all the same story but they’re so sweet and heartwarming and nice and… sigh. now i want to read one.

    M – in addition to me, there’s also DewDropDream. Although i must confess to an odd love for Rilla of Ingleside. I think it’s because I couldn’t find it for a really long time and when i did, i was so happy.

    Pitu – will send again. I guess he’s the guy who put Corfu on the map – as well as his brother and Shakespeare I guess. 🙂 Oh man, I really, really want to go!

     
 
