RSS

Metapost

25 May

So here’s something you didn’t know: blogging helps me unwind. Alternatively, it can help me limber up. You know how those health nuts say exercising their various body parts makes them feel like a million bucks and leaves them energized (yeah, I don’t know what they’re talking about either – my mother got me yoga classes last year and it left me more flexible and this close to death by exhaustion. Freaks.)? Well, writing for the blog makes my writing muscles feel happy and relaxed and ready to model for the swimsuit edition of Sports Illustrated. Yup.

Plus, it allows me to rationalize all the time I spend on the net as “research” but let’s not digress.

The point is that I sadly find myself in a situation now where I can’t spend as much time trawling the net as I like or writing long posts on the fly – the two things that make me most happy. This really sucks because I usually have a couple of ideas percolating in my brain on any given day and these past few days it’s been extra hard not to sit down and let it all out (thanks a bunch, Mad Momma) but sometimes you just have to leave the cake on your plate.  Until you can find the time to pop it back out of the fridge, that is! So I’ll still be here every few days, just not as often as before.

It’s only for a month or so but I figured netiquette demands I let the regulars know that I’m not spazzing on you because I’ve grown tired of your grumpy smileys.

Awww, don’t you feel special? That’s because you are! :mrgreen:

PS – Yes, I know the song is kinda molesterific but all that talk of Dev Anand and Kishore Kumar had me jonesing for a song. And you’ve got to admit, that’s a pretty nice song if not entirely appropriate. Also, for those who asked at the time: HBO’s John Adams will be out on DVD June 10th. Enjoy, all piracy-averse, HBO-less lovers of American history and good television. Plus, the one movie I totally, rabidly want to see this year is Charlie Kaufman’s directorial debut starring Phillip Seymour Hoffman: Synecdoche, New York.

PPS – It’s at moments like these I wonder if I should Tumblr. But then I remember how unbearable I find short bursts of prose, not to mention being connected to people, and decide a postscript on a regular blog post will serve me just as well. Just in case you wondered.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2008 in Personal

 

16 responses to “Metapost

  1. OrangeJammies

    May 25, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I didn’t know you find short bursts of prose unbearable. 😦 Good thing I shut down then.

     
  2. OrangeJammies

    May 25, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Wait. Now that I have your picture, I can use it to threaten you into getting on here every day. Hyuk, hyuk, hyuk, ooooh how I love me! 😀

     
  3. dipali

    May 25, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    The long and short of it is that you and your posts will be missed. Nice of you to tell us of variable frequency of posting. @OJ, please ditch Yahoo and get back to us. Missing ya.

     
  4. narendra shenoy

    May 26, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Going away, are you? Hope it’s something enjoyable. Every now and then I find myself in a similar situation – only, it’s not me thats gone away, it’s my brain. I’m rattling my head and nothing comes out. Sorry, bud, on vacation, says the post-it inside.

    Lovely song, by the way. I will practice crooning it for misssus who returns from mayka on 30th May.

     
  5. Gagan

    May 26, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    what a relief. won’t do my head in every other day trying to understand the Indiequill world view. only a month. not enough time to recover but will have to do.

     
  6. Sujatha

    May 27, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Such good manners Amrita. Much better than mine! 🙂

     
  7. Amey

    May 28, 2008 at 9:41 am

    (Writing) muscles on Sports Illustrated cover… Now that’s an image. :grumpy smiley:

    Continuing, here’s another one: writers on Sports Illustrated swimsuit cover. Ouch!

    Yeah, that wasn’t a good thought to leave in our heads in your absence.

     
  8. Amrita

    May 28, 2008 at 11:11 am

    OJ – you’re so evil, we must be related! 😀 and no, I didnt mean short prose in other people, silly, I meant in me! You should just take the plunge and get yourself a proper blog already, like Dipali says.

    Dips & Suj – My mummy is very proud of me, lolz!

    NS – well, it is sort of enjoyable. All shall be revealed by the by. 🙂 So your brain is on vacay? You seem to do wonders on autopilot!

    Gagan – you dont love me? Sniff. 😦

    Amey – Argh! the pictures! My eyes! No, but seriously, there is a reason why writers are so doughy. Writing makes you hungry. You’re brain is all starving coz its worked hard and wants a treat – unfortunately it all goes straight to your tummy. Sadness.

     
  9. OrangeJammies

    May 28, 2008 at 11:32 am

    I had a proper blog!!! It was perfectly proper, thank you very much. I even gave it a proper burial. Sniff.

     
  10. Gagan

    May 28, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    oho.. never mind the negative tone. just got tired of the smiley faces. wanted to try the Evylan Waugh style of compliment ( Graham Greene said he only said nice things about his friends behind their backs- love that line). probably not a great style to adopt and yeah doesn’t suit me at all. Your frequency will be sorely missed . 🙂

     
  11. Amey

    May 29, 2008 at 10:02 am

    And that goes to the top of my list of reasons why I should be a writer 😉

    Incidentally, I am not talking about Paris Hilton or Madonna as authors. I am talking about “author” authors…

     
  12. Amrita

    May 30, 2008 at 10:37 am

    OJ – if you’re into super secret underground movements, yes 😛 Come live out in the open with the rest of us!

    Gagan – that IS pretty neat! although you’d have to like him a lot to put up with him 😛 Me, i only say things I don’t mean. So don’t sweat it.

    Amey – neither was I 🙂

     
  13. Amey

    May 31, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Then again, that won’t be a bad swimsuit issue, right? 😉

     
  14. Amrita

    June 2, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Amey – what, the one with you on it? narcissist! 😀

     
  15. Amey

    June 2, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Well, till the time I “make” it as an author, I am ready to share the space with others I mentioned, or any other “authors” people would like to see with me. I am a practical celebrity, you see 😉

     
  16. abeftster

    August 3, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Very nice!!

     
 
