RSS

Somebody Help?

20 May

Pretty please? There’s this Zeenat Aman song that’s been teasing my brain for the past few months and no matter what I do, I can’t bring it into focus. So I figured one of you movie mad people might know. Here’s what I know about it:

  • It’s definitely Zeenat Aman.
  • She’s on a train.
  • She’s wearing a bottle green sari that keeps flying in the wind in that very sexy Zeenie way.
  • She’s cavorting with someone – Rajesh Khanna? Dev Anand? Somebody who’s totally overshadowed by her sexiness. Not Amitabh Bachchan – on bales of hay being transported on the train.
  • The song is about them running away from home, which fits because they’re in one of those goods wagons with no roof.
  • It’s shot in daylight or maybe late afternoon, but definitely not night time.
  • There’s a lot of making out (but of course).

And that’s it. I can’t remember a single lyric of the song or the tune or even her co-star much less the name of the movie. For all I know, this is a movie that I know very well and have seen a million times but I just can’t put the visuals in their proper context. I also think the song might have been composed by RD Burman with the male vocals by Kishore Kumar (yeah, that really narrows it down, doesn’t it?) – but as far as i can make out this is because I remember hearing it on a compilation album when I was a wee kiddie and I automatically assumed it was an RD-Kishore compilation for reasons I don’t understand. I guess that means this last may not be a clue at all. Sorry.

Any help in identifying this song and putting me out of my misery would be greatly appreciated. Oh, and I want to say that NO! I did NOT confuse Rishi Kapoor and Padmini Kolhapuri with Zeenat Aman and her unknown hero, so please don’t tell me it’s O Kanchan. As it is, it keeps popping up in my head when I try to think of this song. Argh, make it stop! Momm-eeee!

Update

Q: Who has the most awesome readers on her blog?

A: Me. 😳

It is indeed Hum dono do premi from Ajnabi, starring Zeenat Aman and Rajesh Khanna. Music by RD Burman, vocals by Lata Mangeshkar and Kishore Kumar. Zeenie wears a green blouse with a green-blue striped saree that flutters sexily in the wind on a train piled high with hay. There is a lot of making out.

Many thanks to Rada, Prasun, Ana, Silvara, Harini, Neha and Rads.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2008 in Entertainment, Movies, Music

 

16 responses to “Somebody Help?

  1. OrangeJammies

    May 20, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Sigh. The trauma some of us go through. 😛

     
  2. Chevalier

    May 21, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Jiya oooo, jiya o jiya kuch bol do???
    Or am I just so off I should fall off the planet?

     
  3. Prasun

    May 21, 2008 at 1:47 am

    हम दोनो दो प्रेमी

     
  4. ana

    May 21, 2008 at 1:53 am

    are you thinking of hum dono do premi duniya choRh chale, with rajesh khanna. the movie is ajnabi.

    kaka and a bad hair day again. . .

     
  5. Rada

    May 21, 2008 at 2:33 am

    Let me put you out of your misery!

    The song is “Hum Dono Do Premi Duniya Chod Chale” from the movie Ajanabee, released in 1974.

    And you are right: It is Rajesh Khann and Zeenat Aman.

     
  6. neha

    May 21, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Damn! Rada got to it before I could. Yep, the song is Hum Dono Do Premi..

     
  7. harini calamur

    May 21, 2008 at 4:27 am

    enjoy

     
  8. Silvara

    May 21, 2008 at 5:25 am

    Found it darl –

     
  9. rads

    May 21, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Here you go!

    Boy, such making out with abandon too! 🙂

     
  10. ana

    May 21, 2008 at 9:45 am

    chevalier,

    you’re off by almost a decade. that was dev anand and asha parekh in jab pyaar kisi se hota hai.

    and you should stay on the planet. 🙂

    and amrita, are you not reading emails these days? 🙂

     
  11. Amrita

    May 21, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Thanks guys! you rock, all of you!

    Chevalier – hey, it was a good guess, even if out in deep space 😀 And Dev Anand – Zeenie baby, I can see the connection.

    OJ – you’re a beast. and i love you for it!

    Ana – i finally checked it!

     
  12. dipali

    May 22, 2008 at 1:13 am

    I’m most impressed with all these good people! WOW- they are truly amazing. I’m fairly clueless about movies of that zamaana, and generally belong to the watch, enjoy, forget details variety.

     
  13. sachita

    May 23, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I should have read this couple of days ago, I would have got it right, too! Thanks to DD and my parent’s no cable rule, I got to watch the movie.

    Anyway, there is this dev anand song I have been searching for a long time. He would be in a train and be singing about uparwallah, kind of also meaning the person in the uparwallah berth.

    The movie name might be starting with Kaala..

    Do you know that song?

     
  14. Amrita

    May 25, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Dipali – aren’t they pretty amazing? 🙂

    Sachita – let that be a lesson to you, miss, to come visit my blog more often! lolz.
    Um, the Dev Anand song: was it in Black and White? He acted in two movies with “Kaala” in the title: Kaala Bazaar and Kaala Pani. These are two of his earlier movies. The train song in Kaala Bazaar might be the one you’re looking for:

    There’s also this song from Solva Saal, once more with Waheeda Rehman:

    Lemme know!

     
  15. sachita

    May 28, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Thanks a bunch, It was the first one:)
    the second one is quite famous, i think anyway.

    A daily visit to your blog is a must anyway:)

     
  16. Amrita

    May 30, 2008 at 10:41 am

    yay :mrgreen:

     
 
