RSS

5 Little Insights

22 Feb

(Above NSFW)

Insight is right! I really need to stop posting so much. Jawahara and then Anindita tagged me for the following:

Post 5 links to 5 of your previously written posts. The posts have to relate to the 5 key words given (family, friend, yourself, your love, anything you like). Tag 5 other friends to do this meme. Try to tag at least 2 new acquaintances (if not, your current blog buddies will do) so that you get to know them each a little bit better.

And you know what? You really will know me a little better by the time you finish reading this. As I reviewed my posts over the past year, I was rather irrationally taken aback when I noted the revelatory nature of some of the stuff I’ve written. ‘Irrationally’ because I did write it in the first place. But it’s done that thing that prose does sometimes – changed its nature to take on deeper shades as time has passed. Or maybe this whole thing is in my mind? I mean, it’s pretty tame compared to some of the stuff that I’ve read elsewhere and I think I’ve managed to stay off the journal entry turf, but…

Anyway, here’re my five:

Family – This is the post about my mom. It’s also (probably) the most personal thing I’ve put on this blog. In fact, I think I wrote this for a memoir class a few years ago and never turned it in for some reason or the other. Too sentimental, I think, was my feeling.

Friends – This one is difficult. I try really hard not to write about my friends because quite apart from my own rules about writing journal entries, they’re people who might want to pursue an internet life of their own and it wouldn’t be fair on them for me to keep writing about them. Also, at least three of my close friends have been harassed by annoying stalker type wanna-be boyfriends and I really don’t want to put out any information out there that might end up in some creepy hands. Sounds paranoid but it might be worth it in the end. But I’m okay sharing this post.

Myself – Do I have to? *grumble grumble* Okay, here’s one from years ago that I posted on IndieQuill a while back.

My Love – The only love that I’ve ever written about (as personally experienced by me) is my love for books. I guess that’s not what you’re looking for? Right. How about a short story then? I’ll give you two. Here’s a crowd pleaser and here’s something darker.

Anything I Please – Oh, thank God. I vote Bollywood! It makes everything magically better!

And now, for some linkety links, I tag: Tanay, Amey, Ammar, Aspi (whom I’ve incidentally never seen do a tag but thought I might as well give it a try) and Gaurav. Gentlemen, the floor’s yours.

PS – Chris Rock is performing from Never Scared.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2008 in Personal, Video

 

6 responses to “5 Little Insights

  1. عمار - aMmAr

    February 23, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    hahaha 😀 man i luv Chris Rock!

    thanx for sharing these selected posts with us.

     
  2. Jawahara

    February 23, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    About time!!! You took long enough 🙂

     
  3. Amrita

    February 24, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Ammar – I love him too! your turn now 🙂

    J – 😳 I have a new rule, only one tag per week so I was just doing ’em as they caught up with me.

     
  4. Gaurav

    February 26, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Thanks for the tag!…finally managed to do it! 🙂

     
  5. Amrita

    February 27, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Thanks for doing it Gaurav!

     
 
