RSS

Uno Hot Dog

13 Feb

It’s the year of the Beagle!

Chalk one up for personality and melting brown eyes. Beagles: they’re noisy, sweet, beautiful (look at those ears! And those paws!), live a very long time and need homes. Now they’re also blue ribbon doggies.

His name is Uno and he’s a fifteen inch dreamboat (please, no offcolor jokes: he’s only three years old). And yesterday he vaulted over a much-decorated Poodle (103 best in show ribbons and last year’s winner, no less) to take the crown. It’s ridiculous but I couldn’t be happier. I feel like my dog won.

Perhaps it’s because, of my three most favorite small dogs, the Beagle is the one dog I see myself adopting. The Bichon Frise I love but I know myself and after a while, I’d want to put the pretty thing back in the box. Unfortunately, it’s a real live dog and I’m no Paris Hilton so that’s not possible. Also, that dog is pretty much the definition of high maintenance. People bitch about Poodles all the time but a Poodle is probably half the trouble this little baby can be. And unlike human beings, it can’t help the way it is – it was bred to be that way. So it’s not like I can get angry at it for its needs.

The Basset Hound I wouldn’t mind leaving out to potter around the house but those doggies are proper heartbreakers: every single one that I’ve ever known has had some severe arthritis. I have arthritis and I know how crippling it can be – it would fairly kill me if my dog got it. That sounds like a crap reason for not adopting, on par with “I don’t want children in case their vaccination gives them autism”, and I’ll probably rethink it later on but a Basset isn’t going to be my first dog. If I ever have kids, however, they’re gonna grow up in a Basset Hound household.

But the Beagle… a Beagle is definitely what I want in my first doggie. They can be a bit high maintenance but they’re hardy little souls on the whole. And – again, pretty silly but this is how I work – although I’ve heard some awful tales about eye problems and things, all the Beagles I’ve met have been absolutely fine except for some age related problems. And the ear infection thing is pretty much par for the course for any long eared breed, isn’t it? I’ll pin ’em back for them so they can get some ventilation. Heh.

Plus, it’s Snoopy. Beat that.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2008 in Celebrity, News, Personal

 

7 responses to “Uno Hot Dog

  1. Jawahara

    February 14, 2008 at 4:20 am

    I too loved beagles…and then I got my little mutt…and now huskies rule and shepherds too but only when they are put together in a schizophrenic little bundle called Naina. Okay, for that seriously mushy note I need to run away now….*runs*

     
  2. desigirl

    February 14, 2008 at 7:47 am

    awww what a gorgie cutie, Ams! Please get one just so I can pester you to put pix of him now and again. I love dogs and the first thing am gonna do (well, one of them) once I move back to india for good is get us a dog – a black Lab. I just love Labs. I think it is imp for kids to have a dog to grow with, dont you?

     
  3. Terri

    February 14, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I’ll take a Basset Hound just for its sad face. Makes me want to give him a kiss on his jowls and the dark patch on his mouth and the part where his nose meets his mouth and the tip of his glistening nose and the folds of his flappy ears and his furry dewlap and so on ….

     
  4. Amrita

    February 14, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    J – awwww! itty bitty Naina! give her a smoochie!

    DG – come back to india for good! famous last words! 😀 ok, ok i won’t tease you. Labs are lovely! i’m planning to start small – like with a cat. I love kitties too.

    Terri – omigod, you have to go to the wiki page and look at the basset they have there thats looking up and asking, what are you doing human? CUTE!

     
  5. desigirl

    February 14, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    shut up, you cynic! we are so moving back soon!

     
  6. Beth

    February 19, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Dogs of any kind! This little fellow is so cute. I had a beagle mix in high school – such a dear fellow he was. But my current keeshond/shepherd mix from a rescue place does just fine. Amrita, should have known you were a dog person! 🙂

     
  7. Amrita

    February 21, 2008 at 10:36 am

    DG – *laughs evilly*

    Beth – this is true 😳

     
 
