RSS

We Didn’t Start the Fire

21 Jan

I’ve had a couple of depressing posts in the works for the past couple of days and every time I go to post them, something like this catches my eye and perks me up so much, I end up posting it instead. Today: Nerd World commemorates the 19th anniversary of Billy Joel’s We Didn’t Start the Fire. You haven’t even read it yet, but I bet you think that’s hilarious. It gets better. Here’s an excerpt:

NerdWorld: Well, the song certainly has a lot of history in it. Did you realize when you were writing it that it was just a big list of references, or did you stand back at the end and go, “Wow, it’s all just some stuff that happened. Weird.”
BillyJoel: No, I pretty much intended that from the start.

:mrgreen:

But it’s at moments like this that I suddenly realize that I’m getting on in years. I mean, I’m old enough to remember this thing being played at the Grammy’s. I thought it was the coolest thing ever because I couldn’t catch a word of it and thought, Hey! This grown up is singing at the Grammy’s in his own special language! I didn’t know you could do that! Alright! I now have an ambition! Awesome!

And then I grew up and discovered it was just ol’ BJ running through a laundry list. Even worse, I realized the fire I inherited was one hell of a lot worse than the one he got. Growing up sucks. Thank God for alcohol. Here, by the way, is the song that BJ is supposed to have riffed off (quite different from “ripped off”, please note) from: R.E.M.’s End of the World as We Know It. Personally, I prefer Reunion’s Life is a Rock but the Radio Rolled Me. Yeah. I said that, I did. Bite me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2008 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Music, Video

 

2 responses to “We Didn’t Start the Fire

  1. bvn

    January 23, 2008 at 10:54 am

    years back, a colleague was cribbing abt stuff in office

    i remember shaking my head and in a shrugging tone saying, “Pope paul malcolm X british politician sex” and adding “Oh man lots and lots of issues, edsel is a no go”

    thanks for reminding 🙂

     
  2. Amrita

    January 25, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    LOL, you’re welcome!

     
 
