RSS

Mrs. James Bond

18 Jan

I would like to interrupt regular programming to show all of you a photograph that did more for my self-esteem and faith in the continued existence of true love in these superficial times than that Dove commercial.

The lady you see above? She’s Keely Shaye Smith. Otherwise known as Mrs. Pierce Brosnan.

Did I blow your mind? It’s okay. Take your time. Ready?

Alright. So when she married Brosnan, she looked like this and I don’t remember paying any attention to the event but if I did, I probably expected it to end the way most Hollywood marriages end – in divorce in a few years. However, they have now been married since 2001 (and they dated for years before that). In that time they’ve seen the arrival of two kids as well as the end of the Brosnan-Bond franchise. And neither of them looks the way they did when they got married – and it’s apparently okay.

In a way, I can’t believe my own reaction to this. Why is this such a big deal?

I was a Brosnan fan for a quick minute when I was a little kid because we used to get reruns of Remington Steele and I absolutely loved it. But then I grew up, Remington Steele ended and Brosnan became my (second- no, wait, third) least favorite James Bond.

In many ways the Brosnan Bond broke new ground but somehow, all of it kind of left me less than impressed. And I say this as a sucker who contributed to his take of one billion dollars at the box office each time he made one of those movies.

Part of my animosity, I think, stems from a miniseries he did in his pre-Bond days – The Noble House. Look, he tried his best but if ever a man was miscast in a production, that man was Brosnan as blond Ian Dunross with his Hong Kong business empire. Around the World in 80 Days made me feel kinder towards him but not much.

Ask me the best work I think he’s done in the past 10 years and I think it’s Evelyn followed by The Thomas Crown Affair. And nobody topples Steve McQueen off his perch so that second one is always going to be an also-ran in the grand scheme of things. And yes, I enjoyed Matador (and Mars Attacks too, if it comes to that), but it doesn’t reach favorite status, sorry.

But! Learning today that he’s married to a woman who doesn’t follow cookie cutter celebrity standards makes me like him in a way I don’t like most celebrities. And that’s weird right? To like someone or not based on who they’re married to/ dating? What business is it of mine if his wife is a size 0 or a size 20? It’s one thing to gossip about celebrities, why take it to their spouses or children?

I guess it’s because tales of the twenty-something with rock hard abs who lands the aging movie star are pretty commonplace but you don’t often get to hear about the plus-size environmental reporter/ avid gardener who married an aging James Bond and is a style icon to boot.

Team Keely.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2008 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Life, Movies

 

23 responses to “Mrs. James Bond

  1. Terri

    January 18, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Oh, wow! I wouldn’t have believed you if you hadn’t linked to other photos. Based on her earlier pictures and her stint on Unsolved Mysteries, it looks like she stopped sucking it in and just exhaled. I guess Pierce doesn’t have a problem with it, so why should I?

     
  2. Beth

    January 19, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Right on!

     
  3. Ruhi

    January 19, 2008 at 2:04 am

    They’ve been married only since 2001…you never know…he might be thinking of dumping her for some size 00 model. If he doesn’t, then Good For Them!

     
  4. dipali

    January 19, 2008 at 2:58 am

    How wonderfull!
    Was it his first wife who’d died of cancer some years ago?

     
  5. Amrita

    January 19, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Terri – LOL @ exhaled. That describes it to a tee, I think. And thats kind of lovely, that she can do that.

    Beth – I know, right? 🙂

    Ruhi – they had their first kid in 97 so they’ve been together for at least a decade. I’d be really sad if he did. 😦

    Dipali – yes it was 😦 You’d have thought he’d be a slut with those looks and those roles, not to mention that place, but he actually seems to be a one woman guy. I like it! I think fidelity is hot.

     
  6. Jawahara

    January 19, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Also, his first wife was decent looking but no babe either, and he was looking after her when James Bond was offered to him and he actually turned the role down, and it went to Dalton. He also adopted her kids and still considers them his. They’re grown up now. I like Pierce Brosnan 🙂

     
  7. Skan

    January 19, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Oh wow, I’m shocked! I remember thinking she was quite hot & completely different from his 1st wife. I also remember wondering if she was re-bound girl as he was so in love with his 1st wife. Cripes! But I agree that my respect for him increases now. I’ve always thought the man had some grit and found his fidelity a plus point for him even if he was not the most impressive Bond. No one does it like Sean!

     
  8. ana

    January 20, 2008 at 3:03 am

    I love Pierce Brosnan! Gosh, maybe someday there might be hope for me as well. 😀 Brosnan is one of my many husbands in an alternate universe. But seriously, he is cool.

     
  9. dipali

    January 20, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    He’s gorgeous. I’ve loved him in Remington Steele all those years ago.( Bond movies haven’t ever been my scene, ever since I saw Octopussy and thought it worse than most Hindi movies). Yes, fidelity rocks:)

     
  10. Amrita

    January 21, 2008 at 1:03 am

    J – so I see 😀

    Skan – I must admit, I feel better about the money I spent on his Bond movies after reading about him 🙂 And no, nobody does it like Sean although Daniel Craig might just give him a run for his money before he’s done.

    Ana – LOL! If he wasnt married it could very well be THIS universe.

    Dipali – AHAHAHA @ Octopussy!

     
  11. Saaki

    January 23, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Well well i’d better go tell Brosnan……

    this place is teeming with wannabe Mrs Brosnan’s :D.
    And i really thought he had this superhot Blond bimbo tagging along. 🙂

     
  12. rads

    January 31, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    wow! I am all for real women and curves and not allowing one to succumb to the prescribed anorexic models. She does have a pretty face and a charming smile. That hasn’t changed at all.

    Pierce is hot. I love him.

     
  13. jbrown

    July 2, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    I congratulate them on their long marriage. However I question Mrs. Brosnan’s wisdom in wearing a bikini at her age and after having two children. She would have looked better and much more appropriate in a one-piece maillot.

    I am 54, lost 125 pounds since August 2006, and still wouldn’t wear a bikini at my age.

    Our youth-obsessed culture is nuts.

     
  14. Sophie in the Moonlight

    August 13, 2008 at 3:48 am

    I was a tween during the Remington Steele years and I worshipped the intelligent women on that show and had a crush of seismic proportions on Mr. Brosnan. As I became older and knew of his 1st wife’s health concerns, I developed a great respect for his obvious adoration and concern for her, and wished them the best.

    After she passed I didn’t really know that he got married until about 4 years ago and when I saw a picture of Keely I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The man for whom I swooned as a pre-madonna wannabe married a woman who could be my sister. I adore her and the work she does, and I love him even more than I once did for loving a woman both for who she is and for her ever-improving hotness. She just looks so damn happy and comfortable in her own skin; life with Mr. Steele must be filled with great love and affection. Happy for them both.

     
  15. ExploringIntimacy

    August 21, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Some new bikini pics of her came out recently, but I’ve only found them on awful blogs that are just ripping her to shreds. Hopefully I can find some that I don’t mind linking to… Anyway, just wanted to let you know that it looks they’re still going strong, and she got a cute new bikini!

     
  16. Amrita

    August 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks EI – I saw the posts running around the blogosphere and I think it says a lot more about their sad fantasies than the Brosnans’ life.

     
  17. Been there!

    September 2, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Brosnans not my type, still I can understand why alot of women and gay men find him attractive.

    Nevertheless, let’s not forget that she is probably a good 20 years younger than him, at least 15 anyway, and he should be the one who feels “lucky” at having such a younger woman.

    Yet just see how sexist we are in assuming she’s the “lucky” one, just because she happens to not be skinny anymore!!!

    And at any rate, she is still not “fat” and probably still looks very attractive in form fitting clothes, sexy even.

    So, sexy, voluptuous, full-figured woman is paired with old man and somehow that makes us feel good?

    She needs to be with Jude Law or John Abraham in order to make me feel good.

     
  18. Toodleloo

    September 4, 2008 at 3:11 am

    She’s 9 years younger.

     
  19. High Priestess

    September 4, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    9 Years younger is still considerably young.

    My boyfriend and I raise eyebrows and he is only 7 years younger than me.

     
  20. Athena

    November 27, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I was struck by her beauty since America’s Most wanted
    And I see that, while Hollywood is an endless stream of uninterrupted Angelina looking anorexics
    At her current weight Keely is still more beautiful, naturally

     
  21. James Dean

    January 5, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    HOT! I love BBW women and she’s super sexy. I would love to have her on my arm! Pierce is a lucky bastard.

     
  22. trudy

    January 12, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I’m sorry, but not only is she fat, she’s what’s called morbidly obese, which endangers her health and means the children will have her in their lives not as long.

    I have to wonder why a fit woman with an (apparently) good husband and kids would get like this. My conclusion is that this is not a marriage made in heaven, and they’re staying together for the kids.

     
  23. Dizniz

    January 13, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Actually, KJS aka Mrs. Brosnan looks like a good portion of the population her age. She is not mentally ill and obsessed with keeping a figure that is next to impossible unless you make it a full time job.

    He is obviously mature and in love.

    What meets the eye — as in perfect on the outside — does not mean perfect on the inside — usually in a middle aged woman it is an obsessive compulsive with an eating disorder.

    What we’re actually seeing here is a fairly typical (albeit exceptionally pretty (both of them) middle aged couple. If the husband weren’t a movie star no one would be commenting. Many chunky women are married to thin men.

    Trudy (above) however has bought in, hook, line and sinker, to our cultural disease — An obsession with looking like a teenager even when it is physically practically impossible. Many people are what you call morbidly obese and live long lives — your judgement sounds like you’re own problem. Get a little depth why don’t you.

    The way fat is treated in this culture is a worse condemnation that people who commit heinous crimes.

     
 
