RSS

A Therapeutic Tag!

11 Dec

Not really. But that’s what Jawahara‘s calling it and her way with words is much better than mine, so that’s what I’ll call it too! A list of ten things I miss having in my life right now and ten things I hope to accomplish over the next decade. Hm, I’m not a big planner – as long as I don’t feel unhappy or deprived in some way, I’m all good – and can never stick to a timetable so I don’t know if I’m the best person for this tag but here goes: I’m in my mid twenties right now so these are some things that I’d like to do before I cross 35.

1. Finish that children’s book. At least the first draft :mrgreen: (A little inside joke there, please excuse)
2. Sail around the world. For some reason, it freaks me out to think of sailing the ocean even though I love boats, so let’s see if I can get over this hangup.
3. Travel around Africa
4. Find a job that will let me travel around Africa ๐Ÿ˜€
5. Adopt a pet. Like a dog, not a goldfish. Something that will make demands of me.
6. Get a place of my own, paid for by my own money, free of debt. (Yeah right.)
7. Fall in love.
8. Bungee jump. I chickened out once before I ever got to the site and I’ve been dreaming about it ever since.
9. Learn the piano.
10. I think I’ll keep this one open for incidentals. If I have to plan, I’ll plan for every eventuality!

The next part of the tag is the truly difficult thing about it: ten things I miss about my life right now. I’m pretty much a rolling stone and don’t generally wish for things I can’t have so this will take some doing.

1. Summer holidays in the land of the monsoon
2. My grandparents – until I remember how strict they were with my parents and then I have second thoughts.
3. Winter afternoons in Delhi, eating smoky peanuts and listening to my mother talk about her childhood.
4. Certain friends. But not all the time.
5. The swing they’d put up for me at Daddy’s home. It was my sole window into village life and sometimes I miss it. Then I remember how creepy the nights used to get and how much I appreciate the very latest in plumbing and an insect free existence and how cows are not my favorite pets and I get over it.
6. Getting all my clothes bought for me – maybe I should go all Hollywood and get me a stylist?
7. A big fat baby to kiss and cuddle. Fair warning: will send back to maker if s/he poops or cries.
8. Being rocked in my mom’s lap. She gets silly sometimes and will try her best but two seconds in she starts yelling about how I’m squashing her dead, which sort of ruins the experience.
9. Dancing in the afternoon, singing silly Guide camp songs with my aunt. Actually, this is probably something I can do again.
10. Getting fed by hand. Okay, that makes me sound like a barnyard animal being fattened for market but children everywhere can attest – it’s the best thing in the world.

I Tag: Kokonad, DesiGirl, Amey, Gagan, Headmistress and BVN.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2007 in Personal

 

20 responses to “A Therapeutic Tag!

  1. Kokonad

    December 11, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    It’s lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am going to do it too! Consider me tagged. Though it’s going to be much later this month. Right now, there are only 24 hours in the day. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

     
  2. Kokonad

    December 12, 2007 at 12:08 am

    And I knew that you were writing a book – but a children’s book? Really? ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  3. Jawahara

    December 12, 2007 at 3:32 am

    I love your list….made me feel all squidgy and mushy inside! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  4. desigirl

    December 12, 2007 at 4:57 am

    7. A big fat baby to kiss and cuddle. Fair warning: will send back to maker if s/he poops or cries.

    That comment is so you, Ams!! will have a go at this jolly tag!

    a good one, J!!

     
  5. desigirl

    December 12, 2007 at 5:31 am

    Am I a good girl or am I a good girl?
    http://desigirl.net.in/blog/2007/12/12/the-therapeutic-tag/

     
  6. Amrita

    December 12, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Koke – go for it! re: children’s book, well yeah ๐Ÿ˜ณ that’s one that I’m cowriting and it’s a lot different from the other stuff you’ve read here. I also think it’s quite good ๐Ÿ˜›

    J – awwww! ๐Ÿ˜€

    DG – hee hee, anything to get out of actual work, eh slacker? Glad you did too. I’ll come cuddle your baby girl when you have her. and hand her back right quick when she needs changing, of course.

     
  7. Terri

    December 12, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Am, children’s book?!!! I would’ve thought definitely adult, what with your knowledge of golden showers and such.

     
  8. Amrita

    December 12, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Terri – it’s going to be a terribly grown up book, of course! I kid, I kid ๐Ÿ˜€ It started out as a picture book but now it’s a novel for the 10-12 age group. definitely not enid blyton or doctor seuss.

     
  9. DesiGirl

    December 12, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    ah you got me there, babe. didn’t feel like doing much cramming today and this tag of yours was tres pleasurable! and some sugar for your mouth pls!!

    I second Terri re your chosen audience. What are you going to inflict on the innocent kiddies?

     
  10. bvn

    December 14, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    hey thanks for tagging! consider it done! cool this means i can tag you back right…super cool ๐Ÿ™‚

    btw you miss the swing and getting fed by hand :)…you definitely need your “picture book”…

     
  11. Amrita

    December 16, 2007 at 9:47 am

    DG – awww, I hope you get her ๐Ÿ™‚ As for the other, I’ll let you read it sometime.

    bvn – err… yes I guess that’s what it means ๐Ÿ˜€ And i’d love to write a picture book if i could only stop myself from going off on a tangent!

     
  12. headmistress

    December 16, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    ta for the taggage – finally got around to looking at it ๐Ÿ™‚ But there should be a category for all the things you love in the present too…

     
  13. Sue

    December 19, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Hey Amrita, this one was started by me last year. Not as a tag, but just the result of pregnancy blues. Glad to see you enjoyed it!

     
  14. Gagan

    December 20, 2007 at 3:28 am

    bear with me Amrita….still trying to answer it without answering it…not easy to be that evasive…but I have a lot of practice…will take a little more time…thanks for including me in the game ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  15. Amrita

    December 20, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    HM – go for it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sue – I’ve lurked around your blog before and I think you rock. I didn’t know this one was yours but I did enjoy it. Thanks for passing it on.

    Gagan – ha! Okay, but I’m keeping an eye on you, Mister.

     
  16. Amey

    December 30, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Done… finally:

    http://randamthots.blogspot.com/2007/12/therapeutic-tag.html

    Read it and you will know why I delayed.

     
  17. Amrita

    December 31, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Amey – At laaaaast! Lolz, would you believe you’re not the last? Thanks for doing it!

     
  18. Amey

    December 31, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    But then, I do have a reason behind my laziness ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  19. Gagan

    March 7, 2008 at 5:49 am

    took me 3 months and it’s evasive and incomplete but it;s all I could manage at this stage Amrita

     
  20. Amrita

    March 8, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Gagan – hey, it’s the effort that counts! thanks for doing it at all ๐Ÿ™‚

     
 
