RSS

Johnny Depp is Sweeney Todd

03 Dec

This one has been out there for more than a while so chances are you’ve seen it already… but every day is Johnny Depp day so you can see it again!

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, a Tim Burton musical, stars Depp as a London barber whose landlady, Helena Bonham Carter (hey! “Bellatrix Lestrange”!), disposes of the men he murders in his high chair by turning them into meat pies. Yum. It gives a whole new twist to the term ‘mystery meat’, doesn’t it?

Film is based on the Stephen Sondheim musical of the same name that debuted in 1979 and has been brought to stage many times since. Title character “Sweeney Todd” is a figure of English urban legend with his roots in the trashy novels of the early 19th century. Everyone from Ben Kingsley to Angela Lansbury has appeared in various productions.

Co-starring Sacha Baron Cohen as a rival barber and Alan Rickman (lookit! “Severus Snape”!) as a creep with a thing for another guy’s girl, the movie also stars Timothy Spall (“Peter Pettigrew a.k.a. Wormtail”). Those darn Death Eaters are everywhere!

Early buzz on the movie has been nothing short of glowing. People are variously calling it Burton’s best movie since Beetlejuice, Ed Wood and pretty much any and every movie he didn’t make in the past ten years. If such universal love doesn’t make the non-conformist in you stay at home, you can find the truth of this (man)meat pie for yourself this December 21. You bet I will.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2007 in Entertainment, Movies, Video

 

14 responses to “Johnny Depp is Sweeney Todd

  1. Kokonad

    December 3, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    The first time I had seen this trailer, I thought it was a sequel to Sleepy Hollow or something… 🙂 I am looking forward to watching this movie!

     
  2. headmistress

    December 3, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    hmmm, Burton has been heartbreakingly disappointing of late… so has the beautiful Mr Depp… I wanted to cry after Willy wonka… and the last Pirates. meh.

    but it will still be worth a gander, if only for mrs burton and alan rickman…aaah, beautiful, beautiful people! and Sacha! Such potential of genius. I only hope Burton’s pulled it off.

     
  3. Amey

    December 3, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    The first thought I had after watching the trailer yesterday was that the Death Eaters are still finding some work after the death of LV.

    My immediate second thought was, lucky I don’t eat meat pies.

     
  4. Raja Sen

    December 4, 2007 at 4:46 am

    My fave Burton film in recent years was Big Fish. Not to say that Charlie wasn’t a blast.

    check this out, makes for fascinating fun — and sets you up for the film:
    http://www.theatre-musical.com/sweeneytodd/libretto.html

    of course, when I say sets you up I mean relatively.. can’t imagine being set up for Sacha Baron Cohen taking on this madness.

     
  5. Amrita

    December 4, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    Koke – Sleepy Hollow! Hahahah, I had some major Burton deja vu when I saw the trailer. It’s like there’s a Burton world in which all his movies take place, dont you think?

    HM – considering the collective orgasm that all the reviewers thus far have had, I’d say we’re in for a treat. The only problem is that everyone loves it SO much, it makes the skeptic in me come out.

    Amey – well they do have a couple of movies to wrap up although I’ve never been a fan of that (movie) franchise. And thanks for reminding me i DO eat meat pies 😦

    Raja – thanks for the link! I’ve been making do with snippets on youtube. Sacha, I fear, is going to become the new age Robbie Williams. I hope not but I think the stereotype machine is going to try its best. The pitfalls of being able to adopt an accent when your name isnt Meryl Streep I guess.

     
  6. Kokonad

    December 4, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Ha ha! Quite true.. 🙂

    I feel the sets used for staging man’s landing on the moon has been used in several other movies too! 😛

     
  7. Amey

    December 5, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Oh yes, they have 2 more movies to go, and all these people (except maybe Wormtail) do hog quite a bit of screen time in that. But the book series is over.

    Johnny Depp almost seems to be getting typecast in eccentric roles with top-hats now. Sleepy Hollow, The Ninth Gate, Charlie and Chocolate Factory, now this. Or maybe, historical roles with hats, if you count Capt. Jack Sparrow.

     
  8. Raja Sen

    December 6, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Sacha? After Talladega Nights he can do no wrong. Really, I think he’s here to stay.

     
  9. Amrita

    December 6, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Koke – noooo! you’re one of those conspiracy theorists? 😀

    Amey – well, when he started out those roles were sort of edgy and weird. Now, with all the sci fi and fantasy and whatnot, he’s become mainstream. and i think his jack sparrow was the one that really did it for him. that role really let the genie out of the bottle.

    Raja – didnt watch Talladega Nights (I have to make concessions to being a girl from time to time 😛 ) but I say Amen to Sacha.

     
  10. Skan

    January 13, 2008 at 10:33 am

    OK, I may be one of the few naysayers then. I love Burton & Depp … I adoer Rickman and Bonham-Carter is cool now that she grew out of the King Charles cockerspaniel look (shudder … there’s a Burton movie without effort).

    But I was disappointed with Sweeney Todd. Sure, it was dark, gothic, lush and wonderfully macabre. But please, it’s supposed to be a musical. But the songs! Arrgghhh, even me singing in the bathroom has less horrifying echoes of terror. The musical scoring drew little points with me. Let’s just say that there’s a reason why Depp & Bonham-Carter are actors and not singers. I’ve heard contestants on American Idiot, I mean Idol, who sounded better. And that includes the mime who did not sing.

    The whole show was completely let down by the music. Only two actors sounded like they had musical experience and that was Joanna and her beau. Even Rickman (honey, you can sing to me anytime … but bugger, I have the wrong equipment) was only adequate, bordering on painfully sometimes in his warbling.

    Because of this uncertain warble effect, the whole movie came across as amateurish and plodding. But hey, that is just my opinion. What do I know as all the reviews & critics are waxing lyrical as they lick the polish off Mr Burton’s shoes? Meatpies, anyone?

    P/S. Amey, have you seen pictures of Depp in real life. He actually does wear top hats in real life. Seems more like he is actually playing himself, nest ce pas? LOL.

     
  11. Amrita

    January 14, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Skan – argh, dont make me agree with you! I think it was like a lovely painting in blood and as such, i loved it. But yes, no way in hell can Bonhma carter and Depp match up to the score. I think they got a skate because it was Depp singing and really, there’s no end to the awesomeness that is Depp. For me it was 50-50, as a blood drenched saga, I think it’s beaten hands down by both No Country for Old Men and There Will Be Blood, but in hotness? Depp all the way, even when he looks like Edward Scissorhands the Sequel. Oh, and there was Sacha Baron Cohen.

     
  12. Skan

    January 14, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Er, the “stuffiing on Sacha was a mite bit distracting … I kept waiting for him to break out into Ali-G speak. LOL.

     
  13. Amey

    January 14, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    @Skan: Oh yes, I am not yet sure whether he has entered the skin of his character(s) so much. Or maybe, it is an advertising stunt. Then again, given fashion choices of Hollywood celebrities, this just might be average.

    @Amrita: Jack Sparrow might just be his most famous role now. But then, isn’t he worried of getting typecast?

     
 
