RSS

Kareena + Saif = $$$?

22 Oct

We really need to come up with a cool international symbol for the Rupee. At the least it’d help me out in situations like the above title. Oh well.

What I really wanted to do though, was inquire if you’re one of those people out there who watch a movie based on who the lead actor/actress is currently dating. Personally, I’ve always thought if you’re so invested in a stranger’s lovelife that you’re willing to spend money on it, then you need to stop and examine things a little. While reclining on Dr. Somebody’s couch.

I mean, if you’re a (and I say this with the utmost affection) Brangeloony, then your idols are only a click of the mouse away – you can see them drop their kids off at school and pick them up again all you want for free. You can see them grab each other’s ass on red carpets around the world and look gorgeous doing it. If their security wasn’t so good, you’d probably have seen them brushing their teeth every morning. So really, why would you go to the movies, fork over the ticket money, then pay extra for stale popcorn and extremely overpriced candy (always of a brand that you’d never buy anywhere else) and watch them act? Especially when someone somewhere in cable-land is always playing Mr and Mrs Smith?

In any case, didn’t the whole Bennifer craziness that surrounded Gigli pretty much prove that tabloid frenzy doesn’t equal box office success? Even Ben Affleck seems to have understood that. And he’s the guy who decided it would be a great idea to star with his girlfriend in her music video at the height of Bennifer mania. Take that paparazzi! Who’s sorry now?

But then DNA has this to say on the recently confirmed Kareena Kapoor-Saif Ali Khan hook up:

But will the chemistry translate on-screen as well, or will it go the Shahid-Kareena way? Says trade analyst Amod Mehra, “Audiences will not make the switch as quickly as Kareena and Saif have. They still picture Kareena and Shahid because they have been going around together for the last three years. It will take some time for the fact to sink in. I feel producers will be cautious and gauge their chemistry on-screen in ‘Tashan’ before giving them any price they want.”

Wow, I didn’t know I was so invested in the Kareen-Shahid Kapoor relationship. It must be why their last few outings at the boxoffice together bombed: somebody forgot to inform the audience that they cared so deeply.

Irony of ironies though, I’m actually looking forward to Jab We Met. I guess it took me three years and a break up to open my eyes. Or maybe I just like good writing and Imtiaz Ali has been on my watchlist ever since I saw Socha Na Tha.

Hmm, I don’t know which of the two to cop to. Am I a crazed fan of a B-list ex-couple or do I just like bad movies with the potential to be so much better?

Anyway, next on the Kareena-Saif plate is Tashan from YashRaj. With Omkara under their belt, they’re already doing much better than Kareena and Shahid ever did. Aw, poor itty bitty Shahid. Cheer up, maybe the movie will now do well.

Source

 
20 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2007 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Movies

 

20 responses to “Kareena + Saif = $$$?

  1. Kokonad

    October 22, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Is it me or has Kareena Kapoor become mildly attractive? 😮

    How have you been? It’s been so long since I have commented on your blog! 🙂 I have been so busy with academics! 😦

     
  2. Tanay

    October 23, 2007 at 12:57 am

    Amrita, as the lady Bebo says in the video, By God, this kahani maain twist hai, that’s for sure 🙂

    Don’t you think that the movie should be titled ‘Jab We Split’, the last in the epoch saga of Kareena-Shahid paired philums.

     
  3. hks

    October 23, 2007 at 4:20 am

    i love u kareena i ur 3 love ur mobile number tell me my mobile 0920428588255

     
  4. apu

    October 23, 2007 at 4:58 am

    brangeloony?? did you come up with that yourself? you woman! i swear you should be getting some award or something….

     
  5. Nits

    October 23, 2007 at 11:19 am

    You are looking forward to Jab we met? what? What? WHAT? Well ok, let me know how it is.

     
  6. Amrita

    October 23, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Koke – i swear the woman’s doing some sort of voodoo… or liposuction if gossip is to be believed 😀 I noticed you were MIA. midterms?

    Tanay – if this is the last of their combined efforts then it comes not a moment too soon either. I dont care how much weight she loses, she still looks like she’s his mother. Mean, but true. 🙂

    Hks – Kareena called and said its: 1-800- I DONT READ THIS BLOG. you’re welcome.

    Apu – no, no, its an actual term of the word wide internets 😀 You’ve seen them around I’m sure: they all write in caps and are really, really invested in the relationship and know everything there is to know about them. You dont want to piss them off because they will CAPS at you till you break.

    Nits – 😳 I said it, didn’t I? These are tough times for me! K, will do.

     
  7. Terri

    October 23, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    What? They broke up? I wonder why. Did cutie-pie Shahid finally come out of the closet?

     
  8. OrangeJammies

    October 23, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    On a completely tangential note, I’m an Imtiaz Ali watcher too. Ever since Socha Na Tha. Glad I’m not the only cuckoo person doing that.
    And yes, while I barely realized the two existed prior to the split, (or fabulous PR stunt), Jab We Met is certainly on my to-watch list now. Such suckers are us!

     
  9. Sanna

    October 23, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    What am I doing up at 1.40am the night before I spend 3 hours in a morgue? you tell me….but it’s shahid and kareena…so I must comment. Only to point out that it deeply entertains me how much importance is given to such trivial matters! I remember watching Star News for 2 hours with them saying “kareena and saif are together” in EVERY possible way (regardless of whether it was grammatically correct or not) whilst some government probably got dissolved and never ever got mentioned.

    Like seriously….how much of a difference will it make to us all if kareena was secretly a man and had been dumbledore’s secret love? erm…I’m pretty sure the sun would somehow manage to stay in the sky…

    love you lots like jelly tots!!!

     
  10. Amrita

    October 24, 2007 at 11:01 am

    Terri – what do you know that I dont? 😀 My gaydar’s on the blip apparently.

    OJ – they’re definitely working it arent they? 😀 I wonder if this is an Imtiaz Ali staple though? I remember a lot of gossip about Abhay Deol and Ayesha Takia when Socha Na Tha came out and then about him and Soha Ali Khan when Ahista Ahista came out (although Ali only wrote that).

    Sanna – A morgue in the early hours of dawn? Sounds like the perfect way to start a day 😀 I dont get Star News (which I regret because I’ve heard they’re a lot like India TV or whatever that awful Aaj Tak spinoff is called) but I do remember everyone showing the video of Kareena and Shahid making out. Gross!

     
  11. desigirl

    October 24, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Well, at least you are alive!! I’ll tell Dee to call off the search then!

     
  12. Kokonad

    October 28, 2007 at 11:56 am

    🙂 Yeah I was quite inactive on the blogosphere for the past two months. Not midterms, though. Had my PhD qualifiers and a couple of trips for my research.

    I guess I should be back on the track soon. I bookmarked a few topics to write on… Inspired by your blogs, I am thinking of starting to review movies. Saw The Darjeeling Limited last night and I LOVED it. It was Wes Anderson all over the movie. By the end of the day today I hope to post a movie review! 🙂

     
  13. Amrita

    October 28, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    DG – 😛

    Koke – ooh, the PhD! I loved the DL too! Look forward to the review 🙂

     
  14. Kokonad

    October 29, 2007 at 9:01 am

    🙂 I put mine up! It’s so tough to write a review! How do you do it so effortlessly and nicely? 🙂
    I wanted to write so much more about the whys and hows when the director was making the movie (based on several interviews)… but there was just too much information!

    For example, how he used Satyajit Ray’s movie themes, the choice of soundtracks etc…

     
  15. Amrita

    October 29, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Awesome! I’ll check it out – well, I dont particularly enjoy reviewing things which is why I seldom do it 🙂

     
  16. Sehar

    November 18, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    FUCK YOU KAREENA…I HATE U WHORE…GET A LIFE…WHY WOULD U WANNA BREAK UP WITH UR OWN BOYFRIEND…U BROKE SHAHID’S HEART…I AGREE U GUYS DIDN’T LOOK GOOD TOGETHER BUT STILL NEVER BREAK GUY HEART

     
  17. rotfl

    November 28, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    rotfl what shit are ppl commentin on ur blog
    hahahahahha:D:D

     
  18. MUnni

    December 23, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    yar kareen is like a b***** she think that she is famous n a kapoor ut no 1 sees that we audience want gud acting not those stupid nakhre and stupid jodis hanging around like shahid n kareena they luked odd kareena to us ki amma kagti hai acha hua breakup ho gaya thx god

     
  19. mns

    January 18, 2008 at 4:02 am

    i think kareena wants huge dick of saif that is absoulately greater than shahid

     
  20. who cares

    January 22, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    what the f*ck is going on here?????
    quit it guys!!!!

     
 
