RSS

India Wins Twenty20 World Cup

24 Sep

From Getty Images

All credit to me because I kept my eyes averted the whole time. :mrgreen: Everybody around me was going crazy but did I even peek? No. Send me gifts:

With Misbah on strike, Pakistan needed 13 from the final over. After a great deal of thought, Mahendra Singh Dhoni gambled on the inexperienced Joginder Sharma. When he started with a wide, Indian fans groaned, and the situation became even more desperate when Misbah pummelled a full toss miles over long-off for six. But with victory in his grasp, his judgement failed him. Moving across his stumps, he went for the scoop down to fine leg. He didn’t connect cleanly, and millions on the subcontinent held their breath as Sreesanth came under the ball at short fine leg. When he held it, the stadium erupted.

I hope all the idiots who were tossing molotov cocktails at cricketers’ homes in India and Pakistan just a few months ago after another World Cup are thoroughly ashamed of themselves.

Bikram has video & Aspi has snark. Enjoy!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2007 in Entertainment, Life, News, Newsmakers

 

5 responses to “India Wins Twenty20 World Cup

  1. Bikram

    September 24, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Hey, thnx a lot for contributing in India’s success. 😀

    I’ve uploaded a couple of videos of India’s win over Pakistan. Proud to be the first blogger world over to do so. 🙂

    Have a look here.

     
  2. bvn

    September 25, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Me too…slept thru the entire match…torrential rains you know…not just that..the boys played well :)…and hey what a Monday…to see the Asian Titans win!

     
  3. Karthik

    September 25, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    I was at work and was forced to keep track of scores online, but from what I hear, it was apparently a very good game.

     
  4. DesiGirl

    September 26, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Hubby dear kept up with things by listening to the BBC Radio 5 commentary ALL the time. jeez! Now what? They are all heroes, get massive advert offers, do a victory yatra and are magically restored to their almighty status? oh no, cant be cos that is so passe! what next?

     
  5. Amrita

    September 26, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    Bikram, lol! You’re welcome 😀 (yes, i’m shameless!) I’ve linked to your video

    BVN – no! is that what we’re calling them these days? 😀 i’m not such a fan of kirkit actually, so i’m under all kinds of false pretenses above but i thought it was pretty cool the way they all came together and stuck it to everybody else. I wouldnt have cared if they lost frankly – just watching their attitude was enough for me 🙂

    Karthik – you heard right 🙂 I’ve had more people forward me footage from that game than anything else ever!

    DG – spoilsport! quit raining on my parade! or whosever parade you’re raining on! 😛

     
 
