RSS

I’m a Rockin’ Girl Blogger!

09 Sep

…really? Me?!

Well, that’s what the always rockin’ Sujatha of Blogpourri fame thinks and here’s the proof so shut your pie hole! Seriously, though, it’s always nice to be appreciated and I’m thoroughly ashamed that it took me this long to acknowledge receipt. What can I say? I’m a rockin’ girl blogger who needs a lesson or two in manners. 😦

Of course, now I’m in trouble because I have to pass it on and over the past six months (yes, IndieQuill is now six months old. Maybe I should get a Lilypie ticker for it like the Mad Momma has for her babies) I’ve met more than my fair share of girl bloggers who I think rock around the clock.

No offense to the male ones, of course. I think you’re all sweet too but I don’t think you’d appreciate me handing you this particular honor, no?

So… toughie. I decided to restrict myself to five people to keep to the spirit of the thing so here’s my list in no particular order:

My very first (female) blog friend, DesiGirl. Awww! Now shut up and blog, slacker!

The ever-reclusive Ana, who keeps threatening to quit any day and the scary thing is, she’s the only one I’d believe that of. Seriously, this chick is hardcore. :mrgreen:

The Mad Momma, of course, for writing so eloquently she actually makes me feel invested in her kids. I mean… kids. You know? Okay, I’m gonna stop now before all the Mommies and Daddies hunt me down.

Then there’s Terri’s Mom whom God put on this earth to give me a glimpse into my future. I’ve already begun taking precautionary measures like investing in whips and chains as well as a lifelong subscription to Cosmo. Well, a girl has to start somewhere.

I’m going to cheat a bit on this next one but it can’t be helped: these two fine ladies cover completely different beats and yet they both possess such strong female voices I can’t help but bracket them together. I’m talking about my daily Bollywood fix a.k.a. Saks and my corporate mirror, Apu.

And last but definitely not the least, Dee, whom I continue to love in spite of that foray into Harry Potter fanfic. You know what I’m talking about, Dee! That was just all shades of WRONG! I kept thinking of it too, while I was reading it over. 😑 Well, who wouldn’t really?

So that’s my list. And I think it’s a great list even if I had to leave people out.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2007 in Personal

 

18 responses to “I’m a Rockin’ Girl Blogger!

  1. aMmAr

    September 9, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Congrats, reading ur posts is always a pleasure. I dont know why women have to make everything gender biased but you and your blog surely rocks !!

    so rock on AMRITA πŸ™‚

     
  2. Sujatha

    September 9, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Ah, finally! I was beginning to think you did not sufficiently appreciate the honor. πŸ™‚ And good picks!

     
  3. apu

    September 9, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    thank you for the honour , says the mirror πŸ™‚

     
  4. Saakshi O. Juneja

    September 10, 2007 at 2:10 am

    So in other words, you find me “entertaining”. Hmmmm !! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks, anywaz.

     
  5. rAm

    September 10, 2007 at 7:25 am

    hey congrats.!!
    And gal!! i have a post with you as one of the rocking girl bloggers!! (the post was supposed to go live today) . some one is a step ahead of me!!

     
  6. Tanay

    September 10, 2007 at 10:56 am

    Amrita, yes the ones you chose cover a varied spectrum and they deserve it. Congrats to them and you too..

    Also, if you visit my site, there are links to two smart ladies and their blogs on my blogroll, one is Project Why by Anou and the other is Youth Curry by Rashmi Bansal. Try those and see if you like those.

     
  7. DesiGirl

    September 10, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    awwwww I am soo touched *teary eyed* waaaah!!
    er, slacker? moi? que? quoi?

     
  8. Terri

    September 10, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    Why, thank you, Amrita! That’s sweet.
    And you might not need the whips and Cosmo if you remember to always test drive before you buy πŸ˜‰

     
  9. the mad momma

    September 10, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    aww come on… i agree.. till i had kids i wanted to stomp on them like little bugs :p thank you!

     
  10. Amrita

    September 11, 2007 at 1:01 am

    aMmAr – Hey, i’m not biased, I’d be only too glad to make you a rockin’ girl blogger πŸ˜€ Thanks!

    Suj – er, um, koff koff 😳 Glad you approve πŸ™‚

    Apu – you’re welcome and It’s all true πŸ™‚

    Saks – whaddya mean, thanks anyways? It’s a compliment, young lady! Entertainment is very important. πŸ™‚

    rAm – hey, i didnt know this was an equal opportunity tag. On second thoughts I’m glad I didn’t know because then I’d have to piss off the remaining half of my audience. πŸ˜€ Thanks for thinking of me.

    Tanay – I remember Project Why but I;ll have to try Rashmi’s blog. Thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

    DG – sniff, sob! Yes, you do, you rock…… you slacker!

    Terri – AHAHAHA! I’ll keep that in mind. πŸ˜€ And I’ll tell my mom you suggested it. Hee hee hee.

    MM – um, okay I dont have homicidal tendencies πŸ˜€ I just like to hand ’em back at the end of the day is all. You’re welcome.

     
  11. ana

    September 11, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    ana and hardcore?!!!! I think nerdy more than hardcore. Okay maybe you meant a hardcore nerd. Seriously though, thanks ever so much Amrita. You really do rock! Jeeti raho!!

     
  12. OrangeJammies

    September 13, 2007 at 11:35 am

    You abso-absolutely deserve this one. I enjoy reading you so much πŸ™‚

     
  13. Amrita

    September 14, 2007 at 2:59 am

    Ana – ok, then: a hardcore nerd. no, wait, a nerdy hardcore rockin girl blogger πŸ˜€ anyone who’ll delete their blog is hardcore imo! You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

    OJ – aww, thanks babe πŸ™‚

     
  14. Dee

    September 21, 2007 at 7:41 am

    Hey Ams, thanks yaar, took me this long to read and acknowledge that you find me rockin’ and the Harry Potter fan fic- you mean you read it?!! Its still getting me tons of hits!;)

     
  15. Amrita

    September 22, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Hey Dee, it’s ok, you’ve had stuff going on πŸ™‚ And yes! I read it! I wanted to leave a comment that day but my net played up and I didn’t. Or maybe you have the comments disabled? I wouldnt blame you. πŸ˜€

     
  16. Parul

    September 28, 2007 at 3:25 am

    heh heh – i know what you mean about kids…and then Adi came along…and I still kept feeling the same way…till one day he sat up in his diaper and said “Get your act together, woman or I will NEVER be toilet-trained”. That sort of sorted me out.

    Blog hopped from MM’s. Nice to meet you here, Indiequill. Keep rockin’ πŸ˜€

     
 
