RSS

Miss South Carolina is Genius!

25 Aug

Not a genius, unfortunately – just, you know, genius.

I don’t usually cover pageant winners (or contestants for that matter) because

A) I don’t care

B) I don’t watch

C) They creep me out.

No offense to all you pageant winners out there but you guys are kind of freaky and make me think thoughts of cookie cutters, sausage factories, JonBenet Ramsey and stuff.

Um. Okay, so I see how that’s offensive but …

Anyway, so above is Miss South Carolina, Lauren Caitlin, who made it to the final round of the Miss Teen USA pageant, which gained a lot of notoriety earlier this year when it sparked that god-awful, horribly annoying feud between (then) The View co-host Rosie O’Donnell and pageant owner (?) Donald Trump. In the final round, Caitlin was apparently asked: a recent poll showed that some Americans can’t find the USA on a world map and why do you think this is?

This is Caitlin’s answer:

“I personally believe that U.S. Americans are unable to do so because, uhmmm, some people out there in our nation don’t have maps and uh, I believe that our, I, education like such as uh, South Africa, and uh, the Iraq, everywhere like such as, and I believe that they should, uhhh, our education over here in the US should help the US, uh, should help South Africa, it should help the Iraq and the Asian countries so we will be able to build up our future, for us.”

Caitlin should run for President. No, seriously. She’s got all the moves down.

[From Dlisted]

 
22 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2007 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Video

 

22 responses to “Miss South Carolina is Genius!

  1. Kokonad

    August 25, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Ho ho ho hee hee hee haa haa haa! 😀

    I have a feeling the guy who asked the question forgot what the question was at the end of that answer.

    South Africa and Iraq? Is that all? :O

     
  2. Kokonad

    August 25, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Duh. The person who asked the question is a female. And not a guy (like I mentioned in my previous comment)

     
  3. saukprairekennels

    August 25, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    I hope this young lady is really nervice, she just made american women look dumb

     
  4. the mad momma

    August 26, 2007 at 3:32 am

    because they are all too busy preparing for beauty contests and reality tv shows would be my guess!!

     
  5. shub

    August 26, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Wow! Stunning genius, that! I bet she was one them who couldn’t find USA on the map!

     
  6. Tanay

    August 26, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Amrita, I guess this is common globally just that the intensity of their ‘stunning genius’ varies. If you remember how Priyanka Chopra goofed up in the Miss World contest in 2000 for the question posed to her ..

    Guess, as mad momma says may be beauty contests, make up time and shots etc takes up so much of their time, that they keep their simple common sense in the locker rooms for future use, once their careers in showbiz ends.

     
  7. Amrita

    August 26, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Koke – what’s really hilarious is the look on Mario Lopez’s face. How did he hold it in? 😀

    saukprairekennels – Eh, I don’t think so. I think she just made beauty pageant winners (she came in third, did you know? 😀 ) look dumb and they’re already battling that image so whatever.

    MM & Shub – she’s one of those US Americans who don’t HAVE a map! How you gonna find your country on a map when you don’t have one, huh? Huh? Huh?

    Tanay – I don’t remember what Priyanka said coz I don’t want pageants 🙂 But I remember Madhu Sapre saying in one interview that she thought she’d lost the crown coz she said she’d want to build gyms or stadia or something if she had lots of money while the others were all contributing to charity, so in a way I guess Caitlin was just staying true to her training 🙂

     
  8. desigirl

    August 26, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    now, now, one shld be a little more tolerant towards the mentally disabled!

     
  9. kashifalvi

    August 27, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Disgrace. keep up the dumbness.

     
  10. Amrita

    August 27, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    DG – can you believe she came in third?! Makes me wonder what the others were like!

    Kashif – lol, i’m sure she’ll do her best.

     
  11. aMmAr

    August 27, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    During his first term election campaign Bush was asked who is Musharaf and his reply was Prime Minister of India 😛

    so yes she can run for President.

     
  12. Kokonad

    August 27, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    Found this Calvin & Hobbes strip I had read once –

     
  13. Tim

    August 29, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    To what question would whatever she said be an answer? She did not make any sense at all. What is the explanation for that???

     
  14. sirensongs

    August 31, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Let me guess… she pronounces her 2nd name “Kate-lyn.” Stupid Anglos. It’s the Irish version and spelling of KATHLEEN and it’s pronounced “Kathleen.” Since the yuppie revival of this name in the 90s, I have yet to meet one American Caitlin that knows this.

     
  15. Amrita

    September 1, 2007 at 1:47 am

    Ammar – I don’t remember that 😀 good to know she has options.

    Koke – how much do I love that strip?

    Tim – if you can figure it out, do let me know 😀

    SS – I think it’s safe to presume that she doesn’t know anything about the origins of her second name, yes 😀 Look for her on some reality show some day pretty soon.

     
  16. Kokonad

    September 1, 2007 at 1:48 am

    HEY! Your reply to my comment has NO SMILEY! 😡

     
  17. Amrita

    September 1, 2007 at 1:53 am

    Well I obviously like the others more than you! 😛

     
  18. Kokonad

    September 1, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    Hawwww :(!

     
  19. Aditya

    September 2, 2007 at 3:59 am

    And said in such a matter-of-fact way. You have to admit, they have confidence! Even with all the nonsense

     
  20. Aditya

    September 2, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    that video seems to have gotten very popular indeed on facebook. this was right there on my news feed. apparently the most popular item that’s been posted today.

     
  21. Amrita

    September 3, 2007 at 10:20 am

    Koke – 😀 I kid, I kid

    Aditya – the thing is positively viral! Here’s a link to TMZ where she tries to save face but my bet is, she’s gonna ride that quip to the bank. And why not? Worked for Jessica (ugh) Simpson. Pls note, she looks just as scary as Jessica when she leaves the pounds of makeup behind: http://www.tmz.com/2007/09/01/hottest-videos-week-of-08-26/

     
 
