RSS

I’m Proud

04 Jul

… of eight things at least.

DesiGirl, who’s all posh and Frenchified now, tagged me a few days ago (alright more than a week ago! Sorry, babe) to list 8 things I’m proud of and suddenly my head was a complete blank. Who knew I was so humble? Not me.

I fidgeted. I scratched my head. I twisted like a worm on a hook. I was a butterfly pinned to a board, fluttering my wings feebly, feebly, feebly… I even learned how to hem and haw.

Thing is: any one of us might be “proud” but how many of us actually sit down and list the things that make us proud? Study the underpinnings of our ego?

It’s a more than slightly uncomfortable process because it requires introspection at a level and of a kind that we don’t usually indulge in. I’m a lot more inclined to sit around thinking of all the things I’ve done wrong and why I did them and perhaps how to (hopefully) avoid repeating those mistakes in the future.

Interestingly (to me anyway), when I sat down to make the list below, I found that the things that made me most proud were centered around other people. I guess I really am not an island.

1. I’m proud not to be an alcoholic junkie in spite of all the opportunities I’ve had to be one.

2. I’m glad I still make my parents proud. 20 plus years is a long time to keep that up, I think.

3. I’m proud I stuck out for my dream even if I feel a little guilty about it sometimes. Individualism is a lot harder to achieve than it looks but it’s better than lying on my deathbed wishing I could’ve been someone else.

4. I’m proud of my positive body image. I’m not anorexic or bulimic. Don’t want cosmetic surgery or “enhancements” of any kind, thank you. (Wait, does Lasik count? I want Lasik.)

5. I’m proud of the friends I’ve made – and maintained. You know who you are. Smooches!

6. I’m proud I’ve never been afraid to express an opinion… even if it means no man will ever marry me as one angry reader informed me a while back. :mrgreen:

7. When I look back over the years I can see I’m not yet the person I want to be but I’m a lot closer today than I was a year or two or ten ago. A couple of steps to the side, and a couple of steps back, but on the whole the graph is definitely moving forward and upward. I’m proud of that.

8. And last, but definitely not the least, I’m proud you guys keep coming back. Long may your habits continue. ๐Ÿ˜€

Okay, so I’m supposed to tag another eight people and I was all jazzed to do it but I had a change of heart and I think I’ll leave this as an open tag. If you do decide to take it up, please leave me a link.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2007 in Personal

 

12 responses to “I’m Proud

  1. Kokonad

    July 4, 2007 at 11:00 am

    The Hunchback of NotreDame, huh! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Amrita

    July 4, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    Koke – oh good, you were one of the people I meant to tag. You’re now it! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  3. Ankur

    July 4, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    welcome to the tagged world.. sometimes its just impossible to delay any further
    hey i loved this picture ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  4. Amrita

    July 4, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Hey Ankur – you were another person I was going to tag. So feel free ๐Ÿ˜€
    the pic is from Paul Carrick who does fantasy illustrations. It’s called Goya.

     
  5. Ankur

    July 4, 2007 at 4:00 pm

     
  6. amitscorpio

    July 4, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    The link to the piece is nice!!

    I knew that you would say i m tagged the moment i write anything … hell i held back long enough … but i would not take this one seriously unless there is something in bargain!!

     
  7. Kokonad

    July 5, 2007 at 12:20 am

    Oh! And I blissfully thought that it was the hunchback of Notre Dame… somehow that mug gave me that impression! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thinking about the tag. Will probably write about it – but then I might end up writing about myself more than anything else. Well, you will be the first to know. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  8. Kokonad

    July 5, 2007 at 12:21 am

    And remove the display pic in the “Recent Comments” widget. Not pretty. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

     
  9. Amrita

    July 5, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Amit – lol! ok, i’ll let you off the hook. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Koke – i can see why ๐Ÿ™‚ and hey, it’s supposed to be all about you!

    Yeah, the avatar comment thing isn’t working so hot. it’s gone… maybe i’ll bring it back when wp allows people who’re not logged in to get a temp avatar.

     
  10. DesiGirl

    July 5, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Ha ha ha! Posh? Frenchified? Moi? Quelle Surprise!!!

    I’ll shut up now!

    ps: I think you shld add the following:
    9. Proud that I can write well.

    10. Proud that I can write in such a humurous way that makes people roll on the floor and laugh.

     
  11. Amrita

    July 7, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    DG – ๐Ÿ˜›

     
  12. amitscorpio

    July 8, 2007 at 11:29 am

    DG is right !!

     
 
