RSS

Lachrym-usic

18 Jun

Yesterday was Father’s Day and while I never write about things like that, I figured I’d make an exception this time around because, hey! It was a Sunday! About three quarters of the way in, I suddenly remembered why I never write about this sort of thing – it depresses the hell out of me.

It doesn’t matter whether it’s Friendship Day or Mother’s Day or Take a Grandparent to Fifth Grade Day. Writing about them always makes me think of that other day when I’m going to be all alone, the last miserable survivor of a once happy family/circle of friends and it immediately kills any joy I might have initially felt.

Aren’t you glad you came by to read this blog today? That’s what I thought. :mrgreen:

Shankar Jaikishen with Mohd. RafiBut as I’m a generally awesome person, I thought I’d share my secret cheer-up method with y’all. And that secret method is… sad Hindi film music! Hence, Lachrym-usic! Get it? (Oh, quit your moaning, it’s not that bad.)

Look, in the ordinary run of things, these songs can be terrifically moving. But in certain other circumstances, like when you’re really depressed? Listen to these, in no particular order, from the masters:

Kishore Kumar: Mere Mehboob Qayamat Hogi

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=S2eK6hPXH5L

Emotional blackmail never sounded more poetic. There’s something about the line, “Aaj ruswa teri galiyon mein mohabbat hogi” that makes me want to simultaneously swoon and slap his (generic “his”, rabid Kishore fans please note) face.

Manna Dey: Kasme Waade Pyaar Wafa

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=Sv639w9l94M

This is one of my all time favorite poor-me songs. The cynicism here is so sublime, it’s universally applicable. Did your girlfriend ditch you? Sing this song! Did your dad refuse to buy you that chocolate? Sing this song! Did your mom send you to your room? Sing this song! Were you passed over for promotion? Sing this song! Did somebody die? Sing this song! I love it!

Mohammad Rafi: Kya Hua Tera Vaada

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=SgKY09HFBXF

The guilt monster is here! Let’s face it, if that funny looking guy hadn’t broken out this song, do you seriously think he’d have had a chance against Rishi Kapoor? I don’t go for the baby face, but if those were my two choices? I’m going with the baby. Proof positive this song is magic.

RD Burman: Dil Lena Khel Hai Dildar Ka

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=S7dmjogWceR

Alright! Now we’re talking! This song might technically be about lovers but it’s all about the fight. RD rips the heart out and stomps on it. Play games with my heart, will you? Well take this and this motherfucker! Yeah! On a sidenote, I didn’t realize how loud this thing was until I heard it played back on my iPod. Ouch. Proceed with caution. And I must have blocked out the introduction – which is the best part!

Geeta Dutt: Waqt ne Kiya

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=S9x3Tgjet2F

All the sad women-centric songs irritate the hell out of me. They are so incredibly commonplace in their sadness unlike the great male ones. But there’s the odd honorable exception and this is one of them.

Mithoon: Zindagi ne

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=S2T2ceVJCrT

They just don’t make them like they used to. But this was a pretty good effort. Be current AND a crybaby!

Mukesh: Dost, Dost na Raha

What? Did you think I’d forget this? No freakin’ way! This is such an enormous guilt trip that it took three separate actors to act it out! Watch the video:

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2007 in Entertainment, Life, Music

 

7 responses to “Lachrym-usic

  1. amitscorpio

    June 18, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    aaahhh !!! you touched those sensitive notes in my heart!!! you are right … these hindi melodies are true cheer up ones when you are down!!! I feel the hindi music overall very heart touching .. may be because i understand it better than any other language …. whatever the reason … i love them!!!

    and you are right in saying //They just don’t make them like they used to.//

     
  2. Amrita

    June 18, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    I love them too Amit 🙂 – I think it’s because they’re in Hindustani and it’s such a lovely, flexible language to use, always ready to incorporate new sounds.

     
  3. Aspi

    June 19, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Brilliant list! You know if “Laree Chhoote” from “Ek Chalis ki last local” hadn’t ended on a slight upswing, I would have nominated as a modern day downer for the ages.

     
  4. Amrita

    June 21, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    Thanks Aspi 🙂 I love that song! But yeah, it ends too optimistically. Same reason why I didnt put up “Chino-Arab hamara, Hindusitan hamara” although i’m kicking myself for leaving out “Yeh duniya agar mil bhi jaye to kya hai” from Pyasa.

     
  5. Aspi

    June 22, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Come to think of it – any song picturized on Bharat Bhushan, even the happiest ones – left me filled with sadness. So anything by that denizen of depression would make my list.

     
  6. Amrita

    June 24, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Bharat Bhushan 🙂 Am I dreaming when I think of this song called “Mera sundar sapna toot gaya”?

     
  7. saiety

    July 26, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    let us say together (( old is gold )) ..let us say together that mohd rafi is an legend .
    let us belive that nothing can be change of our feeling about oldest.
    let us bray mor and mor to god for saving rafi saap in his grave ..and giv him another life at last..as hi singing for us ..as hi makes india as legend country .

     
 
