RSS

Anand Jon Update

13 Jun

From MSNBCA while back, I brought you news that India-born designer Anand Jon was facing charges of assault and sexual misconduct with minors. At the time, while some asked me not to jump the gun and deem him guilty, still others came forward with what they assured me were personal tales of his wild behavior.

Well, it seems the second group were on to something because news broke yesterday that Jon is now facing a grand total of
46 (no, no, ladies and gents, that is not a typo) counts of rape, lewd acts on a child and assault against a group of women and girls aged between 14 and 27. Those 46 charges include 40 felonies and 6 misdemeanors.

For those of you unfamiliar with the American justice system, that means he’s going away for life if convicted.

Of course, his attorney maintains that this is a sort of modern variant of The Crucible. A whisper campaign by disaffected models pouting because they hadn’t hit the big time like he promised them, now running out of control and likely to land an innocent man in jail on grievous charges.

I think Jon’s attorney should save his breath because he’s going to need it. Jon, who was previously released on a conditional bail of $1.3 million in Los Angeles, is now facing investigation in Texas and New York. In fact, he was taken away in handcuffs by Texas police when he appeared in court to face the 13 new charges – TMZ has video if you’re interested.

The L.A. prosecutors, meanwhile, have recommended that his bail be increased to $2.5 million, calling him a “serial” sexual predator. Jon’s mother and sister, fashion designer Sanjana Jon, were also present in court and were reportedly devastated by these new developments.

But at least somebody’s keeping their sense of humor intact. Innocent or guilty, it’s going to be a long, sordid tale by the time it comes to end. As for me, I blame Paris. Because I can.

Update : Now it’s 59 charges and counting.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2007 in Celebrity, Entertainment, News

 

18 responses to “Anand Jon Update

  1. Kokonad

    June 13, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Yesterday on IBN Live, I read this “The court has also ordered that Jon not be left alone with any woman aged 30 or younger.” I couldn’t help laughing at this!
    Source: http://www.ibnlive.com/news/court-call-for-anand-jon-on-june-12/37867-8.html

    Aside, “Hey! How have you been? :)”

     
  2. Amrita

    June 13, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Thanks for the link, Koke… I especially liked this: “with legal orders to be accompanied to work by his mother.” 😀

    I’ve been good… you’ve been away! And busy if I’m not mistaken.

     
  3. Coralina

    June 14, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Hi :)!

    I was reading your post and thinking about a book by Minette Walters,which title I forgot,but where she affirmed callings rapists “sexual predators” was only acknowledging their power over the victims ,instead of treating them like criminals who deeply and disrespected the ones they raped.

    Is offensive advising 30 or younger women not to get near him,not only because he wasn’t yet found guilty,but also because we’re not beings that cannot defend themselves and because it’s implied not that older women are much more able to give him a punch,lol,but that they’re insignificant for him,therefore they can be near him. That’s pretty sexist!

    C’mon,give Paris a breake :D!She has found God,now, while in prison and she’s a different woman,lolol (I’d prefer to find Johnny Depp while imprisoned,though)!

     
  4. Kortney

    June 14, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Yeah I think his lawyer is in complete denial. He thinks that everyone is jumping on the bandwagon with this one. I think this guy needs some major help and some major jail time. Watch this video of his lawyer talking about the allegations: http://www.thenewsroom.com/details/400194/Entertainment?c_id=wom-bc-kd. If you want to embed the video, click the mash button.
    – Kortney from The Entertainment Desk at TheNewsRoom.com

     
  5. Kokonad

    June 14, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    While we continue exchanging personal notes of affection 🙂 through each of our blogs, “Yeah I have been busy 😦 Lots of things on hand actually! Will catch up with all your posts soon! 🙂
    Oh btw, thanks for dropping in a line. Let’s hope Ms. Nosey gets a parking ticket. :)”

     
  6. Amrita

    June 15, 2007 at 3:13 am

    Coraline – hmm, I can’t comment on that because I don’t know what her exact argument was. On the face of it, I dont see how that works exactly 🙂 As for Jon and women under 30, I think that was more because his alleged victims have all been under 30 so far. You have to admit, it’s pretty funny that he has to take his mom to work! As for Paris – did you hear that she might now come on The View? From Star Jones to Rosie O’Donnell to Whoopi Goldberg to Paris – Babwa can get ’em all!

     
  7. Amrita

    June 15, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Hey Koke, I didnt know your blog was up again. I kinda remember you telling me that you don’t work it anymore – then I went up and there you were!

     
  8. DG

    June 15, 2007 at 9:52 am

    on a totally diff note, is he, like, gay? he looks it. dont kill me for that slur on the alternatively inclined brethren! just thot he sorta looked like he ain’t straight.

    (ok, zipping it now!)

     
  9. Amrita

    June 15, 2007 at 10:11 am

    Gasp! OH-NO-YOU-DIDN’T! 😀
    well, if he is then he’s seriously fucked up on levels too deep for me to even understand. But I think it’s just that he’s one of those metrosexuals who took it a bit too far. Think Wentworth Miller for eg. Oh wait, he’s supposed to be gay. Hmm, I don’t know. My head hurts

     
  10. Kokonad

    June 15, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Oh yeah… 🙂 I did resume blogging this April. After a hiatus of 10 months!

    Anyway, I kind of agree with DG. Then I also think you are right. Hmm, I don’t know. My head hurts 😛

     
  11. Aditi Nadkarni

    June 16, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Hi Amrita,

    Am in India for a short visit and happened to see an excerpt of your entry in the Mumbai Mirror! supplement for TOI ! Have been away from the blog world for a while, filiming a documentary in good ol’ Bombay (its been fun n hectic all at the same time). Thought I’d let you know I’d come across your post 🙂

    Will be back on Desicritics soon…

    Ciao

    Aditi

     
  12. Amrita

    June 16, 2007 at 11:50 am

    Thanks Aditi! Hope you’re having fun 🙂 See you around. You’re definitely missed.

     
  13. Amrita

    June 20, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    Hey Kortney – you got blocked by Akismet. sorry 😦 That’s a pretty good link. thanks

     
  14. john moore

    July 15, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    haha!! This is great! I went to school with this guy. Worked with him in the computer center at Parsons. He is an ass. Its about time they got him.. i have a couple stories to tell on how much of an ass he and his family is. Especially his dull witted sister who is always around him. Who knows. He probably had a little incest thing going on with her. Sure seemed that way.

     
  15. Amrita

    July 17, 2007 at 11:52 am

    John – You know, it’s funny but I don’t know a single person who’s written in to defend him that knows him personally. Even the Sabhnanis got someone to write in but this guy? Zip.

     
  16. ross hunter

    October 14, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I was listened to the testomey on fri,oct,the 10th.Theirs
    something wrong with this case. I herd to many
    holes in the testomey.

     
 
