RSS

Preview: Cheeni Kum & Jhoom Barabar Jhoom

10 May

I’ve kind of slowly withdrawn my name from the Amitabh Bachchan fan club over the last couple of years. I understand he had financial difficulties and that he was only emerging from personal issues. He also did some fine work in movies like Black.

In fact, he was about the only thing apart from the set design that I liked in Black. He was occasionally over the top but I think that was an artistic decision on the part of the director, Sanjay Leela Bhansali, whose predilection for high drama is fairly evident in his other work.

But there is only so much I can take of the Angry Old Man. For a while there he was in every single movie made by Bollywood. Maybe that’s not factually correct but it definitely felt like that to me. He played father, cop, mentor… anything and everything a man his age could play, he played. In a way it was better than that disastrous stretch of movies he did pre-KBC when Brand Bachchan was in the doldrums and he played hero opposite a truckload of cookie-cutter South Indian actresses.

Then came the Ram Gopal Verma stretch and frankly I wasn’t impressed. Sarkar was a good thought that stopped halfway. Nishabd was a declawed cat and left about that much of an impression. This Sholay remake that’s in the works sounds so extremely gimmicky that I have grave doubts as to the final product.

But here are two forthcoming movies that I’m reluctantly interested in:

Cheeni Kum costars my favorite underused actor, Tabu. Zohra Sehgal plays chef Big B’s mom and Paresh Rawal is Tabu’s dad. The story is a June-December romance and unlike other efforts I can think of (Guddi and that Salman starrer with the Aishwarya lookalike set in Russia, whose name I can’t remember right now) the trailer suggests a degree of realism. The woman is not an ingénue struck by the glamour of an older man – they’re two adults who’re attracted to each other but have a hurdle to cross. Best of all – music by Ilayaraja!

Jhoom Barabar Jhoom, on the other hand, is a movie that could be about anything at all. I sincerely hope it isn’t. Yashraj has already tried that out with Ta Ra Rum Pum and we all know how that turned out. This is a movie by Shaad Ali, whose last movie, Saathiya, was a remake of a Mani Ratnam film. If he sticks to that sensibility then this should be great! Starring son Abhishek, Priety Zinta, Bobby Deol and the immensely likable yet consistently miscast Lara Dutta, it seems to be some sort of Indo-Pak immigrant-class mishmash of a comedy. Bachchan dresses up like Johnny Depp crossed with Bob Dylan and plays a guitar. Coolness. I love a masala movie that isn’t apologetic about its masalapan. “Aap dono ka sex ho gaya?!”

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2007 in Entertainment, Movies, News, Video

 

7 responses to “Preview: Cheeni Kum & Jhoom Barabar Jhoom

  1. Saakshi O. Juneja

    May 10, 2007 at 4:06 am

    Well to me Cheeni Kum appears to be one of those bizzare movies. As for Jhoom Barabar Jhoom, me thinks its based on ‘dance competition’ theme, where the leading couples battle it out and in the course fall inlove with the other party’s member.

    Can’t wait to watch either of them.

    And then there is Makad Manav . 😉

     
  2. Amrita

    May 10, 2007 at 5:31 am

    Me neither! I can’t remember the last time I wanted to see a Bobby Deol movie… Gupt I think but that’s coz I’m a hardcore Kajol fan. Oye, what’s the name of that Salman movie? I’m resisting IMDB coz it’s on the tip of my tongue. I actually sort of liked it except for Mithun.

     
  3. Saakshi O. Juneja

    May 10, 2007 at 5:54 am

    “Lucky”….I went to a local one screen theatre for this flick with my mum and two cousin sisters, who also happen to be die-hard Sallu fan. My mum was holding her head in pain while we three were hooting and whistling every time Sallu baba do a sexy twist. 🙂

     
  4. Saakshi O. Juneja

    May 10, 2007 at 5:57 am

    And yes, Bobby is looking a total “dude” with flameing hair color. Though I thought Preity is pretty but lookes a aged, what say you?

    Plus did you hear that apparently Abhishek and Preity gave Bobby baba a very hard time during the shooting of JBJ.

     
  5. Amrita

    May 10, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    The problem with Bobby as far as I’m concerned is not how he looks (although his looks were ruined for me forever coz this sleazoid in my class used to fancy he was a look-alike and now every time I look at Bobby I see that teloo). The problem is when he opens his mouth or starts acting, I keep thinking, this ought to be Sunny. Actually between these two things, I don’t think I ever really pay any attention to Bobby, poor thing.

    No! I can see that though. How did Lara fit in then? And yes, Lucky! Woh-ich fillum.

     
  6. Beth

    May 11, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    These both look fantastic! I’ve got my opinions on the kinds of role Amitabh has been doing in the last few years and much, much prefer him in the 70s and early 80s, but I have to admit Cheeni Kum looks delightful. And viva Tabu! She’s fabulous!

     
  7. Amrita

    May 12, 2007 at 3:42 am

    Oh absolutely, nothing beats the 70s although I have this odd fascination for those two movies he did with Amrita Singh in the 80s – that whole S&M vibe of Mard which was pretty ghastly otherwise and then that cop movie I can’t recall the name of right now, which was surprisingly mature….

    Cheeni Kum! can’t wait.

     
 
